Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge #1)

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1592 0
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 13, 2014
ISBN
125004524X
Buy This Book
      
Hot sun. Blue waves. New romances. Old secrets. Gemma had her summer all planned out, but it takes a sharp turn when she gets dumped and finds herself back in the Hamptons after a five-year absence. Being there puts her at risk of bumping into Hallie, her former best friends (that is, before Gemma ruined her life). But people don't hold grudges forever. Do they? Gemma intends on making amends, but a small case of mistaken identity causes the people she knew years ago—including Hallie and her dreamy brother, Josh—to believe she's someone else. As though the summer wasn't complicated enough already. Filled with summer sun, boys, and friendships gone sour, Katie Finn's first novel in the Broken Hearts and Revenge series sizzles and delights.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Completely Hilarious
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Liked:
Some narrative voices just pop to life for me immediately. Gemma’s does this. On page one, I knew that I would probably love this book, barring some sort of plotberg nonsense, which thankfully did not happen. To be honest, Gemma’s not the most likable character. I don’t feel any real sympathy for any of her plights, because she’s the orchestrator of her own downfall in most every instance. She’s not especially nice, clever, or witty. Gemma is best described by the examination of her handwriting she did as a child, which revealed that she “acted impulsively with little follow-through.” That’s Gemma. We’ll come back to this in a bit.

There’s a lot of humor in Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend. The book opens with one of the most fantastically embarrassing dumpings. Gemma had been with her boyfriend Teddy for about two years and then he dumps her in the Walmart, shortly before they were supposed to go away for the summer to volunteer together. Since Gemma has to pull out of the program, she ends up getting shuffled off to stay with her father, who’s in the Hamptons for the summer. While a summer vacation to stay in a producer’s mansion in the Hamptons (not her dad’s) might sound like a dream, Gemma wants little less, because returning to the scene of the crime is never a good idea.

In the summer of her eleventh year, Gemma did something terrible while she was in the Hamptons. For spoiler reasons, I won’t tell you what that was. You might know that I hate the intentional withholding of information trope most of the time, but Finn doesn’t draw out the suspense on what Gemma did for all that long, thankfully.

The thing to know about Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend is that it’s a bit ridiculous. Everything in this book hinges on Gemma pretending to be her friend Sophie Curtis, in an obviously misguided attempt to reconnect with Hallie, a figure from her past summer. Add to that her feelings for Hallie’s brother, Josh, who values honesty above all else, and you have the makings for CW-level melodrama. Sophie’s plan is idiotic and doomed to failure from the very start. You either accept this and go along for the ride or you probably will not enjoy the book.

What made this work for me, though, is Sophie’s character. While her idea is patently absurd, she also didn’t think it through. Remember? She’s impulsive. Josh saw her holding a cup with the name Sophie on it, assumed her name was Sophie and she decided to run with it, later sort of regretting that choice but whatever it was done so full speed ahead. Plus, Gemma is one of the most skilled people at denial ever. You see this element of her personality over and over again, starting with her reaction to her boyfriend dumping her. As much as Gemma lies to others, I think she’s even better at lying to herself and imagining things will work out in her favor, even if anyone else could have told her (and even did tell her) that was not the case.

The Final Verdict:
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend entertained me from the first to the last page. I’ll be anxiously awaiting the next long-titled, drama-filled installment in this series. It’s a departure from what we know of Morgan Matson, but the excellent character-development and writing remains consistent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."