Infinite Sky (Infinite Sky #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2864 0
Infinite Sky (Infinite Sky #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 27, 2014
ISBN
1481406582
Buy This Book
      

A truly beautiful book about the summer that changed one girl's life, as her mum leaves home, travelers set up camp in the family's field, her older brother goes off the rails, and she falls in love for the very first time. Opening with a funeral, Iris is mourning the boy in the casket - but who is it? Sam, her tearaway brother, or Trick, her tentative boyfriend? Over one long hot summer, we find out just how their three lives were turned upside-down.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A heart-rending story of first love, family, and forgiveness
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
C.J. Flood delivers a heart-rending story of first love, family drama, and forgiveness.

Lily is a troubled thirteen year-old girl faced with the fact that she must grow up far too soon. Her mom has run off to travel, her brother is making dangerous friends, and her dad drinks himself into a stupor most nights a week. When Lily braves her fears and meets Trick, a teenage gypsy boy, she makes a new friend, falls in love, and faces challenges she couldn't have imagined.

INFINITE SKY isn't just about romance and family. The issues of discrimination and prejudice haunt the pages. Lily's dad and brother are disgusted by the gypsies who moved in to the field behind their house. They want them gone, and they'll do just about anything to get their way. Lily, however, is intrigued by the gypsies, and she can't stop asking questions about them. Meanwhile, Lily's family is slowly falling apart due to the absence of her mother, who is off traveling exotic locales while attempting to reconcile her falling out of love with Lily's father.

These issues are intense, they're very real, and you'll feel for Lily. She is innocent and honest to a fault, until she meets Trick. Now she has to keep secrets from her dad, who would react violently if he knew the extent of Lily's friendship with Trick. Lily's internal struggles over lying to her dad and sneaking out with Trick, her best friend and someone she can actually rely on, are so relatable to young teens. So is the trouble between Lily and her dad: she realizes that all along she's been doing what he wanted. What does Lily even want? She must figure this out, and be brave enough to stand up for herself, even if it creates rifts between Lily and her dad and older brother, Sam. Middle grade readers will find this story especially compelling, as they struggle through all of the new and painful issues that Lily goes through as well.

The only part of the story that left me wanting more was an aspect of the writing style. It was very distant, unaffected, and indirect. We often heard Lily describing dialogue, instead of reading the dialogue outright. Too much telling and not showing created a distance between the reader and the strong emotions of the story. A more direct story-telling method would have bridged that distance and allowed readers to really connect with Lily's intense feelings.

Overall INFINITE SKY was a surprisingly deep story, confronting issues of parenting, first love, and loyalty. Highly recommended for middle grade readers looking for a touching romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."