Money Run

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.7 (1)
2462 2
Money Run
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 01, 2013
ISBN
0545512662
Buy This Book
      
When a heist goes wrong, teen thief Ash finds herself in a high stakes game of cat-and-mouse.

Ashley "Ash" Arthur is a teen thief. Motivated by the thrills as much as the money, she's pulled off some amazing heists with the help of her childhood friend Benjamin, who acts as tech support. Now she's got the world's richest man in her sights, convinced that Hammond Buckland has 2 million dollars hidden away in his corporate HQ.

Ash isn't the only one with an interest in Buckland. The Australian government gets his fortune if he dies on their soil, so they've sent their #2 assassin, Peachey, to kill him. With Ash and Peachey both sneaking around the office building and working at cross purposes, it's only a matter of time before their paths cross and Peachey decides Ash has seen too much to live.

Once it's a matter of life and death, can Ash keep her eye on the prize?

Set over the course of a single night within a single building, this is a page-turning thriller with gadgets, guts, and summer-blockbuster action.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fun, High-stakes Thrill Ride
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

There's no shortage of adventure in MONEY RUN. The plot twists and turns with every chapter. Readers who love books that give you very little down time will enjoy this story. There are spies, assassins, thieves, billionaires, rare cars, cops, gadgets, improvisation, chase scenes, and tremendously inventive ways to get out of situations.

The main character, Ash, is smart, calm, and thinks fast on her feet. She improvises well, and takes the kind of risks that would terrify most people. She also has a conscience, even though she's a thief, although not about stealing. She draws the line at having her actions cost people their lives. I enjoyed seeing each scenario through her eyes and then coming along for the ride as she found another creative way to avoid being killed, to escape from a captor, or to reach her goal.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were several times when I couldn't quite get a visual for what was happening, and in a book that depends on constant visuals (escapes, chase scenes etc), that threw me off. I didn't always have my bearings in a scene and just had to accept that what was happening could actually work (sometimes I really don't think it could).

I also found there to be too many coincidences that worked in the characters' favor. Like Peachey needing a new phone and immediately passing by a woman who happened to be holding the exact same make and model phone as he needed. I wanted the characters to find smarter ways to get what they wanted.

Finally, this is a book that is very plot-driven, but is light on character development. Readers who love adventures more than character arcs will enjoy this story.

As a note: there were a few things in the beginning that were hard to swallow because the character motivation came out of nowhere (i.e. A billionaire confessing his secret plans to the teenage winner of an essay contest), but I reserved judgment until the end of the book, and the author managed to tie it all together in a way that made sense.

Final Verdict:

Perfect for younger YA readers or fans of Tokyo Heist and Mission Impossible, MONEY RUN is a fast-paced thrill ride that never lets up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
An Enjoyable Adventure..
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book is unique from many YA books that I have read and I enjoyed that about it. This book starts off with action and the action doesn't stop throughout the whole book. We follow Ashley as she tries to do the ultimate heist by stealing a billion-dollar item from a billionaire. While doing this she finds herself too involved in a plan that she didn't know existed.

This book, as said in the description is a thriller. It keeps you on edge page after page. Heath wrote this book wonderfully with the action pacing perfectly along with the twists and turns that occur along the way, there were parts where my mouth would drop open, like WTH just happened?! There was no romance in this book which was unique to me after most books I read contain some type of romance in them and I enjoyed reading a book where it was straight to business.
Ashley was such a unique MC with a strong will and smart brain despite her age. I was in the mood for something different than what I usually read and this book satisfied that need. I would definitely put this book in the older YA category as there were graphic parts that I couldn't imagine a younger child reading. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick, thrilling, adventurous read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."