Winterkill (Winterkill #1)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2712 0
Winterkill (Winterkill #1)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 09, 2014
ISBN
978-1419712357
Buy This Book
      
Emmeline knows she’s not supposed to explore the woods outside her settlement. The enemy that wiped out half her people lurks there, attacking at night and keeping them isolated in an unfamiliar land with merciless winters. Living with the shame of her grandmother’s insubordination, Emmeline has learned to keep her head down and her quick tongue silent. When the settlement leader asks for her hand in marriage, it’s an opportunity for Emmeline to wash the family slate clean—even if she has eyes for another. But before she’s forced into an impossible decision, her dreams urge her into the woods, where she uncovers a path she can’t help but follow. The trail leads to a secret that someone in the village will kill to protect. Her grandmother followed the same path and paid the price. If Emmeline isn’t careful, she will be next.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Utterly Gripping
(Updated: September 16, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
You know how you just want to kill some characters for being way too curious, leading to their inevitable demise? As a warning, this is how you will feel, over and over again, with Emmeline...but can you really blame her? This story has so many curious mysteries about it that you know she has to follow her dreams (literally), and you are going to go along for the ride with her. I read Winterkill in one day and I have three kids. I, uh, made time for it. Kinda. Lost some sleep. Yeah. Incredible escapism.

First off, I was enthralled with the worldbuilding. Yes, this plot line will remind you of The Village, but thankfully the pull of that similarity led me into a story that ended up being very different and very unexpected. So, yes--one will expect the night watch, the mysterious boogieman dwelling just beyond the reaches of the settlement, the fort-like community that has existed for who knows how long and whose origins no one is fully clear on. The added dread of La Prise, aka the Winterkill, just magnifies the aspects of survival and hard work evident in this isolated group of people. The background for Emmeline's family history and the religion of her settlement was effortlessly woven into the fabric of the book, a consistent push forward in the story and pull back to give the reader the background she needs. I was enchanted with Boorman's writing style, especially the French sprinkled throughout the book, as I was a French minor and just adore the language.

The characters were so polished and interesting, namely the villain--is he friend or foe? Boorman truly kept me guessing, seeing both tender and frightening sides to his good-looking exterior. Kane, uh. Yikes. Not everyone can suck me into a love interest that quickly, but quite often I read breathlessly through his and Emmeline's interactions. Other characters that stuck out to me were Emmeline's father and Soeur Manon, with whom Emmeline apprentices. Sadly, Tom, who seems immediately like he will be a stronger character, kind of faded into the background for me, though he appears to be Em's only true friend. Overall, though...Emmeline, je t'aime, je t'aime. I connect with her need to be exploring, to know THE TRUTH, to find out the answers, even if the ways she goes about doing it are FOOLISH, foolish, foolish, people! In the end, though she risked her life, it was completely, totally worth it. Also, though her disability was a huge part of her outcast status, it only added to her inherent charm for me. And I do appreciate it when an MC isn't 100% bad-a$%, but has some shortcomings, some weaknesses, some flaws. When she has a need for others to come through for her. I find that to reveal a true inner strength lacking in some YA's on occasion.

The story? So, so good. I especially am into survival and history myself, so if your an aficionado of any of those genres, be sure to pick this one up. I simply can't wait for the next round with Emmeline and crew.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."