The Girl in the Wall

 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
815 1
The Girl in the Wall
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 18, 2012
ISBN
978-1440552700
Buy This Book
      
Ariel's birthday weekend looks to be the event of the season, with a private concert by rock star Hudson Winters on the grounds of her family's east coast estate, and all of Ariel's elite prep school friends in attendance. The only person who's dreading the party is Sera, Ariel's former best friend, whose father is forcing her to go. Sera has been the school pariah since she betrayed Ariel, and she now avoids Ariel and their former friends. Thrown together, Ariel and Sera can agree on one thing: this could be one very long night.

They have no idea just how right they are.

Only moments after the concert begins and the lights go down, thugs open fire on parents and schoolmates alike, in a plot against Ariel's father that quickly spins out of control. As the entire party is taken hostage, the girls are forced apart. Ariel escapes into the hidden tunnels in the family mansion, where she and Sera played as children. Only Sera, who forges an unlikely alliance with Hudson Winters, knows where her friend could be. As the industrial terrorist plot unravels and the death toll climbs, Ariel and Sera must recall the sisterhood that once sustained them as they try to save themselves and each other on the longest night of their lives.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A good nail-biting plot!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Daphne Benedis-Grab really knows how to deliver a good dramatic plot full of nail-biting moments! The Girl in the Wall is told in alternating point-of-views between the main characters, Sera and Ariel. The story is fast paced, suspenseful and shocking!

It starts with Sera, who has been disowned by her best friend, Ariel, and everyone at school because she actually did something right. Even though Sera knew what the consequences were going to be, she knew that she couldn't ignore the warning signs anymore and had to do what she did. It's been really hard not having any friends for the last couple of months. But in her heart, she knows that if she had to do it all over again, she would. And that my friends, makes Sera a very strong and courageous character, a true friend.
Ariel was Sera's best friend since they were in grade school. Their families have known each other Not being a part of Sera's life has been difficult, but she knows how stubborn and spiteful Ariel can be, and wonders if Ariel will ever forgive her. Especially since Sera's father is forcing her to go to Ariel's 17th birthday party - the party of the year - hoping that Sera and Ariel will be able to mend their friendship.
So when Ariel's party starts off with a huge bang during Hunter's performance (literally) and the entire senior class is taken hostage and Ariel goes missing - Sera knows where Ariel is. Will Sera and Ariel be able to put their differences aside and trust each other to save everyone in time???

This book was the ultimate page-turner! The writing and plot are really good - I could picture the scenes in my mind perfectly. I would highly recommend it just for that. But, that's all it had. The characters and their chemistry felt flat to me. They weren't engaging enough. Their emotions did not reach me. They seemed mechanical most of the time. Maybe it was the situation that they were in - Sera couldn't exactly have a break down in front of the gunmen who would then find out how much Sera knew Ariel, Ariel's family and the house. And Ariel, who is in hiding, didn't exactly have time nor the place to dwell on her feelings to the situation. But the brief moments that they were allowed to show how they were truly feeling really lacked something. Also, the relationship between Ariel and Hunter didn't click for me. To me, he was just a guy that was there, who helped and that was it. Could have been any other guy. Not a memorable supportive character - and those are usually the characters that I look for and tend to fall in love with. And then the other supportive character that I did like, was around enough... and the ending, well, it hurt me. I would have liked to have had more of a bittersweet ending...
Also, what Sera did to Ariel - through a teens eyes, I can understand the hurt and betrayal that Ariel must have felt. And she had every right to be angry. But to take it to the max and turn the entire school against Sera just seemed wrong, and unrealistic to me. There has to be at least one or two people who would have understood and sympathized with Sera, right?!
And the violence - I understand that this was a hostage situation and that things happen. But for me, personally, there was just too much of it. The methods that were used were just so cold-hearted... I just don't know. As a mom, I just wasn't comfortable with it.

Overall, if you're looking for a suspenseful quick read, this is definitely one for you to jump on.
But I will say this again, I truly believe that this is a book for a more mature teens and up.
Good Points
This book was the ultimate page-turner! The writing and plot are really good - I could picture the scenes in my mind perfectly. I would highly recommend it just for that. But, that's all it had.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."