The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
2567 0
The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 28, 2014
ISBN
0373210922
Buy This Book
      

Magic was seeping out of me, black and agonizing. I could see it drifting away. The magic that would let me pass the Road to reach home again.

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equalled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen's mantle herself.

Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home. But her journey is doomed to be more harrowing than she ever could have imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow to Start but Worth It in the End
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
Having really enjoyed Cayla Kluver's Legacy trilogy, I was really curious about The Queen's Choice. Still, I was hesitant. Faeries aren't really my fantasy creature of choice and it sounded like it would be a paranormal romance, which tends to end poorly for me quite often. That The Queen's Choice surprised me is an understatement. This is fantasy, straight up and jam-packed with world building. Kluver's The Queen's Choice takes a long time to find its stride, but the shocking ending has me ready for more.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Guys, I'm not going to lie to you: this book is SLOW. The first sixty pages are pretty engaging, but then from page 60 to somewhere around 350, the book languishes. That's a lot of pages with just world building and writing to sustain the reader. I'm not a world building-driven reader, so, while I like it, if that's ALL that's happening, I'm getting bored. The plot starts out with a bang but then nothing much really happens with it for 300 pages. It's rough to get through and there's a lot that could have been trimmed from this set up or better integrated into the plot.

More Things I Liked:
However, I'm glad I made it through all of that slowness, because, at the end, things get very dark and surprising. Essentially, Kluver's ability to pull the rug out from under me as I read is the common factor in why I've really enjoyed her books. Authors who can do a twist that I'm not expecting and actually like are fairly few. The Queen's Choice has a landscape of characters and motivations that is hard to parse, while being quite well done. Kluver loves to do terrible things to their feelings and, oh, I love that.

Seriously, the world building in this book is boss. I don't think I've ever seen faeries done so intensely and without a romantic focus. The faeries and humans basically share the planet. Ages ago there was this war and the humans won, despite the fact that faeries can fly and connect to nature (they have elemental powers sort of like they're benders from Avatar, but not quite). The faeries, in an effort to save their people, used magic to seal the border to their diminished lands. Humans cannot enter Chrior, the faerie kingdom, because anyone without magic who tries to cross the Bloody Road will die.

Humans and faeries mistrust and hate one another, both believing the other to be lesser. The xenophobia between these cultures is the main theme of the novel. Anyway, in power in both the human kingdom and the faerie one are rulers who want to promote friendship between the two nations. However, the Queen is dying and her son is missing, leaving a niece who hates humans next in line for succession. In both the human world and the faerie world, forces are fighting both for and against unification. It is a time of strife, my friends.

The characters, much like the plot, take a backseat to the world building for a long time. However, by the end, I was pretty interested in what Anya was up to. The scene stealer is definitely the missing Prince Zabriel and the adorable cop, Tom Matlock (this name, though, what is up with it?). Some things that I like about the characterization of The Queen's Choice: first impressions are often deceiving, everyone has complex motivations, and there are a lot of powerful women. Oh, it also had some hints of being sex-positive.

When I think Harlequin, I generally expect that romance will be a factor, but The Queen's Choice falls into the diversification of the Harlequin label. There is some romance in here, but not enough that I would even call it a theme. There are just a couple of scenes and they in no way define anyone. Romance was pretty crucial in the Legacy trilogy, so this is a big departure from what happened before.

The Final Verdict:
The Queen's Choice is fantasy done right, albeit with a LOT of detail. Readers who really appreciate world building will definitely want to check this one out. Patient readers will probably end up finding this one worthwhile, even if world building isn't your favorite aspect of novels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."