Blaze (or Love in the Time of Supervillains)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1636 1
Blaze (or Love in the Time of Supervillains)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
1402273436
Buy This Book
      

Blaze is tired of spending her life on the sidelines. All she wants is for Mark the Soccer Stud to notice her. Not as Josh's weird sister who drives a turd-brown minivan. And not as that nerdy girl who draws comics. What she gets is her very own arch-nemesis.

Name: Mark Deninger, aka Mark the Shark

Occupation: Soccer star and all-around lady killer

Relationship Status: Serial dater

Group Affiliation: No loyalty Known

Superpowers: Anti-girlfriend force field, breaking hearts

Mark may have humiliated Blaze supervillian-style, but what he doesn't know is how geek girls always get revenge. #GeekGrlzRevenge

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Funny, Heartbreaking, & Compelling
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

This book is hard to put down, and it's all because of the narrator, Blaze. She's funny, addicted to comic books (vintage ones, thank you very much), and loyal to her loved ones. She's also blind or too willing to forgive the people she hopes will love her. Like her father, her "friend" Amanda, and her crush, Mark. Her voice is compelling and entertaining, and even when I was cringing at some of her choices, I kept reading because I enjoyed her narrative style. Blaze feels like the Everyman for high school girls. She isn't the top of her class, but she isn't the bottom. She has a few friends, she does her thing, but she doesn't stand out in the high school social stratosphere until she makes a string of stupid decisions that blow up in her face.

Which brings me to the next thing I loved about this book: the honest look at how a few careless choices can have a life-altering impact. Blaze goes from being moderately invisible to most of her classmates to being notorious at every single school in the area, thanks to the internet and the mob mentality of online bullies. It's easy to trace her path to infamy and see how trusting the wrong person and failing to speak up when it mattered put her in a dangerous position. The entire journey felt absolutely believable and heartbreaking. The resolution was smart and lovely as well. No boy rode to Blaze's rescue (well, outside of her adorable younger brother who loves her fiercely). Blaze had to come to terms with her situation on her own, feel the grief and the anger, and then choose to move forward. Readers will relate to Blaze and her journey from disgrace to strength.

I also have to mention the emphasis on comic book lore. While there were a few times where Blaze's tendency to compare everything in her life to a scenario from a vintage comic book got on my nerves, most of the time I thoroughly enjoyed it. As a reader who enjoys fandoms and understands that true fans know the little secrets, see the little nods to their favorite work in later works, and have strong opinions on every little thing related to their favorite work, Blaze's fascination with comic books rang true. The author ties this fascination in to Blaze's love life and family life nicely. Blaze also draws her own comic and there are drawings included in the book, which is a fun touch.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While I could see the steps Blaze took to land herself in trouble with bullies, there were several times along the way that I wanted to shake her and say "You're smarter than this." because she really was. Blaze is a very smart girl, but she kept checking her brain at the door in regards to her friend Amanda's behavior and in regards to her crush, Mark. It bothered me sometimes, even though I understood that Blaze was caught up in the moment and that, in the wake of her father's abandonment, she was desperate for love.

I also have to recommend this book for more mature YA readers because of several references to male genitalia and a sex scene.

Final Verdict:

With a funny, compelling narrator and a journey that is both heartbreaking and triumphant, Blaze is a book worth reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."