The Living (The Living #1)

Hot
 
3.3 (2)
 
1.0 (1)
4188 0
The Living
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 12, 2013
ISBN
1480524360
Buy This Book
      
Shy takes the summer job to make some money. A few months on a luxury cruise liner — how bad can it be? Bikinis, free food, maybe even a girl or two . . . there’s always going to be a fresh crop of passengers, after all. He’ll rake in the tips and be able to help his mom with the bills. But then an earthquake more massive than any ever recorded hits California, and Shy’s life is changed forever. The earthquake is only the beginning. Twenty-four hours and a catastrophic chain of events later, Shy is lost at sea, fighting to survive — and stuck with her. She’s blond and she’s rich, and never in her life would she have dreamed she’d be adrift in the Pacific Ocean, surrounded by death and completely dependent on a guy like Shy. And Shy hasn’t even faced the worst yet.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

You'll never want to take a cruise again
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:
The apocalyptic genre is one of my favorite when it comes to books and movies, so I knew this novel would appeal to me. THE LIVING reads like an action movie with high-stakes situations and non-stop suspense.

The author writes action sequences so well. When the cruise ship the narrator, Shy, is on is in danger, I could not stop turning the pages. The tension was so well done and the author doesn't shy away from showing the terrifying and gruesome parts of a disaster. I could vividly picture what was happening to the ship because the imagery was so clear.

I don't often read YA novels with a male narrator. I liked how Shy was an average teenager. He thinks about girls a lot, but he's also dedicated to his family and friends.

What Left Me Wanting More:
There are a lot of elements at play here: an apocalyptic situation, survival story, medical thriller, even a bit of contemporary romance. At times, it felt a little too overwhelming; these different parts, rather than blend together into one story, made it seem like a million different stories were put together into one. It felt a bit discordant to me.

The Final Verdict:
THE LIVING has the cinematic feel of an action movie paired with a realistic male narrator that will have readers racing through every page.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Reads Like a Blockbuster Movie
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A non- stop action adventure story, The Living, kept me on the edge of my seat. The best part of The Living is its interesting blend of genres; survival fiction, apocalyptic-natural disaster, mystery, and a little medical thriller.

The story builds quickly after the initial exposition. I found myself sitting down and reading the entire book in one day. Matt de la Pena does such am incredible job with the entire plot it reads like an action movie.The success of this book is that he is able to weave serious issues into a novel that moves at the pace of a Blockbuster action movie. Matt de la Pena writes about mixed race identity and class issues which makes The Living an insightful and relatable story beyond the survival tale.

The Living takes place in present day, Shy takes a summer job on a cruise line so he can help his family out with medical bills back home in California. Once things start to go wrong on the cruise ship it doesn't stop. Death is constantly knocking on the door. The first death occurs in the prologue and the body count just increases from there. Matt de la Pena is definitely a master at plot twists.

The last fifteen or so pages is a perfect set-up for the next book in the series. Although the ending leaves me wanting more- it is completely understandable and makes you want found out and grab the next book. De la Pena will catch off-guard as you read his well placed and exhilarating twists and turns.

The Living is a series and after reading the first book and I can't wait to see where the story goes next! There are so many possibilities. Looking forward to its sequel,The Hunted out in the Fall of 2014.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0  (1)
Characters 
 
1.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
1.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
One of the worst books of all time.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
This book is full of terrible clichés, and is a complete ripoff of the titanic, and many other disaster books. The writing is mediocre, and the plot is terrible.
Good Points
There was some suspense, thrill, the characters were decent at best.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."