The Truth About Alice

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
4.3 (1)
3205 2
The Truth About Alice
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 03, 2014
ISBN
978-1596439092
Buy This Book
      

Everyone knows Alice slept with two guys at one party. When Healy High star quarterback, Brandon Fitzsimmons, dies in a car crash, it was because he was sexting with Alice. Ask anybody. Rumor has it Alice Franklin is a slut. It's written all over the "slut stall" in the girls' bathroom: "Alice had sex in exchange for math test answers" and "Alice got an abortion last semester." After Brandon dies, the rumors start to spiral out of control. In this remarkable debut novel, four Healy High students tell all they "know" about Alice--and in doing so reveal their own secrets and motivations, painting a raw look at the realities of teen life. But in this novel from Jennifer Mathieu, exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there's only one person to ask: Alice herself.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Truth About Alice
(Updated: May 28, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I think everyone in high school knew of that 'girl' or 'guy' that was labeled bad and/or very loose. These were the people that seemed to have a story. I can't help but think of Rizzo in the movie Grease, and how isolated she became after rumors of her being pregnant circulated around campus. There are others that had more tragic end results. My question always has been how many of these people were really like that? Or were they the products of malicious gossip?

In THE TRUTH ABOUT ALICE we see Alice Franklin, who most girls envy for her so-called perfect body and ability around guys, the guys who want her, and the friend who resents not being like her. Then one tragic event sets off one rumor that she slept with not one guy but two until it snowballs into she was the reason why the popular jock dies in a car accident. Rumors continue to fly until one starts the 'slut stall' which escalates the viciousness.

What worked: The viciousness of how a text message can spread rumors and gossip to the point of destroying the reputation of a girl. This is shown in a brutally raw way that is very painful. The 'truth' is slowly unraveled after we hear from different people who knew Alice.

There are some very strong images woven throughout this story. It could have been so easy for this to be just 'Alice's' story but no, we see her through a number of others in her high school. I think this works as we can observe Alice and see the reasoning behind the slander. Each of the point of views has his/her own motivations behind doing their part in either spreading the rumors or being silent.

My favorite character had to be the smart nerdy Kurt who everyone else avoids but has a secret crush on Alice. He's the one who reaches out to her while others are so quick to believe the rumors. He's not entirely selfless when he reaches out to Alice when he finds she needs help in math but he also doesn't ignore her either. To me that took courage that others, including her former BFF, lacked.

What I had trouble with though had to be how some of the characters sounded too much alike to the point of being the stereotypical 'mean' girl and the oversexed jock. It wasn't until halfway through this book, I put those concerns aside. The reveals are shocking at times and tragic.

The whole slut-shaming(I hate this term) is shown in horrific detail with how quick a so-called best friend can turn on a friend in order not to be associated with the rumor. Kelsie, the former best friend, reasoning on why she started the slut hall in the bathroom, is something I've heard too often. "Well, if she didn't do this or if she didn't date the guy I wanted? I'd never would have done that to her." Placing the blame on something else is all too often used. Kelsie and her Christian mother's hypocrisy, on one of the accusations against Alice, is something that makes this story even more tragic.

I feel this would be the perfect book club selection on how a malicious action can snowball into destroying a person's image and worse. Showing those involved in the rumors helps us see the motivations that might be behind such an act. Horrific and raw with painful insights into something that unfortunately continues to this day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I absolutely loved
(Updated: June 13, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Do you ever wonder what goes on inside the mind of those awful, cruel people who thrive on drama and being popular? You know the type, right? Well, The Truth About Alice will give you that. Don’t care to? Read this anyway because it is such a heartfelt, brutally honest story, that I believe everyone should read.

We have four different POVs throughout the story. Each one close to, or in direct contact with Alice and play a huge part in the lies, betrayal and damaging things done to her over the course of the year. There was Elaine, the popular, girl in school. Josh, the best friend of Brandon. Kurt, the outcast (I know the blurb says Kelsie but technically, it’s Kurt), who had adored Alice from afar for years. And finally, Kelsie, Alice’s “best friend.”

Of all the different characters, Kelsie is the one that brought out the most emotion out of me. Granted, everything that happened and was done to Alice was horrible. But Kelsie? Ugh. She has her own justifications for why she did what she did – hell they all did – but I just couldn’t fathom how someone could go to such lows. You have to respect their honest too.

One thing I found very interesting was the lack of POV from Alice. There wasn’t any time where Alice is defending herself, or what had exactly went on, from her perspective. Which worked. We learn about what REALLY happened through the other’s views anyway. And trust me, it is NOT pretty. Yet, it’s so brutally honest and real I couldn’t STOP reading. No matter how hard it was, how uncomfortable it made me. Let’s face it, it’s reality.

Let’s set aside that aspect of the book and talk about the other issues brought up and mentioned. Each and every single character had some other underlining issue to deal with. These aren’t small, insignificant issues either. You would think with everything going on, with the four POVs, things would be too much, but it’s handled so well that it isn’t overwhelming at all. All these things are talked about and handled in such a way that me in awe of her writing. Not to mention, gutted.

Overall -

I absolutely loved! The Truth About Alice is a heavy, emotional and compelling read. It touches on hard to read subjects, but it’s handled so well. Highly recommend this!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."