Dangerous Girls

 
3.3
 
4.0 (2)
2109 0
Dangerous Girls
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
July 16, 2013
ISBN
9781442486591
Buy This Book
      
Paradise quickly gets gruesome in this thrilling page-turner with a plot that’s ripped from the headlines and a twist that defies the imagination.

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.

But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

Awaiting the judge’s decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking than anyone ever imagined...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Killer Mystery!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
Abigail Haas effectively makes use of unlikable characters. There truly isn't a single person in this book that I liked. The teens are the popular crowd, and, even though their friends, they snipe at and backstab one another. Plus, they're little rich kids whose parents will let them go to Aruba for spring break. They've lived lives of privilege up until one of their party, Elise, is found murdered. Making a story about unlikable characters compelling is difficult to do, but Haas pulled it off.

Haas uses interesting storytelling techniques. She mixes formats, which include regular narrative, call transcripts, text messages and interviews. This worked really well, since it added to the authenticity of the murder and investigation. As is fairly standard in mystery plots, Haas jumps around in time from chapter to chapter, releasing little bits of information in a controlled manner. The reader's forced to piece things together and try to combine them into a larger picture. This gives the reader time to make their theories, effectively the judge of Anna's trial for the premeditated murder of Elise Warren. Even though I wasn't that tied in, I HAD to keep reading to know what happened and it was definitely worth it.

What makes Dangerous Girls so dark and shocking is the peek into the legal system. We grow up learning about "innocent until proven guilty" and assume that justice will be done. That's not necessarily the case though. Detectives have their own agendas, as do witnesses. The deals that the prosecution will cut with at least somewhat guilty parties in order to obtain information on a guiltier party are shady and unfair. Basically, it's terrifying, because, as much as we've been told otherwise, the justice system is actually stacked against the defendant. Thinking about a teen girl spending months in prison, even if she's found innocent, and most of her life if found guilty, is a hard thing. Of course, this takes place in Aruba, not America, but the principles aren't all that different based on what I've learned about law, which is somewhat minimal but still.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I think what left me wanting in Dangerous Girls was that everything was a bit too vague. The ending was satisfying, but I think the book could have been even more fascinating and shocking if Haas hadn't skimmed over some details. For example, the relationship between Elise and Anna obviously went beyond friendship, but nothing's really made of that. I'm not sure if it's a hesitance to delve into lesbianism/bisexuality or what, but putting it there without delving into the way that complicates their relationship is half-hearted.

The Final Verdict:
Mystery fans will want to check out Dangerous Girls, a unique young adult read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Crazy Good!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Man, I ate this book right up! I finished in two days flat. Haas has a very compelling writing style and she handled the intricate plot brilliantly! I recommend this to any fans of mysteries/thrillers. It really grabs you from the start and you really won't know who done it until the very end. I found this book epically fun!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Everyone Looks Guilty
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
After reading Dangerous Girls, I just sat there in my apartment staring straight ahead wondering what just happened. Throughout the whole book you think you know what's going on, and then suddenly it's all thrown in your face.

The popular, rich crowd in high school has always been hated and adored by everyone. Always. Simultaneously. We follow them on a Spring Break trip to Aruba and the teens do typical teen things. (As a side note, I'm 21, and I still haven't gotten to their crazy point yet.) And then someone in their party dies.

No one knows exactly what happened, so the investigation starts.

"Wouldn't we all look guilty if someone searched hard enough?"

That's the line that makes me doubt my existence, mostly because it's true. Dangerous Girls is told through many different time points, alternating back and forth between the present (interviews, talk shows, character interactions after the fact), and the past (how the characters met, what they did at Aruba, etc.). This style of writing can get very confusing, but it also keeps the suspense up and going.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."