The Well's End (The Well's End #1)

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
2083 0
The Well's End (The Well's End #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 25, 2014
ISBN
0399159908
Buy This Book
      

A deadly virus and an impossible discovery unite in one enthralling can't-miss read... Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish's small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world's tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she's only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special. And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia's dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he's working for the government. But unless Mia's willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she's got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth. A high-stakes, fast-paced adventure with imagination and heart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Genrebending Fun
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
The Well’s End by Seth Fishman is rather an odd book, one that goes through several genre changes as you read through it. I know that’s something that doesn’t work for a lot of people, so I think this book will be pretty hit or miss with people. While I definitely liked the contemporary parts at the beginning best, I did enjoy the whole book quite a bit, and will definitely be curious about whatever Fishman writes next.

What impresses me most, I think, is the narrative voice. I found Mia to be really engaging and her voice kept me interested consistently. The author is male, but did a really fantastic job writing a believable female, without resorting to any nasty stereotypes. Mia’s highly intelligent, determined, and used to being a little bit invisible when not surrounded by a media circus wanting to know what it was like when she fell in a well as a child. She and her best friend, Jo, have a really healthy relationship, in which Mia doesn’t resent Jo for being more attractive or popular than she herself is. Sure, Mia occasionally wishes idly that she were a bit different, but she’s mostly cool with who she is, which is a pretty great attitude for a teenage girl.

The first hundred pages of the novel are straight up contemporary novel. Mia attends a boarding school for the genius children of the wealthy. Even the guys who act like the usual popular idiots I know from my time in high school have major skills. They also party hard and sneak around to have sex. At first, it’s just your usual sexy, smart boarding school book, which was totally fun.

Then there’s the first change, which I’ll tell you about, because it’s right there in the blurb and on the book cover. In the middle of a normal school day, there’s an announcement to leave class for an assembly. They’re told they’re on quarantine and that classes are cancelled for the rest of the day (though hopefully the time lost will be made up by class on Sunday, because apparently this high school is the worst). A virus has broken out and they’re all in danger of disgusting death. On top of that, soldiers in hazmat suits are surrounding the place and totally willing to shoot anyone who tries to leave. So yeah, it’s a real mess of a Friday.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I don’t want to get into what happens from that point too much because of spoilers, so I’ll offer some general reflections. One thing I really liked is the depths given to a number of the students, particularly those of whom Mia had initially judgmental. The Well’s End is very much a book about how much can be lurking under the surface of someone. The romance was mostly annoying, but I was okay with the way that Fishman made it work in the end. Some of the plot points were a bit too confusing/crazy for me, but overall I was more entertained than staring at the book going “are you for real right now?”

The Final Verdict:
If you’re up for some genrebending, then The Well’s End is a fast-paced book that’s pretty unique. Science fiction and contemporary themes combine into a thrilling attempt at survival.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."