Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
3043 0
Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic #1)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 15, 2012
ISBN
B00A8763K6
Buy This Book
      
A new YA fantasy from award-winning author of SCARS and HUNTED Cheryl Rainfield.

Visions can kill you. Would you risk your life to save someone else’s?

Kate sees psychic visions of the future and the past—but only when she's having an asthma attack. When she "sees" her sister being beaten, she needs more visions to try to save her, along with a suicidal classmate—but triggering her asthma could kill her. Parallel Visions is the story of one brave, caring girl whose unusual gifts put her own life in danger.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Creative and Interesting.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This is a quick read about Kate, a lifelong asthma sufferer who sees visions whenever an attack strikes. She's able to see the past as well as the future, but her ability doesn't do a lot of good when no one believes that what she sees is real.

She longs to be a normal teen whose family doesn't hover 24/7 and whose not always known as the "sick girl" at school, especially around Gil, the guy she's crushing on. When Kate suffers multiple attacks in one day and sees two different life threatening situations, one involving her sister and the other, someone close to Gil, she'll have to decide if telling him about her ability is worth risking their friendship. Not wanting either person to suffer, Kate figures out how to bring on the visions in an effort to use her "weakness" to help, but each time she does, she poses an even greater risk to her own life.

This was my first book by author Cheryl Rainfield (who graciously provided an e-book copy for review) and I found her writing style to be creative and enjoyable. I liked that Kate was concerned about others and willing to do whatever she could to help them, even if the cost to her was great.
Good Points
Domestic abuse, bullying, rape and suicide are all relevant issues addressed in this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great premise and quick read.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
I was immediately drawn to the premise because I like reading about illnesses and I like the idea of psychic visions, and this combines them into one book.
Parallel Visions is a short and enjoyable read. I liked the character of Kate and how she really cared about her sister. Gil, the love interest is a genuine guy and I can see why Kate is attracted to him, she has had a crush on him for a while, and it is not just instant magnetism because of looks or anything like that. She has seen that he is kind and helpful to others, even the ones who are sick or hurt, and that especially gets Kate's attention since she has severe asthma.
The fantasy element is well done, and it really is a unique idea. It gets to me though how Kate has to suffer to have these visions, but she wants to because she desires to help others, especially her sister who may be in trouble.
I like how Parallel Visions really focuses on the family. Not only Kate and her family as a close knit unit but also Gil and his sister who is in a lot of pain, and he and his Nana come together to support her.
That is not to say I didn't have a few issues... There were times when Kate and Gil didn't sound like teenagers, they sounded like middle aged people having a conversation. It wasn't all of the time though and it didn't pull me out of the story, it is just something I noticed.
The story wrapped up well, and I can't wait to read more about Kate and Gil in the next book.
Bottom Line: Great premise and quick read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."