Consume (The Clann #3)

Featured
 
3.3
 
4.0 (1)
2066 1
Consume (The Clann #3)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 27, 2013
ISBN
978-0373210879
Buy This Book
      

These violent delights have violent ends 

And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, 

Which, as they kiss, consume. 

—William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet 

Tristan Coleman has survived the change from Clann magic user to vampire, much to Savannah Colbert's joy—and despair. By changing the Clann's golden boy and newly elected leader, even to save him from death, she has unleashed a fury of hatred and fear that they cannot escape. 

As the Clann and the vampire council go to war, Tristan and Sav face a new threat—a fracturing of the all-consuming bond they share. To fight for peace, they must forge a new trust and risk everything to take down their deadliest enemy, even as they must run for their lives. Soon they will learn that some bonds are stronger than love—and some battles cannot be won without sacrifice.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Satisfying End To The Series.
(Updated: July 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked: I was not a huge fan of the first two books in this series, however, I enjoyed Tristan's character enough that I wanted to see how it all ended, and I'm happy to say, this final book does not disappoint.

Tristan and Savannah experience a lot of growth by the time this book ends, both individually and as a couple. The fact that they had to deal with real-life issues like school drama, parents and knowing when to put the brakes on in addition to the impending battle between the Clann and Vamps made them more relateable. And the dual POV provides valuable insight despite Savannah and Tristan being able to hear each others thoughts. The story moves at a good pace and includes a few twists I wasn't expecting and there is an epilogue of sorts that will make die-hard fans happy.

What Left Me Wanting More: I am not a fan of this cover and I would've enjoyed seeing both Savannah and Tristan on it.

Final Verdict: Satisfying ending to this series!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good finale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Wow, that is how you end a series! I loved it - maybe not to the death - but yeah, I loved it enough. Tristan was turned into a vampire at the end of Covet and now he, Savannah and her dad are hiding out in the Arkansas mountain to train him to be a good fledgling. When the time comes to return to Jacksonville to show the Clann and the Council that he is not a danger, they are inadvertently dragged into a vampire vs witches war, forcing them all to go in hiding again, this time with Emily in tow, who is carrying a dhampir baby of her own. The first half of the book chronicles their hiding out and dealing with the situation, with two couples finding their way among the obstacles standing in their way. Tristan and Savannah have a clash in principles and this nearly drives them apart. Actually, the thing I love about the series is how it focuses on these relationships between the characters too. Sure, there is plot development but there is immense character development too. Emily is like the big sister you want - surely I pointed this out in the review for the first book and here in this one, I really do adore her - she is the mastermind and the spells expert. Savannah becomes the moral compass for Tristan. Michael and Joan have their moments and for those who were rooting for them, the ending really gives you all the happy feels.

Speaking of the ending, it all built up to a good climax - not great, but one you can be satisfied with. Personally, the vampire presence in the epilogue felt too soon considering the war that just erupted globally. So, barring that too-convenient epilogue, the rest of the book came close to perfection. The writing, was full of depth and as I said before, more focused on the feelings between the characters. So, while it is sad that this series has ended (yes, I barely started this series 4 days ago, but I still mourn it's end, you know?) the fact that it lived up to expectations really makes me happy.

Oh, and one last thing - I love the book playlist at the end - just my type of songs!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."