The Cute Girl Network

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
2729 0
The Cute Girl Network
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
November 12, 2013
ISBN
9781596437517
Buy This Book
      

Jane's new in town. When she wipes out on her skateboard right in front of Jack's food cart, she finds herself agreeing to go on a date with him. Jane's psyched that her love life is taking a turn for the friskier, but it turns out that Jack has a spotty romantic history, to put it mildly. Cue the Cute Girl Network — a phone tree information-pooling group of local single women. Poor Jane is about to learn every detail of Jack's past misadventures… whether she wants to or not. Will love prevail?

In this graphic novel from Greg Means, Americus author MK Reed, and Joe Flood, the illustrator of Orcs, comes a fast, witty, and sweet romantic comedy that is actually funny, and actually romantic.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Hilarious Look at Modern Dating
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
In Jane Austen’s Persuasion, Anne Elliot allows her friends and family to talk her out of an imprudent marriage to the poor Frederick Wentworth, even though she loves him, and then spends her life regretting that decision. Oddly enough, the graphic novel The Cute Girl Network reminds me a bit of Persuasion. Reed and Means tackle the difficulties of modern dating and the question of how important the opinions of others are in dating choices.

Skateboarder Jane wipes out in front of Jack’s food cart and he falls for her hard. He crushes on her immediately and, little game as he has, consults with his roommates about what to do if he sees her again. They encourage him to just go for it and ask her out on a date, which he does. The resulting date is monstrously awkward, but the two still hit it off. Despite Jack making a lot of boneheaded moves, Jane likes him and they go on more dates.

Just as Jack’s starting to want to define their relationship, Jane’s friend, Harriet, discovers that it’s Jack Jane’s been dating all this time. At this point, Jane stages an intervention. Turns out that Jack dated another of Harriet’s friend and messed it up big time. When that’s not enough to make Jane dump him pronto, Harriet puts out a call to The Cute Girl Network, a network of local women who share stories about the men in town to save other women from being used and/or abused. Several women come forward, all with horror stories of their own, leaving Jane torn about whether to stay with Jack or not.

The Cute Girl Network is both a wonderful and terrible idea, much like Anne Elliot listening to her family. For some people, trusting others could possibly save them from heartbreak or a depressing future tied to someone who will pull them down like an anchor. Other times, though, as in Anne’s case, a woman might give up on real love because she was too afraid to stand up to those around her. Harriet puts a lot of pressure on Jane, but, thankfully, Jane is no Anne, and not the sort to give into peer pressure; were Jane so easily led, she wouldn’t be a badass female skateboarder.

The Cute Girl Network stresses the fact that every relationship is different. Though each story told by his exes is true, Jack’s not exactly the same person he was back then and Jane’s not the same girl. Plus, with exes lined up like this, pretty much no one would come out of such a network looking like a viable candidate. I thought the message of The Cute Girl Network was very healthy, focusing on making informed decisions about what you want for yourself and not what others think is right for you. Plus, it’s very sex-positive and shows strong, independent women.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I could have used more emotional connection, but I don't have any real negative points to offer.

The Final Verdict:
Many will likely consider The Cute Girl Network to be new adult, as all of the characters are in that post high school age range, where they’re still trying to find themselves. Most of the characters are barely making ends meet, despite living with roommates. It’s one of the least romanticized portraits of this period of life that I’ve encountered The Cute Girl Network is funny, thoughtful, and adorable, with art that works well with the story..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."