Tarnish

FeaturedHot
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
15462 1
Tarnish
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 18, 2013
ISBN
978-0670014002
Buy This Book
      

Anne Boleyn is the odd girl out. Newly arrived to the court of King Henry VIII, everything about her seems wrong, from her clothes to her manners to her witty but sharp tongue. So when the dashing poet Thomas Wyatt offers to coach her on how to shine at court—and to convince the whole court they’re lovers—she accepts. Before long, Anne’s popularity has soared, and even the charismatic and irresistible king takes notice. More than popularity, Anne wants a voice—but she also wants love. What began as a game becomes high stakes as Anne finds herself forced to make an impossible choice between her heart's desire and the chance to make history.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Strong Companion for Gilt
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
Having been greatly impressed by Longshore's debut novel, Gilt, I was eager to get my hands on the sequel, and thrilled when my friend April gifted me her ARC. I read it slowly over the course of weeks, snuck it in between my review commitments. While I do think Gilt held more appeal for me due to the less traveled subject matter, Longshore still brings something new to Tudor historical fiction with Tarnish.

Where Gilt's heroine merely accompanied the main players in the court, best friend to Henry's fifth wife, Catherine Howard, Tarnish goes back in time to Anne Boleyn. While numerous books have been written about Anne Boleyn, Longshore sets her story apart in a couple of ways. First of all, Anne is never queen in Tarnish, which takes Anne from her arrival in England from years in France through Henry's first real stirrings of interest in her. Longshore gives the reader a whole new perspective on Anne by only barely touching on King Henry's role in her life.

Most powerful and wonderful for me, though, was the feminism running through the novel. Anne Boleyn is a powerful character, a girl wholly unsuited for the time in which she lives. Well-educated, she speaks her mind, impertinent, clever and intimidating. While her wit brings her to the attention of Henry and other powerful men, history tells us that her scheming will also be her downfall. Longshore depicts Anne as a strong woman trapped, with no option of freedom. Her only choice is which man to rely on for life.

Longshore delves into the history and makes use of the rumored drama of the court. She puts forth here a genuine affection between Thomas Wyatt and Anne Boleyn, one that it's hard not to root for. Anne also has an entanglement with Henry Percy, and obviously the king, though for most of the novel he is involved with her sister. The King Henry VIII shown here differs greatly from the much older man in Gilt, still virile and alluring, though almost twice Anne's age. Longshore lays groundwork also for the scandalous rumors that she and her brother are too close that will eventually be part of the justification for her beheading.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Though I generally avoid fiction about this period of Henry VIII's life, because it's been so overdone, Longshore does a good job with it and brings her own slant to the tale. Her Anne Boleyn is one that I can sympathize with, but also convincingly selfish in motivation. I will say, however, that Tarnish felt a bit long. A lot of the reflection felt repetitive, and the pace was a bit languid.

The Final Verdict:
Katherine Longshore's historical novels have an automatic entry to my wishlist. Tarnish may not have been quite as wonderful for me as Gilt, but it's still a well done historical without doubt, and sure to delight readers of Tudor fiction. Longshore's author's note consists of a brief summation of her research and information on which elements of the novel drew from history, which is always a great resource for a curious reader.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Amazing Read
(Updated: June 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I was so excited when I received the galley of TARNISH. I'd heard rumors that there was a YA historical based on Anne Boleyn's life and to actually get a copy of this book made me jump for joy! I'm a huge fan of the Tudors and anything that deals with King Henry VIII. Let's just say this book exceeding my expectations! It's filled with awesomeness and I hated finishing!

There is so much to love about this story. We get to see another side of Anne Boleyn right when she first comes to King Henry's court. Plus there's another player in the court: poet Thomas Wyatt. He decides to do his own version of My Fair Lady on Anne and transform her from the odd girl amidst all the color of court. She's transformed into the mysterious newcomer with a witty tongue. Anne's popularity blossoms so much that even the king takes notice. In the meantime Anne starts to wonder about what her true feelings are. Sure, she loves the lush surroundings of court but is that where her heart really lays?

Loved this book so much! I have to say I'm now a huge fan of Katherine Longshore. After I read this book, I had to read her other historical GILT which was about Catherine another one of King Henry's wives. TARNISH digs deep into Anne's character and peels back some misconceptions. We are witness to her vulnerabilities, strengths, and even the struggles she has with her heart. This is Anne before her infamous beheading. She reminded me of a girl who 'didn't fit in' and who was misunderstood. For example how others in court look down on her clothing and say she has a sharp tongue. What's fun is to watch her transformation.

The interesting twist had to be poet Thomas Wyatt's twist on the whole My Fair Lady theme. He offers to help make her the darling of court as long as she agrees to be his lover. Both Thomas and Anne find that there is a fine line between what's real and not. I love how the author shows the conflicts both have between this and how hard the decision is at the end. Do you go with your heart? Or go with your destiny?

Lush surroundings and vivid descriptions make this story irresistible. Readers are transported to a time of history where court intrigue and romance came hand in hand. Totally mesmerizing! I couldn't put this book down! A must read for fans of The Tudors and historical fiction.
Good Points
1. Lush descriptions and amazing writing make this story irresistible
2. A must read for fans of the Tudors
3. Readers see another side of Anne Boleyn
4. Court intrigue, romance
5. My Fair Lady take of Anne Boleyn
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."