Polaris (Avalon #2)

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.3 (1)
2380 0
Polaris (Avalon #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 20, 2015
ISBN
9780062235626
Buy This Book
      

Following the events of Avalon, Jeth Seagrave and his crew are on the run. Jeth is desperate to find the resources and funding he needs to rescue his mother from an ITA’s research lab and leave this whole galaxy behind for a new life somewhere else. But the ITA is just as desperate, and soon Jeth finds himself pursued by a mysterious figure hell-bent on capturing Jeth and his crew—dead or alive. In a last-ditch effort to save everyone he holds dear, Jeth enters into a bargain with the last person he ever thought he'd see again: Dax Shepherd, the galaxy’s newest and most fearsome crime lord. And he’s not the only one: upon arriving back at Peltraz spaceport for the first time since he witnessed the death of his old employer, Jeth discovers Dax has a new partner: Jeth’s mother, Marian. This shocking turn of events is only the first in another breathless, action-packed sci-fi adventure rife with danger, love, and betrayal, as Jeth has to once again ask himself how much he’s willing to invest in a morally bankrupt galaxy in the hopes of saving those he cares for.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A satisfying, heart-pumping conclusion.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
POLARIS is the sequel, and conclusion, to Mindee Arnett's YA science fiction series that began with AVALON. It is fast-paced, full of action and fighting, and will keep you turning the pages to find out what happens next.

What I loved:

Jeth's internal struggles and his fights with the Axis implant. These aren't quite the same thing - Jeth is constantly fighting to keep control of himself, but in different ways. He's a hothead, a spitfire, always ready to pick a fight and ask questions later. He'll do anything to keep the people he loves alive, even if it's betraying members of his crew or throwing acquaintances under a bus. That can be a little scary. You're never quite sure if Jeth is going to be able to keep it together long enough to complete a mission. On the other hand, once he gets the super-scary-creepy-gross implant from Dax, Jeth isn't the only one fighting for control of himself. Dax, the Axis, and members of Dax's Brethren mafia are also literally in his head. The mind games are complicated and intense, and I bet they're something a lot of teen boys can relate to.

The ending. I'm not going to spoil it for anyone, trust me, but I seriously wasn't expecting things to get wrapped up so nicely! There is so much action and suspense and betrayal in the last hundred pages of this sci-fi blockbuster that I had no idea how all the deals would be kept, who would still be alive, whether Jeth would meet his goals or what. For a duology, there is a lot of story going on, and completely all the story arcs and finalizing all the plot points was a serious challenge. It was very well done.

What I wanted more of: Side character backstories and relationships. This is the same exact complaint I had about the first book, and it's my only issue with the series. I wanted more depth in the side characters, particularly Jeth's crew. We do get a lot of depth with Aileen, who ends up playing a far larger role in the action than you would expect. However, we're still missing a lot of feeling from Jeth's crew, especially his girlfriend Sierra. Despite that, the whole book is very plot-driven and full of action, so character-focused development doesn't really make sense.

The verdict: POLARIS is a satisfying conclusion to an exciting sci-fi adventure. If you're looking for a heart-racing journey across space with a hot-tempered pilot and his crew, pick up the AVALON series.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great ending for duology
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The sequel to Avalon finds Jeth and his crew on the run from the ITA, who are holding his mother and are after his little sister. Jeth is desperate to free his mother and keep everyone safe but he soon finds himself in even more danger as he’s pursued by a new threat. With no options left, Jeth turns to the one person he swore he would never see again: Daxton Price. But Dax’s help comes with a cost – one that could mean sacrificing everything Jeth has fought so hard for up until now.

I absolutely loved the first book. I’m not an overly huge sci-fi reader even though I love space shows but this series fits right into the feel of the shows I love. I didn’t love this one as much as the first but I still really enjoyed it. There was still that misfit family feel but this second book was more focused on Jeth, the pressure he was under, and their mission.

Jeth went through a lot in this book. We saw him struggle with every decision he made as captain, knowing each one affected his crew and the wrong one could get someone injured or killed. We saw him struggle with trust and keeping faith in every single crew member, especially if they disagreed with a decision. We saw him fight to keep everyone safe. We saw him sacrifice. There were times that I didn’t like who Jeth was becoming but I did like that I disliked it. It gave Jeth the opportunity for some redemption.

There were also some new characters introduced, as well as many of the ones I already loved or hated from Avalon. Some of the villains were just evil, black and white, you knew they were evil. But others, they were more gray and I liked trying to figure out if they were trustworthy or if they’d turn out to be evil.

The whole book was pretty non-stop action. If it wasn’t physical action, life-threatening action, it was emotional turmoil in the characters. It just never let up. I did find the pacing in Polaris to be better than Avalon, it made for a faster read and a book I just didn’t want to put down(not that I wanted to put down Avalon when I read it). What drew me to Avalon the most was the coming together of the family and since the crew was already formed in Polaris, we got less of that family feel. There were still great moments, especially with Jeth and his little sister Cora.

The science and technology was understandable, which I appreciated as someone with no background in either. I also appreciated that the romance was subtle, it never overtook the story, it simply added another layer to it.

As a huge fan of Avalon, I was in no way disappointed with this sequel/finale.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."