Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
2622 2
Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 26, 2013
ISBN
978-0373210640
Buy This Book
      
MY KISS CAN KILL.

I used to be ordinary Samantha Day, but that's changed. Now, after one dark kiss from a dangerous boy, I can steal someone's soul...or their life. If I give in to the constant hunger inside me, I hurt anyone I kiss. If I don't...I hurt myself.

Bishop is the one whose kiss I crave most, but if I kiss him, I'll kill him. Then there's another boy, one I can't hurt. One whose kiss seems to miraculously quell my hunger. They're both part of a team of angels and demons that's joined forces in my city to fight a mysterious rising darkness, an evil that threatens everyone I know and love. I just wonder if I'll be able to help Bishop-or if I'm just another part of the darkness he's sworn to destroy....

NIGHTWATCHERS

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Good Sequel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I enjoyed this sequel much more than the first book.

What I liked: The writing is really good and I found the characters a little more engaging than in the previous book. Kraven, the snarky demon was my favorite and I would love to read more about his story. This is an interesting take on the good vs. evil plot line and even the supposed "demons" are challenged to do the right thing, always a plus!

What left me wanting: I had a difficult time connecting with Samantha and the romance between she and Bishop just didn't click for me.

Final verdict: Good sequel in the Nightwatcher's Series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Enjoyable second book, and wraps things up nicely.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley.)
This is book 2 in the ‘Nightwatchers’ series, and kicks off a few days after the end of events in book 1 ‘Dark Kiss’.
**Warning- some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 – Dark Kiss**
Following the events in book 1, Sam is left soulless, and is desperately searching for Stephen in an effort to get her soul back, and also wants to get her best friend Carly back from the Hollow. Bishop is going slowly mad, and Sam can’t get too close to him for fear of taking his soul and killing him, and problems with the grays are only getting worse.

There’s also a new angel in town – Cassandra, as well as a new threat; an entity that has somehow come back from the hollow, and is now causing teens to commit suicide.

Sam’s hunger is also getting worse, and it looks like she’ll never get her soul back, and her status as a Nexus is also putting her at risk.
Can the angels and demons finally get rid of the grays that they were sent to get rid of? Will Sam ever get her soul back? And is there any hope of a happy ending for Sam and Bishop?


Having finished this book the first thing that comes to mind is – ‘Wow, that was one hell of a crazy story!’ To be honest, I’m not even sure where to begin! So much happened in this book, it was just madness.
Thankfully there was a bit of a recap at the beginning, and boy did I need it! I had forgotten most of the crazy stuff that happened in the first book, and exactly how many different plot-lines were all simmering along together.

So, firstly; Sam. Sam was left with no soul at the end of book 1, and a hunger for souls that made her a ‘gray’. She was in love with Bishop, but since he had been made a fallen angel, and had a soul, she couldn’t kiss him without killing him – bummer.
Sam stays strong in this instalment, she tries her best to stay away from the temptation of Bishop, although it’s hard for both of them, and she also tries to stay away from Colin (who previously kissed her), as well as any other tempting souls. It’s difficult though, and her hunger keeps growing.
Sam is still searching for Stephen, and looking for a way to get Carly back (see what I mean about multiple storylines?). She also has the whole Nexus thing to deal with somehow, without the added complication of this new supernatural who is driving people to kill themselves.
I liked Sam in this instalment, she was much stronger than in the first book, and tried to take charge of things a little more. She made difficult decisions and fought against her hunger, even when it was killing her. I admired how focused she was, and how doing nothing, or letting other people do stuff for her wasn’t an option for her.

Bishop was a little nuts himself this time, the madness that was coming over him whilst Sam wasn’t touching him was made worse by the fact that Sam couldn’t get too close to him without wanting to eat his soul. Because of this we hear a lot less from Bishop, but Sam and Bishops feelings haven’t changed.
I still like Kraven I’m afraid, even though he’s a demon, he is funny and sweet, and I personally would have chosen him over Bishop. I might be on my own here, but I like the bad boy!

The blurb says something about Sam kissing another member of the team who she can’t hurt. I’m not going to tell you exactly who this is, ‘cause that would be a spoiler, but let’s just explain this by saying that the other team members don’t have souls, and that for some reason, when this certain person kisses Sam, it takes her hunger away, without hurting that person. I will stress that this is not a love triangle developing here though, at least not in the traditional way. Sam doesn’t have feelings for this other person, and the kissing is not instigated by her.

I’m kind of unsure at this point whether this is a 2 book series or more. I will say that most stuff is wrapped up at the end of this book – the grays etc, but there are still some continuing factors, which leave the book open to further books. Whether further books are planned I don’t know, but this could easily prove to be just the start of our travels with Samantha.

Overall; I enjoyed this book, but you’ll need to concentrate on this one to keep up with all the different storylines going on!
7 out of 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."