Shadowlark (Skylark #2)

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
2012 1
Shadowlark (Skylark #2)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 01, 2013
ISBN
978-0761388661
Buy This Book
      

Ever since she escaped the city within the Wall, Lark Ainsley's wanted one thing: to find her brother Basil. She's always believed he would be the one to put an end to the constant fear and flight. And now, hidden underground in the chaotically magical city of Lethe, Lark feels closer to him than ever. 

But Lethe is a city cowering in fear of its founder, the mysterious Prometheus, and of his private police force. To get the truth about Basil, Lark has no choice but to face Prometheus. 

Facing her fears has become second nature to Lark. Facing the truth is another matter. 

Lark never asked to be anyone's savior. She certainly never wanted to be anyone's weapon. She might not have a choice.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Satisfying Sequel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
Though Skylark didn’t achieve a ranking among my very favorite books, I was quite impressed with Spooner’s descriptions and, above all, unique world building. That tradition continues in Shadowlark with the addition of stronger character arcs.

At the end of Skylark, Lark left to go searching for her brother, accompanied by Tansy, Nix, and, at a distance, Oren. Lark’s brother, Basil, escaped before she did, and she’s determined to resolve that mystery. Spooner sets up yet another city, disparate from the two in the previous novel, that runs off of magic, but in a different way. While this is admittedly odd, it’s also very cool. Often dystopias only show a small subset of the world, a single city, and it’s fascinating to see how different areas reacted to whatever cataclysm occurred in this world.

Though I think there’s a bit less horror in Shadowlark, as she spends less time amongst shadows, this novel is a whole different kind of creepy. In Skylark, Lark realized that she’s possessed of a great power, which could have made her yet another special snowflake. Instead, Lark’s feeling the allure of the dark side, which gives her character new depths and makes her work to be a hero. Though power comes easily to Lark, using it wisely does not. I’m always happy to see the heroine or hero struggle. The achievements that are difficult to come by mean so much more.

A whole slew of new characters are introduced, with only a couple recurring from the previous novel. Given that I don’t remember most of the ones from the first novel, this wasn’t an issue for me. Plus, I quite like the new characters, particularly Olivia and Wesley. Also, the villain of this plot arc has quite a bit of character building which I always enjoy. My favorite character by far, though, is Nix, the pixie. He’s sort of a little robot that can fly, and he’s sarcastic and judgmental and supportive and useful in a crisis. I would totally love to have Nix at my side as I went about my day.

Another big plus was how little romance there was. Oren and Lark have been mooning over each other since they met, basically, but they both put practical concerns above romance. Thank you, Meagan Spooner, for writing a dystopia in which the main characters put survival above hormones. This does not happen enough.

What Left Me Wanting More:
What was lacking for me was that extra degree of emotional impact. There’s a scene at the end that really should have had me freaking out because some serious stuff goes down and I was just sort of like “huh, cool.” The ending also felt somewhat rushed, and it seemed like some of the more minor character arcs were left hanging. I wanted to know more about what happened with Olivia’s girlfriend, for example, and also felt like Lark was a bit too forgiving of a particular character.

The Final Verdict:
In the next installment of the Skylark series, Meagan Spooner will obviously be tackling the origin of this world, and I cannot wait to find out how she explains all of this. Based on her delightfully original work so far, I’m betting it will be something fantastical.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."