On the Edge

Featured
 
4.3
 
3.0 (1)
2905 2
On the Edge
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 25, 2014
ISBN
9780062303448
Buy This Book
      

From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about a teen who witnesses a murder and gets caught up in the seedy world of Miami’s gangs. Maddie Diaz never should have taken that shortcut through the park. If she hadn't, she wouldn't have seen two members of the Reyes gang attacking a homeless man. Now, as the only witness, she knows there’s a target on her back. But when the Reyes jump her on the street, Maddie is protected by a second gang and their secretive leader, Lobo, who is determined to take down the Reyes himself. Lobo is mysterious and passionate, and Maddie begins to fall for him. But when they live this close to the edge, can their love survive? On the Edge is a compelling story about fighting for what’s right and figuring out where you belong. The novel showcases a gritty, realistic voice and earth–shattering romance that will intrigue readers of Simone Elkeles and Paul Griffin and captivate fans of Allison van Diepen's other novels.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A hot and dangerous urban romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A well-written urban romance with strong world-building and unique characters, ON THE EDGE is a refreshing addition to the world of contemporary YA fiction.

What I loved:

The setting. The hardcore, gritty, and dangerous world of inner city Miami contrasts with the nostalgic neighborhoods of Maddie's home. It's clear that the city is a place constantly on the edge - but not just because of violence. There is excitement in the clubs, where young people dance until they drop from exhaustion; in the passionate nature of the people in those communities and the loyalty they feel to each other. Yet there is something safe and calming, too - knowing that there is someone who will always have your back, that your neighbors are watching out for you, and that you belong there. It's the type of setting that is unusual for current realistic YA fiction, and that is so refreshing.

The reality of the violence in Maddie's world. It's so real for this girl and her family, her friends. We all see gang violence, street shootings and rape in the news. Maddie sees it in her day to day life. And then she gets involved in it, personally. I think it's important for readers to see just how real this violence in for modern teens, in our country, living and fighting right here and now.

The openly sexual nature of Maddie and her friends. They are passionate about guys, and they own it. These girls think about sex regularly, they want it and they are not afraid to want it. After finding out the secret identity of her mysterious and dangerous rescuer, Lobo, Maddie can't stop thinking about him. "In the darkness of my bedroom, I knew that it wasn't just answers I wanted. It was him." Maddie's friends are the same way, and it's a great change from contemporary YA fiction in which girls are scared of their sexuality.

What some readers might not love:

The insta-love between Maddie and Ortiz, the hot and untouchable corner store guy. It is immediate, and it is fierce. If you're looking for a strong and fiery romance, that is definitely going on. If you're looking for a slowly developing, smoldering kind of relationship, this book will frustrate you.

The verdict: ON THE EDGE is a strong story with suspense, drama, and romance, that will keep readers turning the pages long into the night. Highly recommended for fans of Simone Elkeles and Katie McGarry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
It was okay but not amazing
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
It all started when Maddie Diaz took a shortcut through the park, something that should have had her home safe in no time. Instead she witnessed a murder of a homeless man by two gang members and she's the only witness. Talking to the police and helping put them murderers behind bars paints a huge target on her back but when the Reyes gang comes for revenge, Maddie is saved by the mysterious Lobo, the leader of a rival gang who's determined to end the Reyes. Maddie finds herself falling for him, which just may put her in more danger.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. There was a lot of action, interesting characters, and it was pretty fast-paced.

I liked Maddie as a character. I liked that she refused to let the gang members go free after the murder even though talking to the police put her in danger. I really liked that she wasn't a pushover. She could be very go-with-the-flow when it came to her friends, especially her best friend Iz, but when she needed to, she would stand up for herself. Her interactions with her mother were great. Maddie got a lot of freedom to stay out late or party as long as she was responsible but if she screwed up, she had to face the consequences and I liked that. I also enjoyed the cute flirty moments between Maddie and corner store clerk Ortiz. So cute. And the banter between Maddie and co-worker Manny, they could be funny together.

I liked the chemistry between Maddie and Lobo but I do wish the romance had been a little slower paced. It was a little too instant for me, especially considering the extreme danger Maddie was putting herself in by getting involved with a gang leader without a second thought. The mystery of Lobo's identity was also predictable for me.

There was some violence, as to be expected with the murder and gang story lines, but it wasn't overly graphic. The suspense was there but not to the point where I was holding my breath waiting to see what would happen, more like I was pretty sure what was going to happen and I was waiting to see if I was right. There was also one major thing that kept throwing me off. Early on Maddie mentioned losing her phone at the park during the murder and not getting it back and yet she kept mentioning texting her friends after losing the phone. So did she end up getting hers back somehow? Did she use someone else's? How was it happening? That kept popping into my head every time she used a cell phone so it took me out of the reading zone.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Full Disclosure
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a community that isn't always understanding, an HIV-positive teen...
Resurrection Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned...
Orpheus Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the...
Riot Baby
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live...
The Haunting of Henry Davis
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two kids are about to find out that their lives...
A Kingdom for a Stage (For a Muse of Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jetta is a prisoner. A prisoner of the armee, a...
Foul is Fair
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elle and her friends Mads, Jenny, and Summer rule their...
Girls of Storm and Shadow (Girls of Paper and Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this mesmerizing sequel to the New York Times bestselling...
Springback
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just because someone can rewind time...doesn't always mean they should....
Myth Management
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For hundreds of years, the British bureaucracy of Myth Management...
Jeremiah Jericho: Allowance (book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jeremiah just turned 16 and found out that he inherited...
Twisted Pines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where have all the children gone? At rustic summer camp...
Sorcery of Thorns
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long...
The Babysitters Coven
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in...
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is the first of three young adult novels from...
Who Put This Song On?
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Trapped in sunny, stifling, small-town suburbia, seventeen-year-old Morgan knows why...

Latest Member Reviews

Trees: A Rooted History
 
5.0
"When I was a little girl there were only a few books that I drug around with me to stare..."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"The artistry and illustrations in The Hideout are dreamlike, painting a picture of your favorite park and woodland location hidden..."
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
"DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit...."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Silly Lullaby (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"Boynton is a hit with toddlers, and this is another charming book that makes it easy to see why. SILLY..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
Penny and Her Sled
 
4.5
"PENNY AND HER SLED is a chapter book for early readers that follows a mouse named Penny. Penny has been..."
Twins
 
5.0
"TWINS is an adorably charming picture book that celebrates close friends, siblings, and twins (whether identical or not). A boy..."
Have You Seen My Blankie?
 
5.0
"Take a magical journey with Princess Alice in this delightful picture book. HAVE YOU SEEN MY BLANKIE? tells the story..."
Dias y Dias/Days and Days
 
4.0
"'Dias y Dias, Days and Days' by Ginger Foglesong Guy, illustrated by Rene King Moreno, is a simple story that..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
"KAI AND THE MONKEY KING is an engaging and thrilling installment in the Brownstone's Mythical Collection series. In this book,..."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."