172 Hours on the Moon

 
0.0
 
3.9 (4)
1589 0
172 Hours on the Moon
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 17, 2012
ISBN
978-0316182881
Buy This Book
      
It's been decades since anyone set foot on the moon. Now three ordinary teenagers, the winners of NASA's unprecedented, worldwide lottery, are about to become the first young people in space - and change their lives forever. Mia, from Norway, hopes this will be her punk band's ticket to fame and fortune. Midori believes it's her way out of her restrained life in Japan. Antoine, from France, just wants to get as far away from his ex-girlfriend as possible.

It's the opportunity of a lifetime, but little do the teenagers know that something sinister is waiting for them on the desolate surface of the moon. And in the black vacuum of space, no one is coming to save them.

In this chilling adventure set in the most brutal landscape known to man, highly acclaimed Norwegian novelist Johan Harstad creates a vivid and frightening world of possibilities we can only hope never come true.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot 
 
4.0  (4)
Characters 
 
3.8  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Interesting
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
172 Hours on the Moon was an interesting novel. It was full of suspense, thrills, and horror.
The author crafted a well written plot and an incredibly thrilling novel.
The book starts of on earth as we are introduced to the characters and then moves to the moon were things get really creepy.
There were twist and turns that were not predictble and surprises all the way until the end of the novel. I would recommend this novel to fans of horror and suspense.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
172 Hours on the Moon audiobook review
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What a ride this book was. I spent most of the time reading with my heart racing and a great sense of unease. I ended up finishing at 2 in the morning and had to keep my bedside lamp on in order to sleep. I didn't find the ending particularly satisfying, but I suppose it's a risk you run with horror/thrillers.

I find space terrifying in general anyway, but 172 Hours really brings it to another level. There's just something about the soundless, motionless void of space that chills me to the core. Harstad harnesses the natural creepy feeling of space, the moon especially, and multiplies it by about 100 with the addition of some unknown malicious entity. I like that little hints as to what's on the moon are sprinkled throughout, but it's still unknown enough that it packs a punch with its anonymity right up until Harstad wants you to know. Although, other people may figure it out before the reveal, I think the idea isn't something overused so it's still creepy whether you know or not.

172 Hours is definitely something I'll pass along to others. I loved the thrill of the read, even if I didn't like the ending. I'll concede that it was probably the more exciting ending, but that doesn't mean I have to like it.
Hit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
You haven't lived until you've read this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This book simply blew my mind! Before I get into my review, I would just like to thank the author, Johan Harstad, for developing such an amazing story line. The plot is absolutely, as stated before, mind-blowing! The imagery, the settings, the characters: OMG! Alright, I really need to stop fangirling over this book. It was SO good, you guys! We follow 3 teenagers who've won NASA's international lottery for a week long trip to the moon in the year 2019. They all have different reasons for going, but when they get there, they realize that they shouldn't have come at all. They're not alone. Something absolutely sinister is wondering the surface of the moon and they can't exactly explain it. Some things I love about this book: 1) The fact that, for the most part, it's realistic (aside from the creepiness on the moon). 2) The characters are very easily like-able. 3) You will most likely NEVER predict the ending. No matter how good you think you are at predicting books, try again sweetheart. This novel will blow you away. I can't really say much more without fangirling about this book. Nobody has truly lived until they have read this book. It's an absolute MUST-READ!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Frightening psychological horror
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I somehow missed the memo that this book is, you know, horror—and it’s not that I would have refused to read it had I known, but that lack of research on my part made 172 Hours on the Moon a complete surprise for me. And everyone: this book is downright creepy. It messes with your mind and makes an “alien invasion” look like a fun time. Mad applause to Johan Harstad for his storytelling.

So, backing up a bit: NASA decides to send 3 kids the moon for a week. The three kids (plus NASA trained astronauts) arrive at the moon. And then craziness starts happening. Like, omg. If you’re thinking green alien dudes or whatever, think again. 172 Hours on the Moon is pure psychological horror, and it works very well in that capacity.

Of course, totally awesome horror elements aside, this book sometimes fails to make sense. For instance, say you send NASA people up to the moon. And then the power at the moon station goes out. And the NASA people don’t know the proper procedures for fixing it. That’s not likely at all. Not if the mission has civilians accompanying it and the entire world is watching via live feed. NASA isn’t stupid.

Okay, but you’re not exactly reading this book for intelligent portrayals of astronauts and stuff. So it’s easy to brush that off and just focus on the truly excellent job Harstad is doing of scaring you silly.

But, you know. Sometimes it’s easier to be scared witless if you feel like you have a connection the characters who are stuck on the moon with some kind of…thing. Unfortunately, in spite of 100 pages of exposition and boring back-and-forth in the beginning, I didn’t get to know the three main characters very well at all. I knew Mia, a girl from Norway, the most of them, but even with then she didn’t have a very defined personality. 172 Hours on the Moonis very much story-focused, and Harstad spends most of his time working on suspense, anticipation, and, oh yeah, scaring the reader to death.

So, basically, this book is very excellent if you’re willing to suspend your disbelief and let the author take you on a very thought-provoking ride with the creepy factor turned way up. Because in that sense, this book is great. Like, really great. Just keep in mind that whatever you’re expecting to be up there on the moon with these people? It’s probably not what you expect.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."