The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
2610 0
The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 28, 2014
ISBN
0373210922
Buy This Book
      

Magic was seeping out of me, black and agonizing. I could see it drifting away. The magic that would let me pass the Road to reach home again.

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equalled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen's mantle herself.

Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home. But her journey is doomed to be more harrowing than she ever could have imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow to Start but Worth It in the End
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
Having really enjoyed Cayla Kluver's Legacy trilogy, I was really curious about The Queen's Choice. Still, I was hesitant. Faeries aren't really my fantasy creature of choice and it sounded like it would be a paranormal romance, which tends to end poorly for me quite often. That The Queen's Choice surprised me is an understatement. This is fantasy, straight up and jam-packed with world building. Kluver's The Queen's Choice takes a long time to find its stride, but the shocking ending has me ready for more.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Guys, I'm not going to lie to you: this book is SLOW. The first sixty pages are pretty engaging, but then from page 60 to somewhere around 350, the book languishes. That's a lot of pages with just world building and writing to sustain the reader. I'm not a world building-driven reader, so, while I like it, if that's ALL that's happening, I'm getting bored. The plot starts out with a bang but then nothing much really happens with it for 300 pages. It's rough to get through and there's a lot that could have been trimmed from this set up or better integrated into the plot.

More Things I Liked:
However, I'm glad I made it through all of that slowness, because, at the end, things get very dark and surprising. Essentially, Kluver's ability to pull the rug out from under me as I read is the common factor in why I've really enjoyed her books. Authors who can do a twist that I'm not expecting and actually like are fairly few. The Queen's Choice has a landscape of characters and motivations that is hard to parse, while being quite well done. Kluver loves to do terrible things to their feelings and, oh, I love that.

Seriously, the world building in this book is boss. I don't think I've ever seen faeries done so intensely and without a romantic focus. The faeries and humans basically share the planet. Ages ago there was this war and the humans won, despite the fact that faeries can fly and connect to nature (they have elemental powers sort of like they're benders from Avatar, but not quite). The faeries, in an effort to save their people, used magic to seal the border to their diminished lands. Humans cannot enter Chrior, the faerie kingdom, because anyone without magic who tries to cross the Bloody Road will die.

Humans and faeries mistrust and hate one another, both believing the other to be lesser. The xenophobia between these cultures is the main theme of the novel. Anyway, in power in both the human kingdom and the faerie one are rulers who want to promote friendship between the two nations. However, the Queen is dying and her son is missing, leaving a niece who hates humans next in line for succession. In both the human world and the faerie world, forces are fighting both for and against unification. It is a time of strife, my friends.

The characters, much like the plot, take a backseat to the world building for a long time. However, by the end, I was pretty interested in what Anya was up to. The scene stealer is definitely the missing Prince Zabriel and the adorable cop, Tom Matlock (this name, though, what is up with it?). Some things that I like about the characterization of The Queen's Choice: first impressions are often deceiving, everyone has complex motivations, and there are a lot of powerful women. Oh, it also had some hints of being sex-positive.

When I think Harlequin, I generally expect that romance will be a factor, but The Queen's Choice falls into the diversification of the Harlequin label. There is some romance in here, but not enough that I would even call it a theme. There are just a couple of scenes and they in no way define anyone. Romance was pretty crucial in the Legacy trilogy, so this is a big departure from what happened before.

The Final Verdict:
The Queen's Choice is fantasy done right, albeit with a LOT of detail. Readers who really appreciate world building will definitely want to check this one out. Patient readers will probably end up finding this one worthwhile, even if world building isn't your favorite aspect of novels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."