Awaken (Abandon #3)

 
0.0
 
2.9 (4)
1493 1
Awaken (Abandon #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 02, 2013
ISBN
978-0545284127
Buy This Book
      
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot, the dark reimagining of the Persephone myth comes to a thrilling conclusion.

Death has her in his clutches. She doesn’t want him to let go.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera knew by accepting the love of John Hayden, she’d be forced to live forever in the one place she’s always dreaded most: the Underworld. The sacrifice seemed worth it, though, because it meant she could be with the boy she loves.

But now her happiness — and safety — are threatened, all because the Furies have discovered that John has broken one of their strictest rules: He revived a human soul.

If the balance between life and death isn’t fixed, both the Underworld and Pierce’s home back on earth will be wiped away. But there’s only one way to restore order. Someone has to die.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.9
Plot 
 
2.5  (4)
Characters 
 
3.0  (4)
Writing Style 
 
3.3  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
No. Just no.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Nice action, honestly.

Funny, the only thing I really liked was one small quote Pierce's mama said.
"'Oh no,' Mom said with a semi-hysterical laugh. 'That was just Pierce's boyfriend. He set the carpet on fire with his brain.'"

Just FYI Meg, you should never mix Mythology and Christianity. Major mistake there. It never ends well when you do so.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Too slow in the beginning and then rushed at the end
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really wanted to love this book from the beginning, but I didn’t. It was very slow to start and really got going around the last 100 pages. Those pages were really good though, but it took me forever to get through the first half of the book. The ending was rushed and predictable.

On a positive note, I do love a strong female lead character and this book has that. I thought the romance between Pierce and John was a little strange and forced at times. It seemed like it moved too quickly and wasn't easy to follow.

It’s worth a read to anybody who likes paranormal romance YA novels, although it is the third novel in the series. The previous two books are better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Too rushed for my liking
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Pierce is now the Queen of the Underworld and as such, helps out in the daily duties such a job entails. In the start of the book, we meet Pierce managing the ‘good people’ line – a tough gig considering most of the souls don’t take her seriously. That of course, was the least of her problems as an imbalance in the Underworld has caused the Furies to gain greater power and the Fates have vanished. Moreover, John seems to be dead and Pierce sets out to go above ground to try to solve the problem and gain supplies for the Underworld. which is missing the ferry boats to transport souls. Alex is intent on proving his father’s innocence and Kayla and Frank aid them both.

With the finale of any of my favorite series, one thing is fixed – I know I will love the book. Maybe it’s a bit biased but I can’t really hate any book when it comes to series I like. In most cases, the first book itself sets the bar for me. Awaken – while good overall, left me a bit unsatisfied. I don’t mean with the story – it was wrapped up well, all ends tied up, happy ending galore, etc. My sole problem was the pace of the book – things were occurring too fast – and because of this, a lot of the events were becoming too convenient to be real. Pierce just happens to find Thanatos within a few hours of finding out about him, and Alex so easily finds the documents needed to prove Rector’s shady dealings. Um, why would a corrupt businessman keep incriminating documents so easily accessible on his computer; and it’s not like Alex is ever described to have crazy hacking skills. Even the part about them ‘fixing’ Frank seemed a bit convenient. So, basically I felt this book rushed – even the last chapter takes place like an epilogue in which all the character endpoints are described.

Things I did love about this book include the comic scenes. John meeting her parents and her grandmother (without the Fury) are hilarious. Pierce is a likeable character, smart and the romance between her and John is swoon-worthy. Other characters that were added – Chloe, Reed, Mrs Engle – I loved them too.
Good Points
comic scenes
romance
ending
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
ew...
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Hmm... well. I wasn't really feeling Awaken. I made the mistake of reading Underworld and Awaken within a few days of one another. (I read Abandon and Underworld a few months apart.) I think that reading these books back to back made me notice some things that were pretty annoying.


First off, this romance betwen Pierce and John is insane. Not intense , ooh-la-la kind of intense, but border line psycho. I had compeltely forgotten that these books took place in the time span of a few days. Soooo, how the heck are Pierce and John so exclusive and attached at the hip? It's just creepy... and now she's talking about babies? Heck no!


Then, you add in the mess of the plot. There was just way too much going on, and not enough answers. It was a mess. Seriously. I get very annoyed when questions are not answered. Or, like in this case, the answers are just thrown together really quickly. Something just didn't sit well, let's say that.


Since this series is at an end, I think I can speak for it on the whole. I honestly do not care for these books that much. The relationship aspect between Pierce and John just isn't that believable. I think there are just better versions of the Persephone and Hades myth out there to read instead.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."