3:59

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2341 0
3:59
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 17, 2013
ISBN
0062118811
Buy This Book
      

Josie Byrne's life is spiraling out of control. Her parents are divorcing, her boyfriend, Nick, has grown distant, and her physics teacher has it in for her. When she's betrayed by the two people she trusts most, Josie thinks things can't get worse. Until she starts having dreams about a girl named Jo. Every night at the same time—3:59 a.m.

Jo's life is everything Josie wants: she's popular, her parents are happily married, and Nick adores her. It all seems real, but they're just dreams, right? Josie thinks so, until she wakes one night to a shadowy image of herself in the bedroom mirror—Jo.

Josie and Jo are doppelgängers living in parallel universes that briefly overlap every twelve hours at exactly 3:59. Fascinated by Jo's fabulous life, Josie jumps at the chance to cross through the portal and switch places for a day. But Jo's world is far from perfect. Not only is Nick not Jo's boyfriend, he hates her. Jo's mom is missing, possibly insane. And at night, shadowy creatures feed on human flesh.

Josie is desperate to return to her own life. But there's a problem: Jo has sealed the portal, trapping Josie in this dangerous world. Can she figure out a way home before it's too late?

From master of suspense Gretchen McNeil comes a riveting and deliciously eerie story about the lives we wish we had—and how they just might kill you.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Real Page-Turner
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

Gretchen McNeil knows how to write about the things we fear, even the things we don't yet *know* we fear. In 3:59, she delivers another fast-paced page-turner that showcases her best writing to date. A gripping mystery, some interesting science, and a fun premise kept this reader saying "just one more chapter" long into the night.

The strength of this story is the fast-paced mystery. Even though I was able to figure out several things before the main character did, the story moved so quickly, I didn't mind. I just enjoyed the ride. There are twists and turns and plenty of suspense. Readers who love a mystery with a dash of science and some heart-pounding thrills are going to eat this up.

The premise is highly entertaining. Time travel can be tricky, but Ms. McNeil handles it well. Difficult concepts in physics are distilled down enough to be accessible without feeling like the author is giving her readers a Psychics for Dummies crash course. The addition of mysterious (and murderous) creatures in the alternate universe added more entertainment and suspense.

Finally, I enjoyed the heroine, even when I didn't totally connect with all of her actions. She's book smart but often naive in her relationships, and she grows quite a bit throughout the book. The romance was interesting without taking away from the time travel/alternate universe mystery in the story, so readers who want a dash of swoon with their sci fi will be pleased.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were a few moments when I didn't feel fully convinced that the characters' actions were plausible (like when two teenagers manage to break into a high security facility using flirtation and obvious subterfuge), but I don't think those moments detract from the overall thrill ride that is this book. They certainly didn't keep me from turning the pages.

Final Verdict:

3:59 is a fast-paced thriller with plenty of twists and turns. Be prepared to stay up way past your bedtime because you won't want to stop reading once you start!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."