Play Me Backwards

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2561 2
Play Me Backwards
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 26, 2014
ISBN
9781481401029
Buy This Book
      

Leon Harris is perfectly satisfied being a slacker. In fact, he's embraced it. But when Anna B. -- yeah, that Anna B. -- says she might be moving back from England, Leon is desperate to get his act together. Desperate enough to ask his best friend Stan (who may or may not be Satan), for help. Stan's orders? Listen to the whole audiobook of "Moby-Dick." Find the elusive white grape Slushee. Join the yearbook committee. And go out with a popular girl. As each strange task takes him further from slackerville, Leon has to wonder if maybe Stan really does have unholy power after all. . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Hysterical, disgusting, endearing, perfect.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
For fans of Andrew Smith's WINGER and GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE comes the latest YA novel by Adam Selzer. PLAY ME BACKWARDS is a hysterical look at the senior year of a slacker named Leon Harris.

The plain and simple truth is, I loved Leon Harris. Yes, he's the protagonist, and you're supposed to like the protagonist, right? Well, Leon is a screw-up, a loser, a slacker, a slob, and sometimes a complete idiot. I loved him anyway.

It takes a kick in the crotch from his ex-girlfriend in England to get Leon to realize all of these things about himself. And when he does, he goes to his BFF Stan for advice. Stan gives him a couple of crazy quests, and Leon sets out on a journey to change his life over the course of his senior year in high school. Of course, he really has no idea that anything is going to change.

Slowly but surely, Leon becomes less of an idiot that screwed up his current life and his entire future. Leon still remains very much himself, though. "If I ever stop laughing when people say 'balls,' I'll know my heart is dead," Leon thinks in chapter 25. I wouldn't say Leon learns a lot about himself over the course of the story, but he does learn to keep what makes him *Leon* intact in the face of preppy girlfriends, parents threatening to kill you with butcher knives, and the eternal threat of not graduating.

Leon also learns a lot about love and relationships. He's not the most experienced with girls, and his nervousness with sexual situations is a refreshing change from contemporary YA in which male sexuality isn't really addressed at all.

"Love is like fitting two puzzle pieces from two different puzzles together."

This book is the story of Leon trying to fit into puzzles he doesn't belong in. It's laugh-out-loud funny, and the too sticky-sweet kind of gross. And you want to read it. Trust me on this one. Or better yet, trust Satan-ahem, I mean Stan.

"You'll thank me later," said Stan. "You'll see. Thus begins the resurrection of Leon."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and strange...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* ...
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Returning to the dark and glamorous 19th century world of...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel to...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson, Sisters...
Lightbringer (Empirium, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The incredible conclusion to the Empirium Trilogy that started...
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Thirteen Short Stories from Bold New YA Voices &...
Hush (Hush, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel...
Twisted Pines
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Where have all the children gone? At rustic summer...
Beyond the Ruby Veil (The Walls in the Ruby Sky, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, queer YA fantasy that's perfect for fans...
Rosa's Big Sunflower Experiment
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rosa's group of friends want to learn all about growing...
That Dog!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This brilliant second picture book from Emma Lazell--a rising star...
In the Study with the Wrench
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the aftermath of Headmaster Boddy’s murder, Blackbrook Academy...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
Rosa's Big Sunflower Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
4.0
"ROSA'S BIG SUNFLOWER EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book that brings science and plant facts to young children. Rosa and..."
That Dog!
 
4.5
"THAT DOG! is a silly fun picture book about animal similarities and light crime solving. Penny is a dognapper, and..."
I'm a Zcary Vampire
 
3.5
"I'M A ZCARY VAMPIRE is an overall cute picture book read that is great for the lead up to Halloween...."
Heroes Level Up (Homerooms & Hall Passes #2)
 
5.0
"Albiorix and his crew are having a great time being back in Bríandalör, successfully completing a lot of quests, but..."
Last: The Story of a White Rhino
 
4.5
"LAST: THE STORY OF A WHITE RHINO tells the story of the real rhino, Sudan, who is one of the..."
When Pumpkins Fly
 
3.5
"WHEN PUMPKINS FLY is about the arrival of pumpkins via plane that are then taken to the classroom where children..."
Owl Always Love You
 
5.0
"OWL ALWAYS LOVE YOU is a sweet board book that is made for bedtime. It is a sweet poem about..."
Twins
 
4.0
"Francine and Maureen feel differently about starting middle school; Francine is reinventing herself, going by "Fran"and rocking a hat an..."
Eleanor, Anna, and the Roosevelt Ghosts
 
5.0
"Eleanor Roosevelt has been living with her Grandmother Hall since her mother and father have both passed away. The older..."
When I Grow Up, I Want to Drive
 
4.5
"WHEN I GROW UP, I WANT TO DRIVE... is a cute lift-the-flap adventure of different work vehicles in action. On..."
Dragon Mountain
 
5.0
"Billy Chan has gotten an invitation to attend Camp Dragon, a cultural and language school in China, so his parents..."
Yara's Spring
 
5.0
"Yara and her younger brother Saad are in a refugee camp in Jordan in 2016, waiting to hear what their..."
Cherry Blossom and Paper Planes
 
5.0
"CHERRY BLOSSOM AND PAPER PLANES is a lovely picture book read about friendship that spans distance. Dina and Adin are..."
This is My Daddy!
 
4.5
"THIS IS MY DADDY! is an overall cute and simple concept that makes a great gift for fathers of young..."
Peep!
 
3.0
"PEEP! is a board book that relies on illustrations to tell a story. A duckling hatches and sees a boy..."
The Blue Giant
 
4.5
"THE BLUE GIANT is a picture book that discusses ocean pollution in easy to understand terms. Meera and her mother..."
Cleo Porter and the Body Electric
 
5.0
"It's 2096, Cleo Porter and her parents never leave their apartment. It has no doors, no windows, and only a..."