Let the Sky Fall (Sky Fall #1)

 
5.0
 
4.2 (2)
1517 1
Let the Sky Fall (Sky Fall #1)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 05, 2013
ISBN
978-1442450417
Buy This Book
      
A broken past and a divided future can’t stop the electric connection of two teens in this “charged and romantic” (Becca Fitzpatrick), lush novel. Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is. Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life. When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Completely Compelling
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

This book is impossible to put down. The individual voices of Vane and Audra are distinct and fascinating. Vane sounds like a teenage boy, and his head is an entertaining place to be. Readers will feel strongly connected to him and will want him to figure out his secrets and master his power before it's too late. Audra is wounded and driven, and her head is an equally interesting place to be. Readers will enjoy getting past her guards and will fear the ultimate sacrifice she's willing to make. Each main character shoulders equal weight in the story, and the stakes for both of them are incredibly high. The slowly developing romance between them lends a sweet tension to a story that is already fraught with tension. Readers who love action-packed suspense with a nice side of romance will love this book.

The supernatural elements (wind beings and wind language) are exceptionally well done. The world building is solid, and readers are immediately immersed in this world without feeling any sense of disorientation. The wind language and the weapons that can be formed with it add excitement and drama to the suspenseful story. Readers will feel at home with this world and will be excited to return to it in the sequels.

The plot is unrelenting, the villain is scary, and the stakes are high. When you add in two very different but likable characters and a romance that readers will cheer for, you had a book that will keep readers turning pages long past bed time.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Nothing. I simply want the sequel. Immediately.

Final Verdict:

An action-packed story with fascinating characters, heartwarming romance, and epic stakes set against the backdrop of the magical world of wind will have readers desperate for the sequel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great on the paranormal, not so much on romance
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was interested in Let the Sky Fall because it brought something new to the table – elementals are not really that common in paranormal YA and this was the first book on sylphs I heard about. The part of the book that really pulled me in was the sylphs. Mystical creatures, non-human but appearing human and able to talk to the wind and bend it to their will – yep, it was good! Then there were the four tribes – Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western, each with their own languages for their respective wind ties. Combining the winds has awesome effects but you need to know the languages. Now, Vane who is a Westerly, is under Witness Protection (something like that) with Audra assigned as his Guardian (as in bodyguard, not parent), to protect from the Stormers, who want the secrets of his language.

The plotline was good, not really unpredictable but engaging enough. The writing supplemented the feel of the story, neatly explaining breakthroughs, listening to the wind – it all seemed so lively and wonderful. The dual POV was distinct enough to define the characters in your mind and even works quite well for the story, and the voice for each lends beauty to the storyline. Vane is this pampered, lazy boy who has it tough with girls – he can get them to go out with them, but somehow his dates always end in disasters. Audra is the tough girl type – whose childhood has been spent watching over Vane, and guilt over her mistakes. Being in the Gale Force means she has made a lot of sacrifices and in the beginning she resents him for the easy life he has led in ignorance. When they meet, it is like sparks – literally – but she is keeping her distance and he is being hormonal (dude, seriously!). No, really – their love story didn’t really convince me, even if they had their connection or whatever. It just felt more like physical attraction than real feelings, which didn’t come until towards the ending of the book. Maybe that was the thing that felt a little off for me while reading the book.

The ending was quite surprising, considering most of the book was predictable and I quite appreciated how Audra made up her mind at the end of the book. It totally made up for the over-the-top romance at the start of the book. Quite an enjoyable read and looking forward to picking up the next one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome title for the book :)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The cover is beautiful and I just loved the title, it fit nicely with the story. I thought Shannon Messenger gave Vane and Audra voices that were realistic and believable considering the events that take place. All the characters relationships worked well together. We got to see Vane grow and get stronger in the way he handled things, he pushed through even when he wanted to give up. Audra appeared strong and fearless at first but through Vane we got to see a girl who has grown up in guilt over something that really wasn’t her fault. Overall, the story is a fun quick read with romance, mystery and action. I look forward to seeing where this story will go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."