Money Run

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.7 (1)
2246 2
Money Run
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 01, 2013
ISBN
0545512662
Buy This Book
      
When a heist goes wrong, teen thief Ash finds herself in a high stakes game of cat-and-mouse.

Ashley "Ash" Arthur is a teen thief. Motivated by the thrills as much as the money, she's pulled off some amazing heists with the help of her childhood friend Benjamin, who acts as tech support. Now she's got the world's richest man in her sights, convinced that Hammond Buckland has 2 million dollars hidden away in his corporate HQ.

Ash isn't the only one with an interest in Buckland. The Australian government gets his fortune if he dies on their soil, so they've sent their #2 assassin, Peachey, to kill him. With Ash and Peachey both sneaking around the office building and working at cross purposes, it's only a matter of time before their paths cross and Peachey decides Ash has seen too much to live.

Once it's a matter of life and death, can Ash keep her eye on the prize?

Set over the course of a single night within a single building, this is a page-turning thriller with gadgets, guts, and summer-blockbuster action.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fun, High-stakes Thrill Ride
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

There's no shortage of adventure in MONEY RUN. The plot twists and turns with every chapter. Readers who love books that give you very little down time will enjoy this story. There are spies, assassins, thieves, billionaires, rare cars, cops, gadgets, improvisation, chase scenes, and tremendously inventive ways to get out of situations.

The main character, Ash, is smart, calm, and thinks fast on her feet. She improvises well, and takes the kind of risks that would terrify most people. She also has a conscience, even though she's a thief, although not about stealing. She draws the line at having her actions cost people their lives. I enjoyed seeing each scenario through her eyes and then coming along for the ride as she found another creative way to avoid being killed, to escape from a captor, or to reach her goal.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were several times when I couldn't quite get a visual for what was happening, and in a book that depends on constant visuals (escapes, chase scenes etc), that threw me off. I didn't always have my bearings in a scene and just had to accept that what was happening could actually work (sometimes I really don't think it could).

I also found there to be too many coincidences that worked in the characters' favor. Like Peachey needing a new phone and immediately passing by a woman who happened to be holding the exact same make and model phone as he needed. I wanted the characters to find smarter ways to get what they wanted.

Finally, this is a book that is very plot-driven, but is light on character development. Readers who love adventures more than character arcs will enjoy this story.

As a note: there were a few things in the beginning that were hard to swallow because the character motivation came out of nowhere (i.e. A billionaire confessing his secret plans to the teenage winner of an essay contest), but I reserved judgment until the end of the book, and the author managed to tie it all together in a way that made sense.

Final Verdict:

Perfect for younger YA readers or fans of Tokyo Heist and Mission Impossible, MONEY RUN is a fast-paced thrill ride that never lets up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
An Enjoyable Adventure..
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book is unique from many YA books that I have read and I enjoyed that about it. This book starts off with action and the action doesn't stop throughout the whole book. We follow Ashley as she tries to do the ultimate heist by stealing a billion-dollar item from a billionaire. While doing this she finds herself too involved in a plan that she didn't know existed.

This book, as said in the description is a thriller. It keeps you on edge page after page. Heath wrote this book wonderfully with the action pacing perfectly along with the twists and turns that occur along the way, there were parts where my mouth would drop open, like WTH just happened?! There was no romance in this book which was unique to me after most books I read contain some type of romance in them and I enjoyed reading a book where it was straight to business.
Ashley was such a unique MC with a strong will and smart brain despite her age. I was in the mood for something different than what I usually read and this book satisfied that need. I would definitely put this book in the older YA category as there were graphic parts that I couldn't imagine a younger child reading. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick, thrilling, adventurous read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."