Darklight (Wondrous Strange #2)

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
1193 0
Darklight (Wondrous Strange #2)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 22, 2009
ISBN
978-0061575402
Buy This Book
      
Despite the allure of the Faerie magick now coursing through her veins, Kelley Winslow’s just trying to get her New York City life back to normal. That means theater rehearsals for Romeo and Juliet and nightclub outings with roommate Tyff, even though Kelley misses gorgeous changeling Sonny Flannery so much her heart could burst. But Kelley’s newfound abilities have not gone unnoticed by malevolent eyes.

When a terrifying encounter in Central Park hurls Kelley into the Faerie Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful but all too brief. For Kelley and Sonny have been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom . . . or tear them apart.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Darklight
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
It had been over a year since I read Wondrous Strange, so it did take a few chapters for me to settle into Darklight. I was actually surprised by how much I did remember from the first book, and whatever I didn’t, I was soon reminded of. Soon enough I was fully immersed in the magic that is Central Park and the Otherworld! Darklight begins six months later with Kelley preparing for her role as Juliet in an upcoming production. She’s also missing Sonny, who is still trapped in the Otherworld cleaning up the mess that the Wild Hunt has created. Then Kelley is attacked on her walk home through the park and ends up in the Otherworld herself.

I really liked how Darklight alternated between Kelley and Sonny’s point of view. It was great in the beginning since we got to see more of the Otherworld, even though Kelley was still in New York. Then once they’re reunited it became less necessary, but still enjoyable. Of course, they get separated again, since there’s something after each of them. Sonny is much more important character this time, and we learn something about him that changes everything for him and Kelley. Their romance is really sweet, but we don’t get too much of it, because of the circumstances.

The ending of Darklight was heartbreaking! Kelley had to make a really tough choice, but it was the only way to protect Sonny, and possibly the mortal world. The fractures in the gates are getting larger and more numerous, and new types of Fae are leaking through and wrecking havoc. I loved learning about these new creatures, even though they’re up to no good. I don’t think Darklight moved the plot forward too much; it just added some new complications that drag us further from a resolution. That’s the only reason this one gets one less star, but I’m finding that’s typical of the second book in a trilogy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."