The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
2725 0
The Queen's Choice (Heirs of Chrior #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
January 28, 2014
ISBN
0373210922
Buy This Book
      

Magic was seeping out of me, black and agonizing. I could see it drifting away. The magic that would let me pass the Road to reach home again.

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equalled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen's mantle herself.

Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home. But her journey is doomed to be more harrowing than she ever could have imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow to Start but Worth It in the End
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
Having really enjoyed Cayla Kluver's Legacy trilogy, I was really curious about The Queen's Choice. Still, I was hesitant. Faeries aren't really my fantasy creature of choice and it sounded like it would be a paranormal romance, which tends to end poorly for me quite often. That The Queen's Choice surprised me is an understatement. This is fantasy, straight up and jam-packed with world building. Kluver's The Queen's Choice takes a long time to find its stride, but the shocking ending has me ready for more.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Guys, I'm not going to lie to you: this book is SLOW. The first sixty pages are pretty engaging, but then from page 60 to somewhere around 350, the book languishes. That's a lot of pages with just world building and writing to sustain the reader. I'm not a world building-driven reader, so, while I like it, if that's ALL that's happening, I'm getting bored. The plot starts out with a bang but then nothing much really happens with it for 300 pages. It's rough to get through and there's a lot that could have been trimmed from this set up or better integrated into the plot.

More Things I Liked:
However, I'm glad I made it through all of that slowness, because, at the end, things get very dark and surprising. Essentially, Kluver's ability to pull the rug out from under me as I read is the common factor in why I've really enjoyed her books. Authors who can do a twist that I'm not expecting and actually like are fairly few. The Queen's Choice has a landscape of characters and motivations that is hard to parse, while being quite well done. Kluver loves to do terrible things to their feelings and, oh, I love that.

Seriously, the world building in this book is boss. I don't think I've ever seen faeries done so intensely and without a romantic focus. The faeries and humans basically share the planet. Ages ago there was this war and the humans won, despite the fact that faeries can fly and connect to nature (they have elemental powers sort of like they're benders from Avatar, but not quite). The faeries, in an effort to save their people, used magic to seal the border to their diminished lands. Humans cannot enter Chrior, the faerie kingdom, because anyone without magic who tries to cross the Bloody Road will die.

Humans and faeries mistrust and hate one another, both believing the other to be lesser. The xenophobia between these cultures is the main theme of the novel. Anyway, in power in both the human kingdom and the faerie one are rulers who want to promote friendship between the two nations. However, the Queen is dying and her son is missing, leaving a niece who hates humans next in line for succession. In both the human world and the faerie world, forces are fighting both for and against unification. It is a time of strife, my friends.

The characters, much like the plot, take a backseat to the world building for a long time. However, by the end, I was pretty interested in what Anya was up to. The scene stealer is definitely the missing Prince Zabriel and the adorable cop, Tom Matlock (this name, though, what is up with it?). Some things that I like about the characterization of The Queen's Choice: first impressions are often deceiving, everyone has complex motivations, and there are a lot of powerful women. Oh, it also had some hints of being sex-positive.

When I think Harlequin, I generally expect that romance will be a factor, but The Queen's Choice falls into the diversification of the Harlequin label. There is some romance in here, but not enough that I would even call it a theme. There are just a couple of scenes and they in no way define anyone. Romance was pretty crucial in the Legacy trilogy, so this is a big departure from what happened before.

The Final Verdict:
The Queen's Choice is fantasy done right, albeit with a LOT of detail. Readers who really appreciate world building will definitely want to check this one out. Patient readers will probably end up finding this one worthwhile, even if world building isn't your favorite aspect of novels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."