Cinderella's Dress

Featured
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3063 1
Cinderella's Dress
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 03, 2014
ISBN
978-1622663408
Buy This Book
      

Being a teenager during World War II is tough. Finding out you’re the next keeper of the real Cinderella’s dresses is even tougher. Kate simply wants to create window displays at the department store where she's working, trying to help out with the war effort. But when long-lost relatives from Poland arrive with a steamer trunk they claim holds the Cinderella’s dresses, life gets complicated. Now, with a father missing in action, her new sweetheart shipped off to boot camp, and her great aunt losing her wits, Kate has to unravel the mystery before it’s too late. After all, the descendants of the wicked stepsisters will stop at nothing to get what they think they deserve.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Fun Retelling
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I was drawn to this book by simply looking at the cover. It's beautiful! I found inside a fun retelling of one of my favorite fairy tales.

What I liked: Cinderella is one of my favorite fairy tales. It's hard to find a version that I won't enjoy. I loved the modern, real-life setting of this story. I have to admit, one of my favorite pieces of the book was the window decorating. As I was reading, I was picturing how majestic those huge store-front windows must have looked to Kate. Along with the story of finding and protecting Cinderella's dress, I got completely caught up in those windows!

I also enjoyed the different relationships that were shown in this book. The relationships Kate had with her family and friends were all so different and they all felt important. As far as characters go, I really enjoyed Johnny. There was a lot of depth to him that I initially wasn't expecting.

What left me wanting more: Honestly, I really enjoyed this book. I wish that the beginning of the story moved a little bit faster and we got to the "good stuff" earlier.

Final verdict: Fans of WWII fiction and fairy tale retellings will enjoy Cinderella's Dress.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Cinderella's Dress
(Updated: June 12, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Imagine if the story of Cinderella might in fact be true. That's what you'll discover in the very imaginative CINDERELLA'S DRESS which is the PERFECT fantasy set in WW2 with a girl, a magical dress, and much more!

What worked: This is a delightful tale that introduces us to Kate who longs to decorate department store windows to the horror of her mother. She wants Kate to be a model. This is right at the tail end of the second war where rations included no pantyhose and other essentials. Then one day an elderly couple come to their home from Poland with a trunk and rumors of a magical dress. This is where the story comes alive. Kate is curious about what is in that trunk and when her aunt hints that she is in fact the 'keeper' of that Cinderella's dress? Kate wants to know more. Add the descendants of the wicked stepsisters who are up to no good and want the dresses(yes, there are more than one!) for themselves and will do anything to get them. Plus, there has to be a cute boy in the mix and this story doesn't disappoint there!

I love the action, suspense, and the bubbling romance within the pages of this very engaging story! Kate's decisions aren't always the best and the consequences she and her family face are at times more than she thinks she can handle. The war backdrop add to the intrigue of who might have been behind the attempts at stealing the dress plus the mystery behind her father's disappearance. **There's a hint of the Monument Men here--men that went during the war to protect historical art treasures that the Nazis and others pilfered.

I also loved the relationship between Kate and her BFF Josie. She's funny and also very loyal even though she'd do just about anything to be the model that Kate turns down. Now that's a true friend! Johnny is the guy who at first comes off as a jerk but opens up to Kate.

The early 40s are shown in vivid and realistic details down to the dances to even the hang out places.

A fun, twist on the classic Cinderella tale that is sure to appeal to fans of lighter fantasies. Be prepared to be swept away!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."