Latitude Zero

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
3167 0
Latitude Zero
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 03, 2014
ISBN
978-0670015580
Buy This Book
      

“I have to run,” said Juan Carlos.
“You will call? Please? It is very important.”
“Yes. I will call. Definitely. At two.”
That’s what Tessa promises. But by two o’clock, young Ecuadorian cycling superstar Juan Carlos is dead, and Tessa, one of the last people ever to speak to him, is left with nothing but questions. The media deems Juan Carlos’s death a tragic accident at a charity bike ride, but Tessa, an aspiring investigative journalist herself, knows that something more is going on. While she grapples with her own grief and guilt, she is being stalked by spies with an insidious connection to the dead cycling champion. Tessa’s pursuit of an explanation for Juan Carlos’s untimely death leads her from the quiet New England backwoods to bustling bike shops and ultimately to Ecuador itself, Juan Carlos’s homeland. As the ride grows bumpy, Tessa no longer knows who’s a suspect and who is an ally. The only thing she knows for sure is that she must uncover the truth of why Juan Carlos has died and race to find the real villain—before the trail goes cold.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Latitude Zero
(Updated: July 01, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Talk about whirlwind suspense, tension, and adventure that doesn't stop! I was hooked on the very first page of the latest Diana Renn novel. With all the talk lately on a lack of diversity in YA, this one is a perfect addition to that collection.

What worked: I loved how suspenseful and engaging this novel was! Readers are introduced to TV host Tessa who acts a little rebellious by riding 'Bandit' style in a cycling race for cancer. This act has her promptly fired from her children's TV show but that's not what gets to her. Right before the race, Juan Carlos, a cycling star, asks her to contact him as it's important. He dies before she can do this. At first she blames herself as she did cause a major accident during the race but later questions pop up on maybe there was much more to his death. She decides to go to Ecuador to find the truth even if that means it might put herself in danger.

One huge plus is the strong protagonist. Tessa is strong willed and doesn't give up. Her jerky former cyclist star boyfriend Jake shows his true colors more than a few times at the beginning and I'm glad that she has enough backbone to go with her gut feelings even if that means losing him. The story really comes to life when she journeys to Ecuador and volunteers with bringing bikes to the residences of this country. The Ecuadorian countryside is shown in brutal honesty from the rich residences complete with armed guards to the squalid of the poorer neighborhoods.

I liked the suspense and mystery on what might have really happened to Juan Carlos. The added possible romantic angle with Ecuadorian Santiago adds to the storyline. It's not over the top and she doesn't wait for him to solve the mystery but rather uses his help along the way.

Tessa is a great heroine that's strength adds much to this story. Renn doesn't just dwell on the Latin American country's corruption but equally shows others, like Tessa's host family, who want the best for Ecuador without doing illegal activities. The Spanish gives the story authenticity as it's right on. I can say this as I'm fluent in Spanish.

Another added bonus is readers get an insight into the world of professional cycling. Fascinating details along with other painful hidden glimpses into how this sport can be tainted by a few.

Fast-paced engaging adventure set in the world of professional cycling with a determined girl who sets out to resolve her friend of a wrongdoing. A must read for those who love suspense, adventure, and hints of romance set in a Latin American countryside.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."