Since You Asked

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
2122 0
Since You Asked
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 26, 2013
ISBN
0545448212
Buy This Book
      

A humorous, debut novel about a Korean-American teenager who accidentally lands her own column in her high school newspaper, and proceeds to rant her way through the school year while struggling to reconcile the traditional Korean values of her parents with contemporary American culture.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Delightful, Diverse Contemporary Novel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
The kids at school may not have asked for Holly to write a column in the school newspaper, but Since You Asked is just the sort of YA novel I have been asking for. I picked it up solely for the premise about a Korean-American girl, but found even more to enjoy in this fluffy, sweet read, set in a high school that's much more like the one I went to back in the day. Maurene's debut novel is a humorous delight and one that avoids typical YA tropes.

I don't know about everyone else, but the schools that I went to, even my tiny liberal arts college in southern Indiana, were much more diverse than the average high school in YA books. In my high school especially, diversity was not something weird or really to be remarked upon; it was just how things were. Atlanta has a really diverse population, involving most of the groups you can think of. Finally, in Since You Asked, I've found a YA novel where the characters really are as diverse as I'm used to life being.

Even better, Goo doesn't bring in one token diverse character or make an insanely big deal of the characters' backgrounds. Obviously, culture can have an impact, but it's clear that each family is different degrees of integrated into American ways. In just Holly's close-knit group of four friends, Holly is Korean-American (her parents immigrated), David is half-Chinese and half-Irish, and Liz is Persian. Though Holly's family is still very much into living in a Korean manner, David and Liz's families are pretty American in their sensibilities for the most part.

The central issue of Since You Asked is actually the tension between Holly and her mother, between Holly's American side and her Korean side. Holly's parents fall into the typical roles of Korean parents that I'm so familiar with from kdrama: the mother very controlling and the father penny-pinching. Though Holly's seriously irritated by her parents, there's obviously a love and affection for her family. The struggle lies in the fact that Holly feels much more American than Korean, and her parents do not. As such, she finds the restrictions and traditions sometimes frustrating.



The characters are all just so much fun, and so much like real people. I loved the portrayal of friendship, with that super close group of four friends. How often in YA do you find a real friendship, and here Goo has written one with four people. There are some minor tensions, but mostly it's a really healthy supportive friendship. There's a bit of romance too, but not much. Some ships are open for boarding, but none really set sail. What romance there is largely consists of crushes, awkward flirting and secret admirers, so, you know, teen stuff.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The pace of Since You Asked stays pretty snappy, since it covers almost a full school year. The weak point for me was actually the newspaper thing which worked as the framing element. Holly's articles really weren't all that impressive to me, nor were they particularly interesting in comparison to her actual life.

The Final Verdict:
If fluffy contemporary novels are something you enjoy, particularly when they step out of the standard formulas, then I highly recommend Since You Asked. I will definitely be tracking Maurene Goo's career, because I like her style.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."