Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
2390 2
Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 26, 2013
ISBN
978-0373210640
Buy This Book
      
MY KISS CAN KILL.

I used to be ordinary Samantha Day, but that's changed. Now, after one dark kiss from a dangerous boy, I can steal someone's soul...or their life. If I give in to the constant hunger inside me, I hurt anyone I kiss. If I don't...I hurt myself.

Bishop is the one whose kiss I crave most, but if I kiss him, I'll kill him. Then there's another boy, one I can't hurt. One whose kiss seems to miraculously quell my hunger. They're both part of a team of angels and demons that's joined forces in my city to fight a mysterious rising darkness, an evil that threatens everyone I know and love. I just wonder if I'll be able to help Bishop-or if I'm just another part of the darkness he's sworn to destroy....

NIGHTWATCHERS

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Good Sequel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I enjoyed this sequel much more than the first book.

What I liked: The writing is really good and I found the characters a little more engaging than in the previous book. Kraven, the snarky demon was my favorite and I would love to read more about his story. This is an interesting take on the good vs. evil plot line and even the supposed "demons" are challenged to do the right thing, always a plus!

What left me wanting: I had a difficult time connecting with Samantha and the romance between she and Bishop just didn't click for me.

Final verdict: Good sequel in the Nightwatcher's Series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Enjoyable second book, and wraps things up nicely.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley.)
This is book 2 in the ‘Nightwatchers’ series, and kicks off a few days after the end of events in book 1 ‘Dark Kiss’.
**Warning- some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 – Dark Kiss**
Following the events in book 1, Sam is left soulless, and is desperately searching for Stephen in an effort to get her soul back, and also wants to get her best friend Carly back from the Hollow. Bishop is going slowly mad, and Sam can’t get too close to him for fear of taking his soul and killing him, and problems with the grays are only getting worse.

There’s also a new angel in town – Cassandra, as well as a new threat; an entity that has somehow come back from the hollow, and is now causing teens to commit suicide.

Sam’s hunger is also getting worse, and it looks like she’ll never get her soul back, and her status as a Nexus is also putting her at risk.
Can the angels and demons finally get rid of the grays that they were sent to get rid of? Will Sam ever get her soul back? And is there any hope of a happy ending for Sam and Bishop?


Having finished this book the first thing that comes to mind is – ‘Wow, that was one hell of a crazy story!’ To be honest, I’m not even sure where to begin! So much happened in this book, it was just madness.
Thankfully there was a bit of a recap at the beginning, and boy did I need it! I had forgotten most of the crazy stuff that happened in the first book, and exactly how many different plot-lines were all simmering along together.

So, firstly; Sam. Sam was left with no soul at the end of book 1, and a hunger for souls that made her a ‘gray’. She was in love with Bishop, but since he had been made a fallen angel, and had a soul, she couldn’t kiss him without killing him – bummer.
Sam stays strong in this instalment, she tries her best to stay away from the temptation of Bishop, although it’s hard for both of them, and she also tries to stay away from Colin (who previously kissed her), as well as any other tempting souls. It’s difficult though, and her hunger keeps growing.
Sam is still searching for Stephen, and looking for a way to get Carly back (see what I mean about multiple storylines?). She also has the whole Nexus thing to deal with somehow, without the added complication of this new supernatural who is driving people to kill themselves.
I liked Sam in this instalment, she was much stronger than in the first book, and tried to take charge of things a little more. She made difficult decisions and fought against her hunger, even when it was killing her. I admired how focused she was, and how doing nothing, or letting other people do stuff for her wasn’t an option for her.

Bishop was a little nuts himself this time, the madness that was coming over him whilst Sam wasn’t touching him was made worse by the fact that Sam couldn’t get too close to him without wanting to eat his soul. Because of this we hear a lot less from Bishop, but Sam and Bishops feelings haven’t changed.
I still like Kraven I’m afraid, even though he’s a demon, he is funny and sweet, and I personally would have chosen him over Bishop. I might be on my own here, but I like the bad boy!

The blurb says something about Sam kissing another member of the team who she can’t hurt. I’m not going to tell you exactly who this is, ‘cause that would be a spoiler, but let’s just explain this by saying that the other team members don’t have souls, and that for some reason, when this certain person kisses Sam, it takes her hunger away, without hurting that person. I will stress that this is not a love triangle developing here though, at least not in the traditional way. Sam doesn’t have feelings for this other person, and the kissing is not instigated by her.

I’m kind of unsure at this point whether this is a 2 book series or more. I will say that most stuff is wrapped up at the end of this book – the grays etc, but there are still some continuing factors, which leave the book open to further books. Whether further books are planned I don’t know, but this could easily prove to be just the start of our travels with Samantha.

Overall; I enjoyed this book, but you’ll need to concentrate on this one to keep up with all the different storylines going on!
7 out of 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."