Finding It (Losing It #3)

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1956 0
Finding It (Losing It #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
18+
Release Date
October 15, 2013
ISBN
978-0062273284
Buy This Book
      

Sometimes you have to lose yourself to find where you truly belong . . .

Most girls would kill to spend months traveling around Europe after college graduation with no responsibility, no parents, and no-limit credit cards. Kelsey Summers is no exception. She's having the time of her life . . . or that's what she keeps telling herself.

It's a lonely business trying to find out who you are, especially when you're afraid you won't like what you discover. No amount of drinking or dancing can chase away Kelsey's loneliness, but maybe Jackson Hunt can. After a few chance meetings, he convinces her to take a journey of adventure instead of alcohol. With each new city and experience, Kelsey's mind becomes a little clearer and her heart a little less hers. Jackson helps her unravel her own dreams and desires. But the more she learns about herself, the more Kelsey realizes how little she knows about Jackson.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Not the best in this series, but still worth a read
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Finding It wasn’t what I expected at all. If you’ve read any of her previous books, you’d expect a light and comical romance with endearing female leads and swoonworthy male counterparts. That wasn’t the case so much in this installment. I’ll admit, this one was borderline “meh” for me, which is surprising because I have loved all of Carmack’s books so far. What finally pushed this into the “really liked” category for me was Jackson. He had his moments where I just didn’t get him or feel any sparks, but a lot of the things he did helped me to really enjoy this, especially towards the end. Things were pretty much hot and cold between him and Kelsey, and I’m not a fan of that at all, so when you couple that to the fact that this book dragged on exceedingly slow for the first half, it doesn’t make for such a great read.
Thankfully, Carmack saved the day in second half of the book. Not only do we get a taste of adventure and wonder as the characters travel through Europe, things finally pick up between Kelsey and Jackson, and instead of just telling us about the chemistry and mutual attraction, Carmack finally shows it. I was beginning to worry there for a minute. The story dragged on for so long, with nothing happening that by the time I was at the 50% mark, I didn’t even know what I had read or where this was going. Not that it was confusing, it was just that the first half was so boring, it was just a big blur to me at that point. But again, I say, Carmack did somewhat of a 180 in the latter half and I was finally enjoying the read.
Kelsey didn’t’ do it for me that much either. She has a family that sucks butt and a past event that haunts her, which I totally understand and appreciate. She’s also crazy and vivacious, the seemingly carefree friend who you would love to party with. All of that I can get, but as far as being inside her head? Yeah, I didn’t care for it. There wasn’t even much of a resolution or revelation to her problems once it was all out in the open. Things do change and she makes some key choices in her life that I appreciated, but still, it wasn’t all that.
As far as Jackson goes, I think I would’ve liked to have been in his head. I wanted to know what he was going through as he interacted with Kelsey and throughout their adventures. I definitely couldn’t see his appeal at all, even though I pictured him as a pretty sexy guy, I couldn’t get a grip on his personality, therefore, didn’t care for him as a character. I did like how he got Kelsey to try new things and live life, but I just didn’t feel the swoon factor. When he finally let go a little though, I started to like him more and that ending and what he did was pretty sweet, so I’ll give him that.
If you’re expecting something along the lines of Carmack’s other books, like I did, you might be a bit disappointed. Finding It get a little more intense and the characters are way more damaged than her previous ones. I’ll give her credit for trying to change things up, and she still adds that bit of humor and awkwardness to the story that I have come to love so much from her. If it wasn’t for the humor, albeit whatever little there was, and Jackson’s eventual appeal (not my favorite Carmack boy, I’ll tell you that right off the bat), then I wouldn’t have enjoyed this book at all. If you can manage to get through the monotony that is the first half of the book, I’m sure you’ll end up liking it, too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Another Great Companion Novel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked: I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and was excited to read this one. As always, Cora Carmack gives us a well written story that's entertaining and characters who are easily relateable. She isn't afraid to tackle the tough issues either, but manages to do it with humor and grace.

I think Jackson Hunt may be my new favorite Cora Carmack guy. (Don't be mad Cade.) He's tall, dark and all kinds of abilicious, and I liked that he doesn't let Kelsey settle for the life she's been living. But what sealed the deal for me was how he expresses himself to her and the way he goes about doing that. And no, I'm not talking about the smexy stuff although there is plenty of that too. ;)

What Left Me Wanting More: Kelsey was a difficult character for me to like. (This is a good thing because it means I felt something. There's nothing worse as a reader than to feel indifferent towards a character.) I understood why she made the choices she did even if I didn't agree with them, and I think I would've connected with her more if she had gone to Europe on her own dime and not her Dad's. However, I was tossing up a high five for her at the end!

The scenery in this story makes me wish I could spend a few months visiting them all!

Final Verdict: Great addition to the Losing It series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."