17 First Kisses

FeaturedHot
 
3.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
4049 0
17 First Kisses
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 17, 2014
ISBN
978-0062281340
Buy This Book
      

No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment. Until Claire meets Luke. But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible. With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder. In her moving debut, Rachael Allen brilliantly captures the complexities of friendship, the struggles of self-discovery, and the difficulties of trying to find love in high school. Fans of Sarah Ockler, Susane Colasanti, and Stephanie Perkins will fall head over heels for this addictive, heartfelt, and often hilarious modern love story.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Amazing First Novel
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
17 First Kisses was completely not on my radar, until it showed up in a package from HarperCollins, along with something I’d actually requested. I often side-eye these accompanying books, but I am so glad that Allen’s debut novel showed up on my doorstep. I was charmed right from the get go by the setting and the real high school-ness of it. Allen tackles a lot of deep subjects in her debut: family, grief, sex, friendship. Despite that, the novel still is a pleasant read, rather than depressing. It’s a novel that makes you think about the good sides of growing up, of the promise the future holds.


What makes 17 First Kisses really stand out is the attitude towards romance and sex. It’s a very sex positive novel, one that maintains a person needs to have a lot of experiences before settling down. With most YA fiction ending with a couple in an HEA, 17 First Kisses is a breath of fresh air. There’s a ship of sorts, but, though most of the book deals with romantic drama and relationships, it’s not about romance. Allen’s debut really does run through all the boys that the heroine, Claire, has kissed, and ends on the suggestion that many more boys will be kissed before she’s done. THIS is real life for most people, and I love that aspect so, so much.

Allen tackles slut-shaming head on, in a way that will either work for readers or it won’t. It worked for me almost entirely. There’s frank discussion of the gender bias in calling behavior slutty, which I love. Claire has a bad reputation, despite the fact that she’s a virgin. The high school rumor mill is a big part of 17 First Kisses. I like, too, Claire’s consideration on when she wants to have sex. She takes time and considers what’s right for her. The one part that lost me a bit was when Claire wrote on someone else’s car, calling them a slut for hooking up with her boyfriend, even though the girl didn’t cheat on her. The overall message, though, is one of positivity, so I’m able to overlook that as the terminology of high school.

The side plot on Claire’s family is immensely touching. Her mother and father have both disappeared in their grief, in response to a family tragedy. Claire’s mother almost never leaves her bed, hiding within a pile of blankets. The father works long hours and sleeps on the couch or in the study. Neither of them can deal and Claire’s stuck taking care of herself and her younger sister, Libby. Of course, she’s a teen, so it’s also an opportunity to get away with things. That said, Claire very much wants her parents back and works to that end. This plot is very understated and thoughtful.

The friendship drama is where I have some niggling feelings of disappointment. I do really love the relationship between Amberly and Claire, the way Claire is realizing she’s taken Amberly for granted. Claire’s relationship with Megan is more problematic. Both are very supportive of one another when the chips are down and it’s great that Claire doesn’t envy Megan her popularity. However, the two are so terrible to each other over boys and never really deal with that in a healthy way. I do think it’s realistic for high school, but it’s one of those little things that keeps me from a full five star rating. Then there’s the bigger issue, which is Claire’s friendship with Sam. They’ve been friends basically all of their lives and supposedly talk often enough that he comments on how weird it is to not talk every single day, but he’s hardly in the book. It feels like Sam should be much more present in her life than he actually is in the novel.

Finally, I have extra affection for 17 First Kisses for two personal reasons. 1) This book reminds me of She’s the Man. Claire’s a total badass at soccer and, when she gives a boy a bloody nose by accident during a game, she gives him a tampon to soak up the blood. Much laughing commenced from me. 2) Allen’s from Atlanta and the book is set near to me. While Claire and her friends live outside of the city, likely in a place of southern accents (suggested certainly by Claire calling her mother Mama), there are references to places that I know, like the sumptuous bathrooms of The Fox Theater. Atlanta doesn’t come up too often in books and I loved seeing my hometown.

The Final Verdict:
While not an entirely perfect read for me, 17 First Kisses still impressed me mightily and I recommend it to all contemporary YA lovers. It’s thought-provoking, healthy of attitude, and full of believable characters. I will read whatever Allen writes next, without a doubt.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Different from what I thought it would be about, but still an interesting read
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved: I loved when the main character, Claire, recounts each of the kisses she’s had in her life. Some where young and innocent, others were heated and memorable, and everything in between. It was definitely fun to experience all the aspects of “young love” and it’s pretty much what you think about when you think of kids, tweens, and teens interacting with the opposite sex. Allen captured all of the stages well, although I have to admit, things were a bit more wild, dramatic, and often times, annoying than I remember it being when I was growing up. What I really appreciated was what Claire was going through with her family. It was very sad and felt so real to me. Those parts were definitely my favorite.

Left Me Wanting More: I seriously didn’t like how nonchalant Claire was with some of the guys she interacted with and I especially didn’t care for Luke at all. I also didn’t really like Megan and Claire’s friendship. It really annoyed me how flippant Claire was with some of the things Megan did to her, but I will admit, I understood that their friendship was a complicated one and despite their cattiness and immaturity, when it really got down to it, they were there for each other, so I’ll give them that.

Final Verdict: There were ups and downs with this book. I got annoyed a lot of times throughout the book, but I did enjoy reading it to a certain extent. If anything, it’s quick and light. Definitely don’t take this book too seriously.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."