Champion ( Legend #3)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (2)
1244 2
Champion ( Legend #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 05, 2013
ISBN
978-0399256776
Buy This Book
      
Who will be Champion? June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I Just Can't
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
WARNING! THIS REVIEW WILL BE A SPOILERY MESS!!!!!! If you want a non-spoilery review, wait until this weekend when I review the entire series!!!!!

10 YEARS! 10 BLEEPING YEARS!!!!!!! Are you trying to kill me? The last fourth of the book or so was extremely tense and I had so many bad scenarios playing through my head. While it didn't go as horribly as some of the scenarios played out, I just, I can't even. I am sobbing my eyes out right now. I get the endings where the characters pretend to start over or something, but this was TOO MUCH!!!! Just kill me know, I swear. Also, I'm typing this review up at 11:00 at night because I will get no sleep until I do. *takes a deep breath*

The story is dual POV between June and Day. June is awesome and kick butt and, after what she pulled at the end, I want to kick HER butt. That said, she is seriously and awesome protagonist. She's lost her entire family, but she still gets back up. She sacrifices so much for everyone else, especially Day, very rarely thinking about her own good. Seriously, those sacrifices lead to over 10 years of heartbreak. 10 YEARS! (And no, I won't stop obsessing over that) Day is the male protagonist. I can't even. Why Marie Lu? WHY? His character is sweet and nice and awesome and amazing and then BOOM, gone! I can feel my heart breaking. Yes, the ending and their interaction is sweet, but did you have to torture June for so long? Other characters include Eden, who is Day's younger brother. He is the epitome of adorable. There's Tess, who, again, cute as can be. We really meet Anden in this book, the leader of the country. I really like his character, and while he's not necessarily my favorite, I would have shed a tear were he to die.

GAH!!!!!! I am broken, do you hear me, BROKEN! The book was so tense. There was limited romance, due to the end of book two. There was really only one major romantic scene, but that one scene, SWOON! I really wish we had more romantic moments between June and Day. Also, if you're one of those people who don't read epilogues, read this one! The action was intense and nonstop. It was fight scene after fight scene at some parts. The search for the cure to the plague was a main part of the story, and for all the hype around it, I wish it'd had a bigger effect. Also, how they figured it out, SO called it! No one gets sick for no reason, I tell you. Again, I repeat, 10 YEARS!!!! I will not get over that any time soon, but writing this out has really helped. Despite the pain and heartache, or maybe because of it, this book definitely gets five stars. Check back this weekend for a review of the entire series! Now, excuse me while I go conk out. *falls asleep*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
The final book of the Legend series does not disappoint
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The final book of the Legend series does not disappoint. Lu has once again been able to keep this book as fast-paced as the previous two, in fact I think she might of even kicked it up a notch. I was very glad that I had reserved an entire afternoon to read this book instead of how I usually read books which is a couple of chapters every night before I go to bed. I think if I had done that I would have been up at 3am refusing to put it down until I had finished it.

Lu is able to perfect the fine balance between exploring the relationship between Day & June and keeping the characters focusing on the life-threatening events going on around them. Therefore, this book should pleased readers from both the romance-focused and the action-focused camps, without alienating either.

This book is a quick read, approx. 4 hours, but so many events are packed into that time. Lu is able to tie up threads from the previous two books, including some threads you never knew were there, without making anything feel rushed or barely explained. She also expands the world she has created by expanding the events to include Antartica. Never before have I wanted so badly to visit a place that when I stopped and thought about it really replused me. Still a couple of weeks there would be really fun as long as I never let myself think about the long-term effects of living in that kind of society.

The Legend series can be read on so many different levels – first as a gripping, action-packed adventure in a dystopian world, but also secondly as a stark reflection of today’s world. So many nations that are familar to us today can be seen in this novel – a little exagerated to be sure, but still visible. It is for this reason I would love to see this series being studied in high schools.

If you loved the first two books, then this novel does not disappoint. There might be some protests about the ending by those in the romance camp, but there really shouldn’t be. The novel ends exactly the way it should do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."