Just Like Fate

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
4.3 (2)
2495 3
Just Like Fate
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 27, 2013
ISBN
978-1442472716
Buy This Book
      

One decision changes everything in this compelling novel that explores split realities of romance and family loyalties.

Caroline is at a crossroads.

Her grandmother is sick, maybe dying. Like the rest of her family, Caroline’s been at Gram’s bedside since the stroke. With the pressure building, all Caroline wants to do is escape—both her family and the reality of Gram’s failing health. So when Caroline’s best friend offers to take her to a party one fateful Friday night, she must choose: Stay by Gram’s side for what might be her final hours, or go to the party and live her life.

The consequences of this one decision will split Caroline’s fate into two separate paths—and she is about to live them both. And though there are two distinct ways for her fate to unfold, there is only one happy ending…

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Crossing a Crossroads
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
JUST LIKE FATE has a lot to do with the consequences of the choices you make. The main premise of the story is that Caroline has to choose whether to stay with her dying grandmother, who she lives with, or to go a party and unwind. She hems and haws for a bit and then decides… to do both. At this point in the story it splits, alternating chapters being told by the Caroline who stays and the one who goes. This was done really well, and is just a really cool idea to begin with. At first I was a bit worried about being able to tell the two apart, but it ended up not being a problem. To begin with they were clearly labeled, and also the story took off in completely different directions, so the only parts that really got mixed up were minor.

This is a story that almost anyone can relate to in one way or another. You genuinely feel for Caroline, as well as the other characters. Each path she takes is equally well thought out and unforced. I particularly liked the end. It was very eerie, and at the same time enlightening and somehow comforting.

JUST LIKE FATE is a frightening look at how there really is no right answer, and there’s no going back, but in the end, you feel better about the world for some unexplainable reason.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Engaging Look At The Choices We Make
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I picked this gem up at BEA and was really excited to read, not only because it's written by two fantastic authors who I had the privilege to spend a little time with, but it was touted as a "Sliding Doors" for teens. (Sliding Doors was a super cool movie from the late 90's starring Gwenyth Paltrow.)

What I Loved: This is one of those stories that sucked me in, pulled at my heart-strings and punched me in the feels, and I loved every minute of it! (Okay, so there were a few stressful moments and some that made me cry, but still.) I was intrigued by the concept of two different fates because how many times do we go through life second guessing our decisions or asking, "What if?"

Life for Caroline is anything but awesome. Her Gram's is sick, her familial relationships are strained and she's been crushing on the same tall, dark and broodilicious boy for as long as she can remember. Then her BFF presents her with an opportunity that could change everything, all Caroline has to do is decide whether to stay or go. Seems simple enough, right? Riiight.

I'll admit it took me a couple pages before I caught on to the "Stay" and "Go" flow of the chapters buts that's because my cupcake doesn't always have the most sprinkles. *shrugs* Once I figured out that the dual fates was much like a dual POV, I was good to go.

Caroline's journey is filled with laughter, heartache, romance and tall, blond and utterly charming. But she learns a few lessons too, like how it's entirely possible (and normal) be angry with someone yet still love them. There are consequences to every choice and while mistakes are unavoidable, they don't have to define us for the rest of our lives. Caroline also learns that what we think we want may not be what we actually need. (Yes, there is a difference. Trust me on this. I'm old, I know stuff.)

There were several nail-biting, chest-clutching, full-on freaking out moments where I wasn't sure how this could possibly end well. But it does, with everything tying together beautifully and leaving no unanswered questions.

What Left Me Wanting More: Nothing. Unless, of course, Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young would like to write an entire book about a certain Batman - with pictures. ;)

Final Verdict: An engaging look at the choices we make with equal parts humor and heart. Read it!

Favorite Quote(s): "I forgot the corsage," he says smiling. "But we can still take photos if you like."
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
What Would You Do
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Just Like Fate discusses one of my favorite topics: can one moment really change your life? And maybe it can, or maybe it can't. But, in this book that's what the reader looks into.
It took me a while to get really into this book. Death and dying can always be a messy topic to write about, and even more uncomfortable to read about.

If you were given the chance to either sit by your dying grandmother's bedside, or take one night and go to a party with your friend, what would you do? To some, going to the party might sound selfish, but when your family is a mess, and your grandmother has been slowly dying in front of you, it almost feels right to take the night off.

So what does the main character do? She does both.

In this uniquely written story, the main character alternates in each chapter what would have happened if she would have chosen to "stay" or "go."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great concept
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Just Like Fate is an innovative concept – the what ifs of life. There are so many things in life we regret – things that make you want to take back something, not make a particular decision. The story follows one such decision made by Caroline, on the night her grandmother died. She did not know it would happen and a yes/no decision at that moment diverges the storyline into two paths. Both paths have something to learn from and both have pain and happiness along them. Our life is also basically made of decisions – we may believe in fate but our choices also count. The book specifically refers to what destiny and free will have to do with each other – something like xxxHoLIC’s hitsuzen. Even at the end, we don’t know which path actually happened, as life is. We cannot know the outcome of a ‘what if; we cannot know if our life would have been better but just be content that things will work out eventually…

The writing and the dual timelines really pulled me in. After quite a while, I have read a novel at a stretch, it was that interesting. Quite a good read!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."
The Culling
 
5.0
"Grant and his sister Stevie are on their own, trying to survive in a desolate bayou with limited food sources...."
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
"With the integration of the human and supernatural worlds, things are bound to get crazy. Luna never thought she was..."
Hitched: The Bachelorette
 
5.0
" When Kimmie-Jayne lands the role on Hitched, she's thrilled that her dreams of acting are coming true. She's..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Adaptive
 
5.0
"Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Oh, boy. Where to start… Like the first two books, I absolutely loved The C World. The authors have done..."
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
"I love zombies. I never thought I’d say that. I’m not a horror reader, and in my opinion, zombies fall..."