Hatchet (Brian's Saga #1)

 
0.0
 
3.1 (9)
2179 1
Hatchet (Brian's Saga #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
February 01, 1987
ISBN
B0084I3OPS
Buy This Book
      
Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present -- and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent's divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair -- it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

User reviews

9 reviews

 
(1)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(5)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Plot 
 
3.2  (9)
Characters 
 
2.8  (9)
Writing Style 
 
3.2  (9)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
pretty good
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
this is a good book, but it doesn't have a good ending to it. it sounds a bit rushed, but it is a great book otherwise!!!
Good Points
has a good start and middle
great character
not too good of an ending tho
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
hatchet
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
it was very repetitive, and the beginning was very boring and it dragged on a bit
Good Points
a good topic to write about
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Hachet
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The book takes a long time for the climax to come in and the start is very boring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Lochies hatchet review
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
All up i think its a great book with lots of detail
Good Points
I like the drama in it and how it really tries make you visualize a picture in your head of what Brian is going through
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Hatchet Review
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Hatchet is a great novel. The plot drags on and was a bit repetitive. But overall was a good book that people should read.
Good Points
The book was very descriptive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Hatchet Review
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I didn't really like Hatchet as it was a very repetitive book.
Good Points
Some of the things that I enjoyed while reading this book were the use of adjectives and imagery. I also enjoyed the plot as it was very interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Hatchet Review
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book has an interesting plat but very simple. The characters were weak and unlikable. The plot was also incredibly basic but unique.
Good Points
The book had a unique plot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Hatchet
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I personally didn't like this book as it was only from his point of view, I think that it could have had more perspectives.
Good Points
Hatchet is a adventure novel, written with full of adjectives and pictures the scenery that Brian is in.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Great Book
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is the best book about surviving that I have read, it's on my top 5 list. My favorite part was him trying to survive, and my least favorite part was when and how he got rescued (very far-fetched). The only reason plat is at 4/5 is how he got rescued, I don't want to give away anymore though. Conclusion: great if ou like books about surviving/living off the land.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."