16 Things I Thought Were True

FeaturedHot
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
4504 1
16 Things I Thought Were True
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 04, 2014
ISBN
978-1402277979
Buy This Book
      

Heart attacks happen to other people #thingsIthoughtweretrue

When Morgan's mom gets sick, it's hard not to panic. Without her mother, she would have no one—until she finds out the dad who walked out on her as a baby isn't as far away as she thought...

Adam is a stuck-up, uptight jerk #thingsIthoughtweretrue

Now that they have a summer job together, Morgan's getting to know the real Adam, and he's actually pretty sweet...in a nerdy-hot kind of way. He even offers to go with her to find her dad.

Road trip, anyone? 5000 Twitter followers are all the friends I need #thingsIthoughtweretrue

With Adam in the back seat, a hyper chatterbox named Amy behind the wheel, and plenty of Cheetos to fuel their trip, Morgan feels ready for anything. She's not expecting a flat tire, a missed ferry, a fake girlfriend...and that these two people she barely knew before the summer started will become the people she can't imagine living without.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

I'm a Bit Twitterpated with this One
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
The core concept of #16thingsithoughtweretrue is right there in the title of the book. Morgan’s been living her life in such a way as to not get burned again. She already felt inferior because her father, whose name she doesn’t even know, abandoned her before she was even born. Add to that the embarrassing video her supposed best friend Lexi posted of Morgan wearing tighty whities and dancing to LMFAO’s “Sexy and I Know It” and Morgan’s a mess. She’s pushing everyone away in an effort to spare herself rejection or betrayal.

The things Morgan thought were true are varied in both gravitas and subject. Actually, I am all for this hashtag. Life really does feel like a constant process of learning how wrong you are about things, in both good and bad ways. You might learn, like Morgan does, that more people will like you if you embrace who you are instead of being bristly so they don’t get the chance to reject you. (I’ve been there myself.) You might also learn that terrible things do happen to good people for no damn reason. A lot of the things Morgan learns in #16thingsithoughtweretrue are things I’ve had to learn myself, and it’s an ever-ongoing process. I think the hashtag is an apt and appropriate way to sum up the way life surprises you as you grow.

Another significant aspect of #16thingsithoughtweretrue is first impressions. This may not be Pride & Prejudice, but Austen and Gurtler have a similar interest in this subject. Morgan may not always have been the type to make snap judgments about people, but she definitely is now. Throughout the course of #16thingsithoughtweretrue she has to reevaluate pretty much everyone in her life. No matter how well you know someone, there’s always more to them than you knew, like her parents and twin brothers. In addition, there are her coworkers, Adam and Amy, both of whom she thought she had pegged, but she’s oh so wrong. I think this aspect of her character will annoy some readers, but it’s also very realistic to me.

In accordance with learning to look past first impressions, Morgan learns about friendship over this very brief period. Though she was no stranger to friends in the past, she’s pretty jaded at the novel’s opening. Lexi’s betrayal on top of her fear that she’s ultimately not lovable has made Morgan averse to trust. Amy and Adam both sort of force their way into Morgan’s life. One of my favorite non-romantic tropes is when people from different social spheres or backgrounds are forced to interact and bond, which played out really well here.

The cast is really delightful. The heroine, Morgan, is flawed but charming enough that I couldn’t not root for her. Amy manages to be both deeply annoying and utterly charming, which sums her up in a nutshell, I think. She never stops talking, despite the number of times she puts her foot in her mouth. Obnoxious as that can be, she’s so genuine and caring that you can’t help falling for her. Adam is an adorable nerd boy with glasses, of which there are not enough in fiction. Just saying.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I have two criticisms, however. The writing is at times a bit stilted. Sadly, I failed to note a page number for this, but there were several times something just felt wrong and threw me out of the text. The other problem is the editing. Sourcebooks needed to give this another read through before final publication, because I noted multiple issues and I was not reading closely. There was a repeated word in one place, and at the very end the word “discrete” is used in place of “discreet.” I’m used to looking past such problems in ARCs, but since this is a finished copy, I need to note it.

The Final Verdict:
Janet Gurtler’s contemporary novels focus on family and friendship, with adorable romances to boot, based on my experience. #16thingsithoughtweretrue fits this mold, and is a delightful read. I highly recommend Gurtler’s novels to those who like to watch a flawed protagonist grow and learn or those who like nerdy boys with glasses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 Things I Thought Were True
(Updated: February 18, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I'm a huge fan of Janet Gurtler's contemporary YA novels. Her latest 16 Things I Thought Were True shows us Morgan who is horrified after a video of her dancing in boy's undies surfaces. Then she gets a text from her twin brothers that her mother is in the hospital with heart problems. Morgan is obsessed with getting 5K followers on Twitter and usually only communicates with her twitter friends. But life happens and her mother 'reveals' the name of her biological father before a surgery. Before Morgan knows it she finds herself on a road trip with her boss Adam and chatter box Amy. Morgan learns that maybe 'real' friends are closer than she thought.

What worked: Once again Gurtler has a winner! Loved the writing style that shows us a heroine that hides behind her Twitter account when a video leaks out. Morgan might come across to some as cold and indifferent but I thought this was only her way of protecting herself from being hurt. It's easier to have so-called popularity with thousands of twitter friends but harder to open up to someone close by.

The road trip was fun too. So many reveals which include such things as Amy not being exactly honest about being poor. Adam also has his own secret too.

The title is based on a real Twitter hashtag. I love how Gurtler used Twitter and not FB as most teens(well, the ones I know and son hangs with) don't use that site as much anymore. The texting was right on too.

Janet Gurtler is the YA answer to Jodi Picoult. She breathes life into each of her characters. The ending took my off guard. Make sure to have a tissue close at hand!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Download music 0day mp3 new
0day Music premium Private FTP MasterCard, cashU, Banks, Paypal Download Music free FTP
Deep-house, House, Disco-House Archive 199x-2014 Music DOWNLOAD HOUSE - PROGRESSIVE HOUSE - TRANCE
Private ftp password username Maestro Bank transfer Warez Music Private FTP packages contain
club mix, DJ, DJs, Clubs club, Electro Mix Download 0day Music Premium 0day download 0day mp3 traks songs
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."