Fifteenth Summer

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
4964 1
Fifteenth Summer
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1442472662
Buy This Book
      
Love blossoms by the lake in this sweet summer romance, in the tradition of Seventeeth Summer and Sixteenth Summer.Chelsea isn’t looking forward to her summer at the lake. It’s the first time her family has been there since her grandmother died, and she can’t break out of her funk. But her summer takes a turn for the better when she meets a boy who works in the bookstore. Josh is cute, sweet, funny…and best of all, seems to like her as much as she likes him. As the days pass by in a blur of boat rides, picnics, and stolen kisses, she can’t believe how lucky she is. No one has ever made her feel so special, or so beautiful.

But Chelsea knows her days with Josh are numbered. She’ll be heading home at the end of the summer—and he’ll be staying behind. Will this be Chelsea’s summer of love? Or will it be the summer of her broken heart?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sweetly Romantic.
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Cute, funny and sweetly romantic, Fifteenth Summer is perfect for readers of all ages! Chelsea has mixed feelings about spending her summer at her family's cottage because it will be the first time she does so without Granly, her beloved grandmother who not only shared Chelsea's love of books but her fiery red hair too. Her two older sisters are focused on finding and rekindling their romances from the summer before but much to everyone's surprise, Chelsea is the one who finds love, in the cute bookstore-boy, Josh.

Her days begin to fly by in a whirl of row boats, books, kissing and mayonnaise, and before her summer comes to an end, Chelsea will learn what it means to be unique, to follow your dreams and just how perilous first love can be.

What I loved: The character's witty banter is funny without being cheesy or over the top and it's a clean read but still has plenty of romance and swoonworthy kissing. I really enjoyed the family dynamic and the bond Chelsea shares with her sisters made me wish I had sisters of my own. Josh and Chelsea felt like mature fifteen year olds but that was OK because I think their life experiences dictated that they weren't your average teenagers. I thought their relationship was sweet and the way they had to work through a few things made them relateable. I LOVED that Josh worked in a bookstore! Score one for the nerdish boys!

What left me wanting: I wanted more of Josh and Chelsea! Did they keep in touch? Did they rekindle their romance the following summer? I need to know these things... *hint hint* Michelle Dalton. :D

Final Verdict: This was a quick, lighthearted read but really enjoyable! I would feel comfortable giving this to any of the young (and not so young) readers I know.
Good Points
Love the cover!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...

Latest Member Reviews

The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Made in Korea
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Ember of Night
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Immortal Game
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Nature of Witches
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sixteen Scandals
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
We Are Inevitable
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Again Again
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Down with this Ship
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."