Secret (Elemental #4)

Featured
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
2538 0
Secret (Elemental #4)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
January 28, 2014
ISBN
978-0758294371
Buy This Book
      

Nowhere is safe. Not even home...

Nick Merrick is stretched to the breaking point.

Keep his grades sky-high or he'll never escape his hometown.
Keep his brother's business going or the Merricks will be out on the street.
Keep the secret of where he's going in the evenings from his own twin---or he'll lose his family.

Keep his mind off the hot, self-assured dancer who's supposed to be his "girlfriend's" partner.

Of course there's also the homicidal freak Quinn has taken to hanging around, and the Elemental Guide counting the hours until he can try again to kill the Merrick brothers.

There's a storm coming. From all sides. And then some.

Nick Merrick, can you keep it together?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Truth Always Comes Out
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Regardless of whether or not you agree with Nick's choice, this was a really good story about love, acceptance and figuring out how to just be yourself.

Nick has always put his family first and as Elementals, the Merrick brothers have gotten really good at keeping secrets. Nick is no different. Except the secret he's been living with could not only change the way his brothers see him, but how he sees himself and for Nick, that's a risk he isn't sure he's willing to take. *hugs Nick*

Quinn is no stranger to secrets either and she's more than willing to help Nick keep his if it means she can keep hers. But the truth has a funny way of revealing itself even if we don't want it too and Nick and Quinn both learn that help can come from the most unlikely sources. (I love how Quinn learns that she is worth so much despite the way she's treated at home and at school, and I really liked the person who shows her that. REALLY.LIKED. :D)

This story, like it's predecessors, has a seamless dual POV, is fast paced, action packed and full of feels. It makes a fantastic to the Elemental series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Each new book brings a new favourite character
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Nick Merrick is under a lot of pressure. His grades at school, the family business, perfecting the ‘I’ve got it all together’ persona so he doesn’t give brother Michael anything more to worry about. Add in interest from his girlfriend Quinn’s dance partner, and Nick is about to break.

I’ve been waiting for this book ever since I read Breathless so when I was approved for an ARC, no other books existed. It was definitely one of those ‘the world outside does not exist until this book is finished’ moments. And I wasn’t disappointed. As the series has gone on, not only have the stakes been raised but the tone has gotten darker. It’s come a long way since Storm. Secret is my favorite yet, but it feels like I say that with every new book in the series.

Nick has always seemed so responsible and together in the other books so seeing things through his POV and the crushing pressure he’s under was really relatable. Again, it seems like every time a new book in this series comes out, I get a new favorite character. I knew from Breathless that I would like Nick but also getting Quinn’s POV was great. I wasn’t too sure about her after Storm but she grew on me during Breathless and now she’s probably my favorite of the girls. And I absolutely loved Adam.

The plot was heavily focused on the title, the secrets Nick and Quinn were both keeping, and it wasn’t until near the end that this book started adding to the overall series plot, but once it did, that was a lot of action. It left me nervous for the last book, which is almost an entire year away! There’s a lot of tension and fear in these two main characters because of their secrets and their emotions and reactions were so realistic given their situations.

I’m undecided if I like the cover change. It’s hard to tell just from a picture so once January gets here and I have a physical copy in my hands, I’ll decide then.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."