Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent #0.1 - 0.4)

 
3.7
 
4.5 (4)
2932 2
four.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 08, 2014
ISBN
9780062345219
Buy This Book
      
Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child. Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system. Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again. From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling divergent series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son, and The Traitor—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the Divergent trilogy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Transfer, initiate, son, traitor
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:
Ever since I saw Divergent in theaters, I've wanted to get back into this world. Four is my favorite character of the series, so I was excited at the chance to explore his backstory.

With the first story, we begin to understand just how hard Four's life was before becoming Dauntless. Four not only suffers physical abuse at the hands of his father, but he is also estranged from his entire faction. Lonely, desperate, and at his breaking point, he makes a choice in the Choosing Ceremony that changes his whole life.

Each novella blends seamlessly into the next, so they read as one entire story. Each novella represents a layer of Four's character and as he tells each story, you see how he grows into the person Tris meets in Divergent. He struggles against every aspect of himself, trying to figure out who he is and who he wants to become. He isn't just a transfer or an initiate or a son or a traitor; he's all of these things and all of his choices. Four is an incredible character.

What Left Me Wanting More:
After finishing the book, I was left with the feeling that it wasn't entirely necessary. I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about Four and it certainly added an extra depth to the Divergent story, but I don't believe I would've liked the series any less without these novellas.

The Final Verdict:
Fans of the Divergent series won't want to miss out on these companion stories that give a greater look into the choices that made Four the character many have grown to love.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.5  (4)
Characters 
 
4.8  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Loved It!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I absolutely loved this book! Everything was from Tobias' point of view! The Transfer was emotional as Tobias has to choose whether to remain in his faction of Abnegation under his father's cruelty or escape it by choosing another faction. In The Initiate we see Tobias adapt to life as a Dauntless in training with the help of Amar. In The Son, Tobias is officially a Dauntless and is suspicious of a conspiracy between Max, Eric and Jeanine Matthews. Also someone from his past resurfaces. The Traitor takes place halfway through Divergent from Tobias' point of view and it was amazing to see all of Tobias' emotions and feelings! They were also 3 additional short scenes at the end of this book making it absolutely amazing and perfect for fans of the Divergent series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Book Review: Four: A Divergent Story Collection
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
There really isn't much that I have to say about this book since it's merely a compilation of short stories told from Four—or Tobias's—point of view, but there are a couple of things that I really admire this Veronica Roth's Four.
Good Points
? ? ? ?
(Warning: Review may contain spoilers!)

There really isn't much that I have to say about this book since it's merely a compilation of short stories told from Four—or Tobias's—point of view, but there are a couple of things that I really admire this Veronica Roth's Four.

Tobias's character is the first. I really like the fact that I finally understand who he is as an individual. In the Divergent books, I could not really grasp his persona because his actions and words are interlaced with Tris. So to speak, the Tobias that I read in those books are defined by Tris. However, in this compilation, I learn Tobias's voice, how his mind functions, what he thinks of everything that is happening around him. I learn about his beliefs, his virtues, what he values—what he truly fears. I hear his opinions sans the involvement of Tris's character, or her own input about a certain matter.

READ MY FULL REVIEW HERE: http://theroundtheclockperuser.blogspot.com/2015/07/book-review-four-divergent-story.html
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
short
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The only complaint I had about this book is that it was very short but it didn't need to be very long.I was all happy I got to know Tobias thoughts on this with true and find out his story it was a amazing addition to these books is short but definitely worth the read
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great addition
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Starting two years before the events in Divergent, Four is a collection of stories detailing the life of Tobias aka Four as he made the same decision to transfer factions. There’s four short stories plus a few scenes from Divergent retold from Four’s POV included.

Even though this was a collection of short stories, it still read, at least to me, like a complete book. Four went through the ups and downs, the growth, the self-discovery I would expect from a full novel. Four’s backstory was hinted at throughout the series but getting to read it gave a lot more insight into his character.

The stories all took place before or during Divergent so this book was a prequel and there were no spoilers for Insurgent or Allegiant. It did make me want to re-read those books now that I feel like I have a new view on Four and see if my reaction to some of his actions have changed.

Four’s voice in this collection felt a lot stronger than it did in Allegiant, maybe because the POV wasn’t shared or because this was 100% his story, his journey. There were appearances from a lot of favourite characters, Zeke and Shauna, and(not a favourite) Eric. It was nice to get the chance to see Four making friends and I loved the chance of getting to see Four from his own perspective again as opposed to solely through Tris’s eyes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."