Fangtabulous (Vamped Book 4)

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1882 0
Fangtabulous (Vamped Book 4)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2013
ISBN
0738731501
Buy This Book
      
Can a fanged fashionista take out a deadly Salem spirit?

Being on the lam from the Feds and the vampire council with no money is not as glamorous as it sounds, especially when I, Gina Covello, fashion queen of the undead, am forced to abandon my wardrobe. Salem, Massachusetts, seems like a great place to hide our supernatural gang. But who knew the city would be crawling with ghosts? The nasty spirit of George Corwin, infamous sheriff from the witch trial days, is on a killing spree. It’s up to us to take down the breath-stealing phantom—without blowing our cover.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Paranormal Mystery
(Updated: January 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

Fangtabulous is a fast-paced, action-packed paranormal mystery that manages to feel a little bit Nancy Drew and a little bit Alias. I really enjoyed how fast the plot moved. There was never a dull moment! I also loved that the stakes were high, and that the ending was solid.

I appreciated that Gina, the heroine, had to figure things out and take action on her own. Yes, she often had her friends for back-up, but as the plot progressed, some of her closest allies were sidelined for various reasons. Gina stepped up to the plate with a healthy dose of moxie and a nice steak of compassion for those she was fighting against.

Finally, I loved the setting. Ms. Diver pays close attention to creating a spooky, authentic-feeling Salem, and I felt very grounded in the setting for the entire book.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were a few scenes where I got a little lost and felt like I'd missed a transition that would help me reach the same conclusion Gina reached, given the same facts.

I also felt uncomfortable with the level of New Age philosophy and witchcraft in the book. For some readers, those two things will be what draws them to the book. But for readers who have a hard time with either of those things being a strong presence in a book, this may not be the right series for you.

Final Verdict:

Fangtabulous is an action-packed paranormal mystery that keeps readers turning pages.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
World of Glass: The Art of Dale Chihuly
 
4.7
"This book is a great overview for fans and newcomers alike. The first three chapters cover Chihuly's childhood, college, and..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."