The Art of Lainey

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.7 (1)
2216 1
The Art of Lainey
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 20, 2014
ISBN
0062238426
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, and Susane Colasanti, The Art of Lainey tells the story of how, with the help of The Art of War, Lainey plots the perfect plan to get her boyfriend back. But is getting him back really what she wants? Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warnings, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back. And that's when Lainey and Bianca stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, the girls are sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey's arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates," it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game. Can fighting for what she wants help Lainey figure out what she really needs?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Art of Banter
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked
To be entirely up front, I’m going to tell you a probably surprising fact: I don’t love the heroine. Lainey’s totally not someone I could envision being best friends with at all. She’s not incredibly smart, she’s a jock, and she’s popular. She spray tans herself orange because her boyfriend said she looked better that way. Despite her rep as a mean girl, she mostly seems to let her boyfriend Jason and his sister Kendall boss her around and tell her who to be. Obviously, she’s got a narrative arc and grows and changes a lot during The Art of Lainey once Jason dumps her, but though we get to be acquaintances Lainey and I are not kindred spirits.

All of that is to say that I think it’s a lot easier for me to love a book when the characters are in some way reflecting myself. Of course I love a book about a girl like me who goes on magic adventures or finds the perfect guy. I’m not disparaging those books either. However, I’m always really impressed when an author can make me care about a character I initially have negative feelings towards, as I did with both Lainey and Micah. Oh right, Micah I disliked because of his smoking habit, which is something I super do not approve of. BUT Stokes made me care about the two of them. She made me invested in spite of myself. I mean, damn, do they have chemistry. Just damn.

The beginning of the book was immediately entertaining, because the dumping reminded me of She’s the Man, with the perfect soccer star relationship ending dramatically. At the same time, though, I was definitely torn on the premise. Lainey, Micah and Leo are all determined to win their exes back using Sun Tzu’s strategies, which is admittedly a hilarious premise, but also, kids, please have more self-esteem. Basically, my advice would be to just roll with it, because the ultimate message is a healthy one, so enjoy the humorous ride along the way.

Speaking of healthy, there’s a lot of wonderful healthy stuff in The Art of Lainey. First off, Lainey has two loving parents. They’re not around much, but they’re present. She’s a rising senior and hasn’t ever done anything terrible, so they trust her. However, her mom steps in once to prevent a bad plan, and has obviously been keeping an eye out to her daughter’s safety. They’re believable, caring, slightly awkward parents. Then there’s Lainey’s best friend Bianca, who is Spanish and really smart and reliable. I wish she were in the book slightly more, but I do like how quietly there for Lainey she is, which is amazing given everything. The Art of Lainey is also very sex positive with mention of birth control, and very much not a this-high-school-relationship-is-true-love-that-will-last-forever sort of book. Oh, also, all the characters are thinking about what comes after high school, which is super realistic but often doesn’t happen.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The one aspect of The Art of Lainey that left me unsettled was Kendall, Lainey’s other best friend and her ex-boyfriend’s sister. Kendall is a classic mean girl, complete with a whole host of both mommy and daddy issues. I sort of feel like Kendall gets shafted with the whole thing. Basically everything that Lainey’s ever done wrong sort of gets thrown in Kendall’s direction. While Kendall’s definitely deserving of a lot of blame, that felt unfair, and I would have liked to see a bit more depth from her. I’m also curious as to how Bianca is still friends with Lainey because I can’t imagine Kendall being nice to her and I suspect Lainey probably dumped Bianca a lot for Kendall and Jason. Kendall was conveniently out of the way over the summer, but I just cannot fathom what their dynamics were like before.

The Final Verdict:
The Art of Lainey is a fabulous read full of life-like characters and it had me flipping pages really quickly, more desperate to find out not so much what would happen but how than I’ve been in a while. I’d say it’s a good readalike for Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be with the opposites attract element or for readers who want an athletic heroine or a love interest with a mohawk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Art of Lainey
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I thought Art of Lainey would be this fluffy happy cutesy romance, which it totally is, but it's also kind of serious when it comes to finding your own identity and how getting dumped is not the end of the world and can actually lead to better things. You can actually see Lainey go through this transformation of becoming who she wants to be and not just what other people want her to be.

I've never really seen the appeal of a Mohawk but Micah has totally changed my opinion! He's the most amazing guy once you get to know him! He's so sweet and nice and just the perfect book boyfriend!

However as good as Micah is the best part of Art of Lainey is the friendship between Lainey and Bianca. Their supportive of each other and have none of that frienemies stuff. Which is I adore especially considering this is a contemporary romance and friendship always seems to take a backburner in romances.

Two other things I liked about Art of Lainey was the soccer aspect and how the characters were thinking about college. I see so few YA books were you have either of those things and it was really nice to have that and give the book a more real feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."