The Bridge from Me to You

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2813 0
The Bridge from Me to You
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 29, 2014
ISBN
978-0545646017
Buy This Book
      

Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating chapters of verse and prose, new girl Lauren and football hero Colby come together, fall apart, and build something stronger than either of them thought possible -- something to truly believe in.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

I could not get enough of this book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I'm not a huge football fan, but I love football. Does that make sense? Let me rephrase that. I don't really understand football, but I love to go to the games. I love Friday Night Lights. This book just did it for me. Love! Love! Love!

What I loved:

The quick pace. The book switched from Lauren to Colby's POV, and that doesn't mean each character had a chapter. Sometimes, the characters POV was just a few paragraphs long. I loved that! Not only did we get to read the same situations from both main characters, but the book moved quicker.

Colby. Oh my goodness. You have to love a boy who is strong on family, amazing at football, but yet has dreams of his own. I really connected with him. He felt a sense of duty to his father, but didn't know how to tell his dad that football isn't what he wanted to do for the rest of his life. I felt for him so deeply because he felt he had to hide part of himself away. I love how he felt about bridges. What an amazing character Ms. Schroeder created!

Lauren. At first we don't find out why Lauren is living with her aunt and uncle. The more I read about her, the more I adored her. She is loving, shy and it just hurt to read about how insecure she was. We learn why she's so insecure later, and then Lauren makes a lot more sense. I loved how Ms. Schroeder describes Lauren's feelings. I really felt like I was Lauren. She also feels a sense of duty to her mother and brother, but yet has dreams for herself. Reading about how these two characters realize that living their dreams is about them and not others was eye opening. I think that's something that teenagers, especially have a hard time with sometimes. Sometimes we feel so obligated to fulfill the role we think we're supposed to have that we lose sight of how to follow our own dreams.

I loved how each character finds the courage and strength to fight for themselves, and each other.

What left me wanting more:

Um...I would love a sequel!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
The Bridge From Me to You
(Updated: July 29, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Contemporary YA romances are hot right now. The Bridge From Me to You uses an unique approach by alternating between prose and poetry to deliver a heart felt story of two lost teens and the magic of believing in not only yourself but others.

What worked: I have to admit, at first I was a tad bit hesitant about how Schroeder would handle this story with alternating poetry and prose. I should have known better than to doubt her! Schroeder sprinkles her own magic in this story of two teens who find each other during hard times. I love Colby's point of view. His struggles on being a reluctant football player in a town where football is huge is shown in a very realistic way. Colby deals with very tough issues that include his best friend Benny, who would do anything to get a scout to notice him on the field, along with the conflict he has with his gung ho father who won't accept anything less than stellar out on the football field. Colby's emotions ring true throughout.

Lauren's story is shown in free verse poetry that at first gives glimpses of her pain of being rejected by her mother to the struggles she feels at her growing attraction to Colby. Wanting to kiss someone so badly is shown in such a way that you feel the awkwardness. Lauren's secret was believable as I was in a similar situation when I went away to college. It was hard and scary to report. I could feel the guilt Lauren felt along with the longing for her mother to accept her.

I'm a fan of Schroeder's other YA novels and this one won't disappoint!

This is not only a story of romance but how the power of love and believing can make a believer out of anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."