Darkest Fear (Birthright #1)

FeaturedHot
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
3691 0
Darkest Fear (Birthright #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
9781442482463
Buy This Book
      

Vivi’s animal instincts are her legacy—and maybe her downfall—in this start to a romantic fantasy series that will appeal to fans of The Nine Lives of Chloe King. Vivi has known the truth about her family—and herself—since she was thirteen. But that doesn’t mean she’s accepted it. Being Haguari isn’t something she feels she’ll ever accept. How can she feel like anything but a freak knowing that it’s in her genes to turn into a jaguar? Now eighteen, Vivi’s ready to break away from the traditions of her heritage. But all of that changes with the shocking, devastating deaths of her parents and the mysteries left behind. Vivi discovers family she never even knew she had, and a life open with possibility. New friends, new loyalties, and even romance all lay ahead—but so do dangers unlike anything Vivi ever could have imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fantastic Diverse Paranormal
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
The heroine Vivi is a haguari, which means that she, like her parents can shapeshift into a jaguar. Unlike them, though, she sees this as a curse. All she wants is a normal life. This is trope number one, but I did really like the way Tiernan handled this. Rather than feeling like the stereotypical girl who resents being all powerful and gorgeous, her reasons are explained. During Vivi’s journey, she realizes that her resentment of her heritage is likely driven by not knowing there were people outside of her family with these powers. Basically, she’s lonely and has to be keep this secret from her best friend. Also, her parents shifting in front of her on her thirteenth birthday terrified her.

In the first chapter, her parents are brutally murdered on Vivi’s birthday (this girl must hate her birthday), their hearts cut out. This leaves Vivi even more alone surrounded by mysteries, like the apparent existence of another aunt her mother never mentioned. Curious and wanting to escape her hometown, with its memories of her parents’ deaths and an attempted break-in Vivi sets out on a road trip to New Orleans to find her Aunt Donella. She arrives to find that her Aunt is dead, but that her cousin Mateo and his girlfriend Aly live in her awesome old house with a bunch of friends who are also haguari.

This cast of characters is really well-drawn, and I found myself really liking the whole bunch, even the ones I wasn’t sold on at first. They’re diverse of race and of sexuality. Vivi herself is Brazilian, while her cousin is half-Brazilian/half-Irish. The entire cast has various backgrounds and I love love love how much more this reflects the world I grew up in than the average YA book. On top of that, among her friends in New Orleans there’s a gay couple and a lesbian couple. Her best friend Jennifer is gay as well. The best thing about all the diversity is that no one is token or stereotypical; they’re just themselves. For all that, I did make a face at the book when Vivi described herself as foreign and exotic-looking, but otherwise I thought the treatment of diversity was wonderful.

My favorite aspects of the story are those of her coming to terms with herself and making friends. Vivi’s taken a gap year, though she was planning to head across the country to college before her parents died. She moves to New Orleans spontaneously, with no desire to return to her hometown. She gets her first job. This is a new adult experience, though with paranormal trappings added on. She’s trying to figure out who she is and what she wants to do.

So far as the romance goes, I’m torn. There are two options on the table right now, both absurdly handsome. Her boss, Rafael, who’s got the typical paranormal love interest brooding thing going as well as the “I’m drawn to you but we can’t be together” thing. Then there’s Aly’s brother, Alex, who’s a playboy. I could potentially be okay with either one, but there’s not been enough development on either front for me to commit to a ship at this juncture. There is, however, one really steamy scene. Tiernan is excellent at those.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The paranormal plot line is fun, but a bit less fulfilling. There’s not as much resolution to Darkest Fear as I expect from the first installment of a series. I’m a big proponent of there being a completed plot arc to each book within the series and a larger arc running through the whole thing. Darkest Fear raises a number of different considerations: the murders, Vivi’s boss, the family book, Jennifer’s issues at college. None of these are resolved and the ending just kind of feels like jerking to a stop.

The Final Verdict:
Darkest Fear ranks pretty highly against the other paranormal novels I’ve read, and I really wish I had the sequel right now, because, as I said, there’s a lot left open and I must know what happens next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."