The Art of Lainey

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.7 (1)
2402 1
The Art of Lainey
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 20, 2014
ISBN
0062238426
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, and Susane Colasanti, The Art of Lainey tells the story of how, with the help of The Art of War, Lainey plots the perfect plan to get her boyfriend back. But is getting him back really what she wants? Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warnings, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back. And that's when Lainey and Bianca stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, the girls are sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey's arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates," it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game. Can fighting for what she wants help Lainey figure out what she really needs?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Art of Banter
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked
To be entirely up front, I’m going to tell you a probably surprising fact: I don’t love the heroine. Lainey’s totally not someone I could envision being best friends with at all. She’s not incredibly smart, she’s a jock, and she’s popular. She spray tans herself orange because her boyfriend said she looked better that way. Despite her rep as a mean girl, she mostly seems to let her boyfriend Jason and his sister Kendall boss her around and tell her who to be. Obviously, she’s got a narrative arc and grows and changes a lot during The Art of Lainey once Jason dumps her, but though we get to be acquaintances Lainey and I are not kindred spirits.

All of that is to say that I think it’s a lot easier for me to love a book when the characters are in some way reflecting myself. Of course I love a book about a girl like me who goes on magic adventures or finds the perfect guy. I’m not disparaging those books either. However, I’m always really impressed when an author can make me care about a character I initially have negative feelings towards, as I did with both Lainey and Micah. Oh right, Micah I disliked because of his smoking habit, which is something I super do not approve of. BUT Stokes made me care about the two of them. She made me invested in spite of myself. I mean, damn, do they have chemistry. Just damn.

The beginning of the book was immediately entertaining, because the dumping reminded me of She’s the Man, with the perfect soccer star relationship ending dramatically. At the same time, though, I was definitely torn on the premise. Lainey, Micah and Leo are all determined to win their exes back using Sun Tzu’s strategies, which is admittedly a hilarious premise, but also, kids, please have more self-esteem. Basically, my advice would be to just roll with it, because the ultimate message is a healthy one, so enjoy the humorous ride along the way.

Speaking of healthy, there’s a lot of wonderful healthy stuff in The Art of Lainey. First off, Lainey has two loving parents. They’re not around much, but they’re present. She’s a rising senior and hasn’t ever done anything terrible, so they trust her. However, her mom steps in once to prevent a bad plan, and has obviously been keeping an eye out to her daughter’s safety. They’re believable, caring, slightly awkward parents. Then there’s Lainey’s best friend Bianca, who is Spanish and really smart and reliable. I wish she were in the book slightly more, but I do like how quietly there for Lainey she is, which is amazing given everything. The Art of Lainey is also very sex positive with mention of birth control, and very much not a this-high-school-relationship-is-true-love-that-will-last-forever sort of book. Oh, also, all the characters are thinking about what comes after high school, which is super realistic but often doesn’t happen.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one aspect of The Art of Lainey that left me unsettled was Kendall, Lainey’s other best friend and her ex-boyfriend’s sister. Kendall is a classic mean girl, complete with a whole host of both mommy and daddy issues. I sort of feel like Kendall gets shafted with the whole thing. Basically everything that Lainey’s ever done wrong sort of gets thrown in Kendall’s direction. While Kendall’s definitely deserving of a lot of blame, that felt unfair, and I would have liked to see a bit more depth from her. I’m also curious as to how Bianca is still friends with Lainey because I can’t imagine Kendall being nice to her and I suspect Lainey probably dumped Bianca a lot for Kendall and Jason. Kendall was conveniently out of the way over the summer, but I just cannot fathom what their dynamics were like before.

The Final Verdict:
The Art of Lainey is a fabulous read full of life-like characters and it had me flipping pages really quickly, more desperate to find out not so much what would happen but how than I’ve been in a while. I’d say it’s a good readalike for Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be with the opposites attract element or for readers who want an athletic heroine or a love interest with a mohawk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Art of Lainey
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I thought Art of Lainey would be this fluffy happy cutesy romance, which it totally is, but it's also kind of serious when it comes to finding your own identity and how getting dumped is not the end of the world and can actually lead to better things. You can actually see Lainey go through this transformation of becoming who she wants to be and not just what other people want her to be.

I've never really seen the appeal of a Mohawk but Micah has totally changed my opinion! He's the most amazing guy once you get to know him! He's so sweet and nice and just the perfect book boyfriend!

However as good as Micah is the best part of Art of Lainey is the friendship between Lainey and Bianca. Their supportive of each other and have none of that frienemies stuff. Which is I adore especially considering this is a contemporary romance and friendship always seems to take a backburner in romances.

Two other things I liked about Art of Lainey was the soccer aspect and how the characters were thinking about college. I see so few YA books were you have either of those things and it was really nice to have that and give the book a more real feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...

Latest Member Reviews

Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
4.0
"‘The Missing: The True Story of My Family in WWII’ by Michael Rosen shares the story of a family who..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Sounds of the Sky
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE SKY is a great nonfiction collection of animal facts, focusing on birds. The book takes the reader..."
Sounds of the Wild
 
5.0
"SOUNDS OF THE WILD is a fantastic non-fiction children's book that takes the reader on a journey through several islands'..."
Rhyme with Me (Indestructibles)
 
5.0
"RHYME WITH ME! is a great new installment in the Indestructibles line of books. This new book features questions, which..."
When Elephants Listen with Their Feet: Discover Extraordinary Animal Senses
 
4.3
"WHEN ELEPHANTS LISTEN WITH THEIR FEET is a seriously cool collection of animal facts around the senses. The book goes..."
Ultimate Earth: Oceans and Seas
 
4.3
"ULTIMATE EARTH: OCEANS AND SEAS is an engaging look at the creatures who live in the water with lift-the-flaps and..."