Crap Kingdom

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2037 0
Crap Kingdom
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 07, 2013
ISBN
9780670014323
Buy This Book
      
THE CHOSEN ONE MUST BE RETRIEVED FROM EARTH

HE WILL BRING DOWN THE WALL AND RESTORE THE KINGDOM TO GLORY

HIS NAME IS TOM PARKING

With this mysterious yet oddly ordinary-looking prophecy, Tom's fate is sealed: he's been plucked from his life and whisked away to a magical kingdom to be its Chosen One.

There's just one problem: The kingdom is mostly made of garbage from Earth. Okay, well, two problems: the king hates Tom. Also, the princess likes to wear fake mustaches. And being Chosen One seems to consist mainly of cleaning out rats' noses at the Royal Rat-Snottery.

So, basically, the kingdom sucks.

When Tom turns down the job of Chosen One, he thinks he's making a smart decision. But when Tom discovers he's been replaced by his best friend Kyle, who's always been cooler, more athletic, and better with girls, Tom wants Crap Kingdom back—at any cost. And the hilarity that ensues will determine the fate of the universe.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Never Before Has Crap Been So Endearing!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Never before has crap been so endearing!

DC Pierson’s “Crap Kingdom” follows Tom Parking, a regular, ho-hum kind of guy, who lives a life so normal that he’s become the poster child for the Average Joe way of life. He lives life solidly in the middle, and the only extreme emotion he exhibits is extreme indifference with the way his life is headed.

All that changes when he learns he is the Chosen One of a nameless kingdom in another dimension. Tom is suddenly energetic and seriously optimistic that his life will once and for all stand out. Turns out, said kingdom is full of discarded Earth junk, and that optimism turns to indignation. Tom decides he’ll do one thing for the place, and that’s give it a name: Crap Kingdom. He’s the only one who uses the name, and he’s become so despaired he decides to bow out of Crap Kingdom and let them solve their own problems while he finally decides to make his everyday life not so average.

What I love about Pierson’s kingdom of crap is that it’s just so sweet. That’s a weird word to attribute to a pile of junk, but the simple people of Crap Kingdom seem to have a better and more hopeful outlook on life than Tom, despite the mountains of underwear and the moldy donuts that constantly surround them. Tom’s pessimism ultimately gets him in trouble as the kingdom moves on and finds a new Chosen One, who just so happens to be Tom’s best friend. Jealousy rears its ugly head, and Tom finds a much more beautiful (and infinitely more evil) kingdom to interact with.

This leads to the message that I love most about “Crap Kingdom.” Pierson shows that being that mythical Chosen One is not all it’s cracked up to be. It’s full of dirty work. I mean think about it, saving a kingdom can’t be easy. It took three huge books for Frodo and friends to finally destroy that darn ring. Tom just wants to slide through the task and live in the lap of luxury. He learns through his ordeal that anything worth having will take a lot of work and determination. Tom also discovers that just because something is pretty on the outside doesn’t mean it has good intentions on the inside. The best part about it all is Pierson throws these lessons at us with humor that is actually funny and way more than just crude jokes about bodily waste.

“Crap Kingdom” is anything but a pile of crap.
Good Points
Makes crap look relatable and adorable.
Great sense of sarcastic humor.
Lessons on hard work and determination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Snarky Teen Fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This isn't a typical fantasy, but fans of quirky, humorous books like The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will find Tom a hero they will like.
Good Points
This was a very fresh and singular book. Young Adult in feel (with all that making out with Lindsy), but with nothing objectionable. Understanding and use of fantasy tropes in unexpected ways makes this really funny, as does all the gross or goofy details, like the rusty donation box as a portal, the Rat Snottery, etc. I liked Tom's insecurity about being with Lindsy, and also his love-hate relationship with Tom. The writing is simple but not wooden or inexpert-- it just reads like a very talented 15-year-old wrote it, which has its charm. This may be the book I buy for a Christmas present for my son.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."