17 First Kisses

FeaturedHot
 
3.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3536 0
17 First Kisses
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 17, 2014
ISBN
978-0062281340
Buy This Book
      

No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment. Until Claire meets Luke. But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible. With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder. In her moving debut, Rachael Allen brilliantly captures the complexities of friendship, the struggles of self-discovery, and the difficulties of trying to find love in high school. Fans of Sarah Ockler, Susane Colasanti, and Stephanie Perkins will fall head over heels for this addictive, heartfelt, and often hilarious modern love story.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Amazing First Novel
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
17 First Kisses was completely not on my radar, until it showed up in a package from HarperCollins, along with something I’d actually requested. I often side-eye these accompanying books, but I am so glad that Allen’s debut novel showed up on my doorstep. I was charmed right from the get go by the setting and the real high school-ness of it. Allen tackles a lot of deep subjects in her debut: family, grief, sex, friendship. Despite that, the novel still is a pleasant read, rather than depressing. It’s a novel that makes you think about the good sides of growing up, of the promise the future holds.


What makes 17 First Kisses really stand out is the attitude towards romance and sex. It’s a very sex positive novel, one that maintains a person needs to have a lot of experiences before settling down. With most YA fiction ending with a couple in an HEA, 17 First Kisses is a breath of fresh air. There’s a ship of sorts, but, though most of the book deals with romantic drama and relationships, it’s not about romance. Allen’s debut really does run through all the boys that the heroine, Claire, has kissed, and ends on the suggestion that many more boys will be kissed before she’s done. THIS is real life for most people, and I love that aspect so, so much.

Allen tackles slut-shaming head on, in a way that will either work for readers or it won’t. It worked for me almost entirely. There’s frank discussion of the gender bias in calling behavior slutty, which I love. Claire has a bad reputation, despite the fact that she’s a virgin. The high school rumor mill is a big part of 17 First Kisses. I like, too, Claire’s consideration on when she wants to have sex. She takes time and considers what’s right for her. The one part that lost me a bit was when Claire wrote on someone else’s car, calling them a slut for hooking up with her boyfriend, even though the girl didn’t cheat on her. The overall message, though, is one of positivity, so I’m able to overlook that as the terminology of high school.

The side plot on Claire’s family is immensely touching. Her mother and father have both disappeared in their grief, in response to a family tragedy. Claire’s mother almost never leaves her bed, hiding within a pile of blankets. The father works long hours and sleeps on the couch or in the study. Neither of them can deal and Claire’s stuck taking care of herself and her younger sister, Libby. Of course, she’s a teen, so it’s also an opportunity to get away with things. That said, Claire very much wants her parents back and works to that end. This plot is very understated and thoughtful.

The friendship drama is where I have some niggling feelings of disappointment. I do really love the relationship between Amberly and Claire, the way Claire is realizing she’s taken Amberly for granted. Claire’s relationship with Megan is more problematic. Both are very supportive of one another when the chips are down and it’s great that Claire doesn’t envy Megan her popularity. However, the two are so terrible to each other over boys and never really deal with that in a healthy way. I do think it’s realistic for high school, but it’s one of those little things that keeps me from a full five star rating. Then there’s the bigger issue, which is Claire’s friendship with Sam. They’ve been friends basically all of their lives and supposedly talk often enough that he comments on how weird it is to not talk every single day, but he’s hardly in the book. It feels like Sam should be much more present in her life than he actually is in the novel.

Finally, I have extra affection for 17 First Kisses for two personal reasons. 1) This book reminds me of She’s the Man. Claire’s a total badass at soccer and, when she gives a boy a bloody nose by accident during a game, she gives him a tampon to soak up the blood. Much laughing commenced from me. 2) Allen’s from Atlanta and the book is set near to me. While Claire and her friends live outside of the city, likely in a place of southern accents (suggested certainly by Claire calling her mother Mama), there are references to places that I know, like the sumptuous bathrooms of The Fox Theater. Atlanta doesn’t come up too often in books and I loved seeing my hometown.

The Final Verdict:
While not an entirely perfect read for me, 17 First Kisses still impressed me mightily and I recommend it to all contemporary YA lovers. It’s thought-provoking, healthy of attitude, and full of believable characters. I will read whatever Allen writes next, without a doubt.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Different from what I thought it would be about, but still an interesting read
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved: I loved when the main character, Claire, recounts each of the kisses she’s had in her life. Some where young and innocent, others were heated and memorable, and everything in between. It was definitely fun to experience all the aspects of “young love” and it’s pretty much what you think about when you think of kids, tweens, and teens interacting with the opposite sex. Allen captured all of the stages well, although I have to admit, things were a bit more wild, dramatic, and often times, annoying than I remember it being when I was growing up. What I really appreciated was what Claire was going through with her family. It was very sad and felt so real to me. Those parts were definitely my favorite.

Left Me Wanting More: I seriously didn’t like how nonchalant Claire was with some of the guys she interacted with and I especially didn’t care for Luke at all. I also didn’t really like Megan and Claire’s friendship. It really annoyed me how flippant Claire was with some of the things Megan did to her, but I will admit, I understood that their friendship was a complicated one and despite their cattiness and immaturity, when it really got down to it, they were there for each other, so I’ll give them that.

Final Verdict: There were ups and downs with this book. I got annoyed a lot of times throughout the book, but I did enjoy reading it to a certain extent. If anything, it’s quick and light. Definitely don’t take this book too seriously.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here is what happens when your mother dies. ...
Girl at Heart
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher, Charlie...
Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
The Boy Who Dreamt the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adam is living the dream, literally.... There are two...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
Symptoms of a Heartbreak
 
4.3
"I started out reading an ARC of Symptoms of a Heartbreak, but then I switched to reading a hardcover in..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.3
"I’m going to start out this post by letting it be known by all and sundry that I was provided..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."