BZRK: Reloaded (BZRK #2)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (2)
1300 0
Cover
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 08, 2013
ISBN
978-1606843949
Buy This Book
      
From best-selling author Michael Grant, comes the highly anticipated, terrifying, and mind-bending second book in the BZRK trilogy. The entire BZRK cell--including Noah and Sadie--has been left in pieces after the last round of battle with the Armstrong Twins, conjoined brother who plot to rob mankind of its free will. Vincent's mind is shattered, and his memories hold dangerous secrets--secrets that Lear, BZRK's mysterious leader, will stop at nothing to protect. Meanwhile, Bug Man has taken control of the President's brain, but playing with sanity is a dangerous game. The consequences can spiral way out of control, and the Armstrong Twins are not people Bug Man can afford to disappoint. The nano is as terrifying, exhilarating, and unpredictable as ever. But the wall of secrets that surrounds it is cracking. What will it reveal? And once the dust has settled, who will be sane enough to find out?

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Focused on characters
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The BZRK books are like reading a video game – totally exhilarating and leaves you breatheless with nervous energy. The first one had these epic nano battles which I enjoyed so much and the entire world that Grant constructed was amazing. In BZRK Reloaded, while I was a bit disappointed that those epic nano battles didn’t arrive until the last quarter of the book and even then they didn’t really match up to the previous book’s fast paced narrative, this book was more focused on constructing the plotline and laying groundwork for the various discrete events that happen towards the end of the book, which made the ending more explosive (ha!). The plotline is split into different narrative, all of which do not directly affect each other but make for such a great story as a whole. There is the New York cell which is recuperating from their losses of the previous book, Plath taking charge of her legacy, Burnofsky having nefarious ideas, the wired President’s secret, the Doll House ship of horrors which takes brain washing to a new extreme, the Bug Man finally showing some signs of conscience and the overall psychology of the characters.

The storyline was heavily focused on the characters as opposed to the earlier one that was plot-driven. Vincent’s story was heart-breaking, and I really felt for him and even Anya. Plath and Keats grow closer and Wilkes is always there to make some hilarious crude jokes at them. Lear is pulling the strings and Nijinsky is relying even more on his/her judgement. The characters aren’t perfect or moral – they are flawed and do what needs to be done. We get a peek into Charles’ and Benjamin’s childhoods and realize the reason for their Nexus Humanus plans – and boy, are they creepy. The whole Doll House thing gives me shivers. There is an introduction of other characters and agencies which affect the plot profoundly – the Swedish spy, the Anonymous hacker group and even the kidnapped girl from Okinawa. The whole BZRK team are resigned to their ulitmate fates of death or madness and this lesson is repeatedly dangled in this book. The love in the book is a very complicated thing and considering we are essentially dealing with brain-washing, it skews the whole matter. Are wired feelings real or because you have been changed, do you change? The underlying issue is the concept of humanity and how happiness drives us to do the things we do and how the characters try to shape the world to their needs. The ending was bittersweet – things barely worked out but so much went awry and so much was lost.

As a sequel, it may not have lived up fully to its predecesor but it sets a good base for the next installment – where I suppose we will we dealing with phase three of the Armstrongs and maybe (just maybe) find out who the heck is this Lear who is pulling the strings from the shadows. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Multi-layered storyline
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The BZRK books are like reading a video game – totally exhilarating and leaves you breatheless with nervous energy. The first one had these epic nano battles which I enjoyed so much and the entire world that Grant constructed was amazing. In BZRK Reloaded, while I was a bit disappointed that those epic nano battles didn’t arrive until the last quarter of the book and even then they didn’t really match up to the previous book’s fast paced narrative, this book was more focused on constructing the plotline and laying groundwork for the various discrete events that happen towards the end of the book, which made the ending more explosive (ha!). The plotline is split into different narrative, all of which do not directly affect each other but make for such a great story as a whole. There is the New York cell which is recuperating from their losses of the previous book, Plath taking charge of her legacy, Burnofsky having nefarious ideas, the wired President’s secret, the Doll House ship of horrors which takes brain washing to a new extreme, the Bug Man finally showing some signs of conscience and the overall psychology of the characters.

The storyline was heavily focused on the characters as opposed to the earlier one that was plot-driven. Vincent’s story was heart-breaking, and I really felt for him and even Anya. Plath and Keats grow closer and Wilkes is always there to make some hilarious crude jokes at them. Lear is pulling the strings and Nijinsky is relying even more on his/her judgement. The characters aren’t perfect or moral – they are flawed and do what needs to be done. We get a peek into Charles’ and Benjamin’s childhoods and realize the reason for their Nexus Humanus plans – and boy, are they creepy. The whole Doll House thing gives me shivers. There is an introduction of other characters and agencies which affect the plot profoundly – the Swedish spy, the Anonymous hacker group and even the kidnapped girl from Okinawa. The whole BZRK team are resigned to their ulitmate fates of death or madness and this lesson is repeatedly dangled in this book. The love in the book is a very complicated thing and considering we are essentially dealing with brain-washing, it skews the whole matter. Are wired feelings real or because you have been changed, do you change? The underlying issue is the concept of humanity and how happiness drives us to do the things we do and how the characters try to shape the world to their needs. The ending was bittersweet – things barely worked out but so much went awry and so much was lost.

As a sequel, it may not have lived up fully to its predecesor but it sets a good base for the next installment – where I suppose we will we dealing with phase three of the Armstrongs and maybe (just maybe) find out who the heck is this Lear who is pulling the strings from the shadows. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."