Diamonds and Deceit (At Somerton #2)

Diamonds and Deceit (At Somerton #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
978-1423171188
Buy This Book
      
A house divided... London is a whirl of balls and teas, alliances and rivalries. Rose has never felt more out of place. With the Season in full swing, she can't help but still feel a servant dressed up in diamonds and silk. Then Rose meets Alexander Ross, a young Scottish duke. Rose has heard the rumors about Ross's sordid past just like everyone else has. Yet he alone treats her as a friend. Rose knows better than to give her heart to an aristocrat with such a reputation, but it may be too late. Ada should be happy. She is engaged to a handsome man who shares her political passions and has promised to support her education. So why does she feel hollow inside? Even if she hated Lord Fintan, she would have no choice but to go through with the marriage. Every day a new credit collector knocks on the door of their London flat, demanding payment for her cousin William's expenditures. Her father's heir seems determined to bring her family to ruin, and only a brilliant marriage can save Somerton Court and the Averleys' reputation. Meanwhile, at Somerton, Sebastian is out of his mind with worry for his former valet Oliver, who refuses to plead innocent to the murder charges against him--for a death caused by Sebastian himself. Sebastian will do whatever he can to help the boy he loves, but his indiscretion is dangerous fodder for a reporter with sharp eyes and dishonorable intentions. The colorful cast of the At Somerton series returns in this enthralling sequel about class and fortune, trust and betrayal, love and revenge.

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot
 
3.0(1)
Characters
 
3.0(1)
Writing Style
 
3.0(1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
For fans of The Luxe series and Jane Austen
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
This is going to be a really hard review for me to write. I read this book over a month ago and did not take notes. I also did not review it right away, and now I'm stuck. It's hard to recall everything that I liked about it. Therefore, this review will be short and sweet and to the point.

Why this worked for me: If you are a fan of Jane Austen anything, you'll enjoy this series. It's JA meets The Luxe series. The characters are a mixture of catty and enigmatic. The boys are dreamy with a touch of richy-rich arrogance. Don't fret, it's not overpowering. This book is full of misunderstandings and romance. Rose and Alexander are pretty great on their own. Together, they are better.

The summary hints at Sebastian's story, but he played a very small role in this book. I wish there was more that focused on his situation, but it's apparent that will be in the next book. We will also learn of Ada's outcome in the next book. The finale should be full of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0