Love Is the Drug

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
3646 2
Love Is the Drug
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 30, 2014
ISBN
9780545417815
Buy This Book
      

From the author of THE SUMMER PRINCE, a novel that's John Grisham's THE PELICAN BRIEF meets Michael Crichton's THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN set at an elite Washington D.C. prep school. Emily Bird was raised not to ask questions. She has perfect hair, the perfect boyfriend, and a perfect Ivy-League future. But a chance meeting with Roosevelt David, a homeland security agent, at a party for Washington DC's elite leads to Bird waking up in a hospital, days later, with no memory of the end of the night. Meanwhile, the world has fallen apart: A deadly flu virus is sweeping the nation, forcing quarantines, curfews, even martial law. And Roosevelt is certain that Bird knows something. Something about the virus--something about her parents' top secret scientific work--something she shouldn't know. The only one Bird can trust is Coffee, a quiet, outsider genius who deals drugs to their classmates and is a firm believer in conspiracy theories. And he believes in Bird. But as Bird and Coffee dig deeper into what really happened that night, Bird finds that she might know more than she remembers. And what she knows could unleash the biggest government scandal in US history

Editor reviews

1 reviews

This book could change your life.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Bird and Coffee are tangled in a web of political intrigue and they must unravel the secrets locked in Bird's memory before a rogue government agent gets to them or their loved ones. This is science fiction at its best, blatantly addressing social issues like class, race, poverty, and substance abuse. Add a touch of humor, a healthy dose of romance, and 352 pages of hard-hitting prose and you've got an amazing story.

What I loved: The complex politics and intelligent prose. The challenging relationship between Bird and Coffee. The complex dynamics between Bird and her mother, Carol.

Realistic politics underlie the plot, unlike most YA fiction with its grandiose dystopian conspiracies. The politicians are real people, with believable motivations and reactions. At times the quagmire of political agendas got confusing enough that I had to reread passages, but for me that simply makes it even more realistic - that's what happens with real politics.

This book made me look things up online. This is not a thing I am known to do. I am the kind of reader that has no problem with suspension of disbelief, who accepts strange plot twists, intuits the meaning of unfamiliar words from context, and doesn't ask questions. But with this story, I simply had to know! I looked up the side effects of drugs, I researched the history of war in Venezuela, and I tracked down the meaning of chemical equations and political terms.

Emily Bird has known the enigmatic drug dealer Coffee for about a year, and it hasn't been easy. "I've spent a year drowning in you," Coffee says, and it has a difficult year for them both. Drowning doesn't feel good, and what Bird and Coffee have isn't always cherry sweet or perfect. It starts out painful and raw, continues to be really scary, and finally develops into a beautiful, complex, and enviable relationship.

Carol Bird is the idol her daughter Emily is forced to fearfully worship. Carol is a scientist, and might have something to do with the crazy conspiracy theories Coffee has been throwing around, but there is no way for Bird to find out - she barely even talks to or sees her parents. When she does have to be around them, Bird has to focus entirely on not giving in to her mother's demands, standing up to Carol, and being brave in the face of fear. "Mothers aren't always right or even always good," Bird realizes later, and this sets the tone for their relationship in the second half of the book. I respect that not everything is all happy-go-lucky between Bird and her parents at the end of the book - that simply isn't realistic. It's obvious that Bird will constantly struggle with her mother, and while it's a little disheartening, I respect the author's honesty on that account.

What I wanted more of: Coffee. Coffee was my favorite character, and his development was my favorite part of the story. Seriously, he is perfect in every way, simply because he is so very far from perfect. And the truth is, I got more of him. We spend the entire book in Bird's point of view, but that doesn't mean we don't get to know Coffee intimately. The dialogue is so well done that we feel like we're seeing the world from Coffee's point of view, even though we're removed from it. As a stand-alone novel, LOVE IS THE DRUG is complete, has a satisfying ending, and doesn't leave the reader wanting more (except for Coffee), although I would definitely welcome a sequel if one ever arises.

The Verdict: I loved every word. I have never annotated a book like I did this one. The pages of the ARC are covered with my reactions, scribbled notes, questions, and thoughts. At one point Bird asks, "What's the point of being brave if it destroys you?" and the way in which she answers this question could change your life.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."