Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
2577 2
Wicked Kiss (Nightwatchers #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 26, 2013
ISBN
978-0373210640
Buy This Book
      
MY KISS CAN KILL.

I used to be ordinary Samantha Day, but that's changed. Now, after one dark kiss from a dangerous boy, I can steal someone's soul...or their life. If I give in to the constant hunger inside me, I hurt anyone I kiss. If I don't...I hurt myself.

Bishop is the one whose kiss I crave most, but if I kiss him, I'll kill him. Then there's another boy, one I can't hurt. One whose kiss seems to miraculously quell my hunger. They're both part of a team of angels and demons that's joined forces in my city to fight a mysterious rising darkness, an evil that threatens everyone I know and love. I just wonder if I'll be able to help Bishop-or if I'm just another part of the darkness he's sworn to destroy....

NIGHTWATCHERS

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Good Sequel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I enjoyed this sequel much more than the first book.

What I liked: The writing is really good and I found the characters a little more engaging than in the previous book. Kraven, the snarky demon was my favorite and I would love to read more about his story. This is an interesting take on the good vs. evil plot line and even the supposed "demons" are challenged to do the right thing, always a plus!

What left me wanting: I had a difficult time connecting with Samantha and the romance between she and Bishop just didn't click for me.

Final verdict: Good sequel in the Nightwatcher's Series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Enjoyable second book, and wraps things up nicely.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley.)
This is book 2 in the ‘Nightwatchers’ series, and kicks off a few days after the end of events in book 1 ‘Dark Kiss’.
**Warning- some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 – Dark Kiss**
Following the events in book 1, Sam is left soulless, and is desperately searching for Stephen in an effort to get her soul back, and also wants to get her best friend Carly back from the Hollow. Bishop is going slowly mad, and Sam can’t get too close to him for fear of taking his soul and killing him, and problems with the grays are only getting worse.

There’s also a new angel in town – Cassandra, as well as a new threat; an entity that has somehow come back from the hollow, and is now causing teens to commit suicide.

Sam’s hunger is also getting worse, and it looks like she’ll never get her soul back, and her status as a Nexus is also putting her at risk.
Can the angels and demons finally get rid of the grays that they were sent to get rid of? Will Sam ever get her soul back? And is there any hope of a happy ending for Sam and Bishop?


Having finished this book the first thing that comes to mind is – ‘Wow, that was one hell of a crazy story!’ To be honest, I’m not even sure where to begin! So much happened in this book, it was just madness.
Thankfully there was a bit of a recap at the beginning, and boy did I need it! I had forgotten most of the crazy stuff that happened in the first book, and exactly how many different plot-lines were all simmering along together.

So, firstly; Sam. Sam was left with no soul at the end of book 1, and a hunger for souls that made her a ‘gray’. She was in love with Bishop, but since he had been made a fallen angel, and had a soul, she couldn’t kiss him without killing him – bummer.
Sam stays strong in this instalment, she tries her best to stay away from the temptation of Bishop, although it’s hard for both of them, and she also tries to stay away from Colin (who previously kissed her), as well as any other tempting souls. It’s difficult though, and her hunger keeps growing.
Sam is still searching for Stephen, and looking for a way to get Carly back (see what I mean about multiple storylines?). She also has the whole Nexus thing to deal with somehow, without the added complication of this new supernatural who is driving people to kill themselves.
I liked Sam in this instalment, she was much stronger than in the first book, and tried to take charge of things a little more. She made difficult decisions and fought against her hunger, even when it was killing her. I admired how focused she was, and how doing nothing, or letting other people do stuff for her wasn’t an option for her.

Bishop was a little nuts himself this time, the madness that was coming over him whilst Sam wasn’t touching him was made worse by the fact that Sam couldn’t get too close to him without wanting to eat his soul. Because of this we hear a lot less from Bishop, but Sam and Bishops feelings haven’t changed.
I still like Kraven I’m afraid, even though he’s a demon, he is funny and sweet, and I personally would have chosen him over Bishop. I might be on my own here, but I like the bad boy!

The blurb says something about Sam kissing another member of the team who she can’t hurt. I’m not going to tell you exactly who this is, ‘cause that would be a spoiler, but let’s just explain this by saying that the other team members don’t have souls, and that for some reason, when this certain person kisses Sam, it takes her hunger away, without hurting that person. I will stress that this is not a love triangle developing here though, at least not in the traditional way. Sam doesn’t have feelings for this other person, and the kissing is not instigated by her.

I’m kind of unsure at this point whether this is a 2 book series or more. I will say that most stuff is wrapped up at the end of this book – the grays etc, but there are still some continuing factors, which leave the book open to further books. Whether further books are planned I don’t know, but this could easily prove to be just the start of our travels with Samantha.

Overall; I enjoyed this book, but you’ll need to concentrate on this one to keep up with all the different storylines going on!
7 out of 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."