Never Too Late (Flirt)

Featured
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2724 0
Never Too Late (Flirt)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 04, 2014
ISBN
1442484039
Buy This Book
      

Can acting in love lead to the real thing? This standalone addition to the Flirt series is sweet, fresh, and clean. Abbey couldn’t be more excited. The end of the school year is coming, as is the annual sophomore class renaissance faire…and the headlining theatrical performance, where Abbey will be starring as a lead. There’s only one problem: her costar, Jason Hardy. Everyone else might think Jason is perfect, but Abbey knows the truth. She remembers what he did at the school dance, and she knows he’s a total jerk. But during the daily rehearsals, Abbey starts to see a side to Jason she hadn’t noticed before...and he might not be as bad as she thought. Each day she’s falling for him just a little bit more, and she thinks maybe Jason feels the same. Or maybe he’s a better actor than Abbey could have guessed.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Adorable and fun read!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Delightfully cute, romantic and sweet, this book is a great ready for young YA readers (and even older ones) who enjoy a clean read!

What I loved:

Abbey is completely relate able as a sophomore in high school dealing with the typical high school issues. She is the lead in the sophomore play for the end-of-year faire that is held every year and finds herself having to play the lead across from Jason, a boy she cannot stand. Abbey is sweet, kind, yet will stand up for herself when needed. Jason said some mean things about her last year and she struggles with forgiving him for that. I really enjoyed reading their characters. I thought their relationship was sweet, realistic and yes, even romantic. While Abbey struggles with her feelings for Jason, she must also hide her feelings from her best friend (who has a crush on Jason!). How many times does that happen? All the time! However, I really appreciated how the girls dealt with their friendship while both having feelings for the same boy.

I loved Jason's character. He is charming, funny, and very sweet. At first we see him through Abbey's eyes and he can be a jerk. But as we get to know him, we realize he was just giving into the real peer pressures of high school, and he's actually a great guy.

I just really loved how easy this book was to read. A quick, fun, feel good read for romance lovers!

What left me wanting more:

As an older YA reader, I did find it hard to really appreciate Abbey and Jason's feelings because they are so young and just starting to deal with this feelings. However, that is just an age issue for me, and I was still able to thoroughly enjoy the book!

I would love to read more on Abbey and Jason as they go through high school. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sweet and Clean
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

In a sea of hot and swoony contemporary romances, NEVER TOO LATE brings a touch of sweetness that is perfect for younger YA readers or those who prefer sweet romances with a low heat level and no profanity. The situations faced by Abbey, the heroine, ring true for teens (insecurity, arguments with her best friend, and uncertainty in how to navigate her first serious romantic relationship) and find a hopeful resolution. The conflict, while realistic and painful for the heroine, avoids the darker themes of some contemporary romances--perfect for those who want a lighter story.

The relationship between Abbey and her best friend Olivia feels authentic, and their conflict (and the ways they handle that conflict) will ring true for many readers. Abbey is a rare heroine in that she is well-grounded with strong friendships and a good relationship with her family. The hero, Jason, also has strong friendships and a good relationship with his family. All in all, the characters felt like a slice of normal life which, in turn, made the difficulties of navigating a first romantic relationship feel like a glimpse of normal first love as well.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Much of this story depends on heavy exposition--long passages explaining every nuance of how the heroine feels or unpacking an encounter with the hero and parsing it out. Instead of showing the character growth and the romantic tension through dialogue and body language/body reactions, the reader is told that feelings are developing. This actually made it much harder to connect with both the main characters and the romantic relationship. It's harder to feel something for a couple when all a reader has to go on is being told what those feelings are.

At times, the heroine sounded old-fashioned, using words like tomfoolery or doofy or phrases that sounded more like a teen from several decades ago than a modern YA reader. For some readers, that may pull them out of the story, whereas for readers who enjoy old-fashioned, sweet romance, this story may be exactly what they're looking for.

Final Verdict:

Younger YA readers or those who enjoy sweet romances will enjoy NEVER TOO LATE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."