Timestorm (Tempest #3)

 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
2768 0
Timestorm (Tempest #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 28, 2014
ISBN
9780312568917
Buy This Book
      
The battle between the Tempest division and Eyewall comes to a shocking conclusion in this final installment of the Tempest trilogy, where the need for survival stretches the boundaries of history, both past and future, and the world Jackson once knew is a place forever marked by the detrimental effects of time travel. As Jackson recovers from his brush with death, he’s surrounded not only by the people he loves most—his dad, Courtney, and Holly—he’s also amongst a few of the original time travelers. As he learns more about their life and how this world began, it becomes apparent that they need to put a stop to Thomas and Doctor Ludwig’s experimenting at Eyewall Headquarters. What starts out as an escape plan becomes a war between time and humanity, between freewill and peace. It’s the battle Jackson was born to fight and he’s not about to back down. Not for anything. Not for anyone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A great ending to a unique and complex story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved: Cross really sold me on Jackson’s character in this last installment. I already liked him from the beginning, but just seeing him shine through in Timestorm, and being with him as he put all the puzzle pieces together was great. I’m also a major fan of Blake. He plays a key role in this book and it was cool getting to know him more and see how his part in all this played out. As far as the plot progression, it definitely picked up more so in this book than it did in Vortex, so I’m happy for that. The ending was quite a whirlwind and I really didn’t know how Cross was going to fix all the damage that time traveling caused the Earth. This book definitely riled a lot more emotions in me than I was expecting and I loved that it did that.

Left Me Wanting More: I’ll admit, parts of the story still had me confused at times (maybe I’m just not paying enough attention to the details), but that’s really just my own fault. Cross does write a compelling story. I also didn’t really care for Holly and Jackson’s relationship in this book. I was rooting for them since the beginning, but it waned a bit in Vortex and some weird things happened to them in this book that just made their relationship seem forced. Sure, in the end, the sweet factor was played up and I could see the couple I saw in the beginning, but through most of the book, the romance wasn’t there at all.

Final Verdict: Timestorm was definitely the ending I was hoping for. While I may have been lost a few times and things went just a little too outside my reach, I still respected what Cross wrote and appreciated her story. Her characters were excellent and that ending was just plain perfect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great finale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was a little bit hesitant to read this book – I loved the series so much and when I would read this, that world would end. Cross gave such a good end to the series in Timestorm. The first half of the book had Jackson and the group trapped in the year 3200 with no way out. They begin to learn about the past (or in this case, the future) of the scientific progress that led to the manifestation of Tempest gene and the repercussions of that, through one of the original time-travelers, Blake. Jackson and Holly are still part-enemies-part-something and the chemistry between them is alive as ever. We also have Courtney for real here, and get to see hers and Jackson’s adorable sibling love. Though slow-paced in the start, things get amped up halfway through the book, when they realize all those time jumps by the travelers across the two alternate universes has caused major problems in the present world. I wouldn’t mention the ending because that would be too much of a spoiler. ;) I did, however, feel that the end of Eyewall was done rather easily – considering they appear only towards the end of the book. I get that there were other dire circumstances, but what exactly were they up-to in the meanwhile?

The writing was spectacular as ever – with Jackson such a great protagonist to view through. His personal decisions are always based on protecting the ones he loves, and because of this he once again fights against being in love with Holly because for her, he is a stranger. The other interesting story is that of Blake, who had such a beautiful and bittersweet story. He squashed the idea that the full time travelers were made of hard logic and incapable of full human emotions. Holly is marvelous, in any version but of course, her world A version was bad-ass. The plot had a lot of things going on, with the reveal about the formation of Eyewall and Tempest. The action, in this book, was lacking though – after the first two books, this one seemed a bit of a disappointment in that department. It was a great book but fell short from Vortex-level awesomeness.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."