Biggest Flirts (Superlatives #1)

FeaturedHot
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
4116 2
Biggest Flirts (Superlatives #1)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
May 20, 2014
ISBN
978-1442474468
Buy This Book
      

Tia and Will’s lives get flipped upside down when they’re voted Yearbook’s Biggest Flirts in this sassy novel from the author of Endless Summer and The One That I Want. Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger. As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated…

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Band Rules!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I can't seem to rave enough about this book. First of all, there is high school band. I was in high school band, I was in college band. I get all of the high school band dynamics.


What I loved: I loved what a fast-paced, energetic story this was. Once I started reading, I really didn't stop. The whole "will they or won't they get together" story line is always one that I love. Echols manages to keep readers waiting until the very end to find out--but that didn't bother me so much. I felt like the story was a process....one that both Tia and Will (but especially Tia) had to go through before they could figure out what they really wanted.

What left me wanting more: I don't think Will had his shirt off nearly enough....kidding...well, maybe... Seriously, I loved this story. I was hooked from the beginning and was sad when it ended. I hope Tia and Will make some appearances in the other books of this series.

Final Verdict: A fun book that you won't be able to put down!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Flirting With A New Series!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked: Jennifer Echols is one of my favorite YA authors and I never know what I'm falling into when I pick up one of her books, I just know I'm guaranteed to have a good time.

Biggest Flirts, Book One in the Superlatives Series is fast, funny and entertaining. But it's not without it's more serious moments too. In spite of her party girl reputation and her snarky comebacks, Tia is actually harboring some pretty deep rooted issues. But for her, it's easier to let people believe what they want instead of living up to her potential. At last that way she doesn't have to worry about being abandoned, hurt or disappointed. Or so she thinks.

Enter Will.

With his blue eyes, cool car and pierced ear, AND the fact that he's always taking his shirt off, (It's the heat. Not that I'm complaining though.) this Minnesotan makes Tia rethink her "no boyfriends" vow. They meet under interesting circumstances, exchange a few witty barbs and enjoy some well placed kisses, and before either of them knows it, they've earned themselves the title of, "Biggest Flirts".

The problem? Tia doesn't do the boyfriend thing and Will is actually dating someone else. Sort of.

But it's no big deal because they're just friends anyway.

Right?

Sure.

Until the girl Will is not-really-but-may-be dating breaks up with him and Tia regains her spot as Drum Captain - again. And then there's Sawyer and the ever present are-they-or-aren't-they rumor that surrounds him and Tia. It's all good though because Will has a plan. A way for him and Tia to both get what they want, but it will involve spending more time together and playing up their Biggest Flirts roles.

But plans can always change and when things start to feel more real than pretend, Tia will have to decide whether to take a chance on Will or continue marching to the beat of her own drum and risk losing her heart in the process.

What Left Me Wanting More: This was one of those rare books where I actually enjoyed the supporting characters more than I did the MC. I thought Kaye and Harper were a lot of fun and I was really excited to learn that the third book in this series will focus on Sawyer because he definitely piqued my interest.

I know the on again/off again situation with Tia and Will was all part of the process, but I wanted to see them have more happy time together. Hopefully we'll get to glimpse them in the books that follow.

Final Verdict: Entertaining start to a fun new series!

Favorite Quote: "Mr. Matthews, get off Miss Cruz. I'm starting to sound like a broken record."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."