Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy #2)

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2828 3
Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 30, 2013
ISBN
0062265946
Buy This Book
      
Anna Whitt, daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she'd never do the work of her father--polluting souls. She'd been naive to make such a claim. She'd been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school's party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there's Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Great Second
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I devoured this book in one sitting. Wendy Higgins does not fall victim to the curse of the second book. Sweet Peril may be more engaging and fantastic than Sweet Evil.

What I loved: The characters. All of them, even the bad guys. Anna is able to see all sides of people and recognize the good even when it is hard to see. Working isn't easy for her but she manages to do her job and still have a heart. Kaidan and Kope are back and quite possibly better than ever. Readers will enjoy this side of Kope they see in this book. Kaidan is the best "bad guy" out there. He's definitely swoon-worthy and the depth of his character packs a powerful Kai punch.

What left me wanting more: The end....I got to the end and wanted more!

Final thoughts: Fans of Sweet Evil won't be disappointed. I wasn't and I can't wait for book 3!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THANK YOU Wendy Higgins for writing an amazing, unputdownable sequel!

What I LUV'D: Let's start with the cover...Can I have Anna's dress, please? (Can I also have her figure to go with the dress because that would be great, thanks.)

Action, adventure, brownies, cuddling, kissing and wrestling - this sequel has a little something for everyone! We're introduced to new characters and get to hang with familiar faces (two of which look exactly alike - go figure). Kopano gets LOTS of page time, and of course, there's Kaidan Rowe, everyone's favorite drummer boy guy.

(BTW, I vote that Wendy Higgins writes a Kaidan novella that features a roadie named Jen. Her job could be to bake cupcakes for the band and carry Kaidan's drumsticks because I totally rock at carrying stuff! Just sayin')

Anna has become one of my favorite female characters - she's strong willed, compassionate and her ability to see the best in people is something we should all aspire to whether you're a fictional character or not. She's faced with a task so big, there's no way she can accomplish it all on her own and she is surrounded by those who doubt she can succeed at all, but Anna has something they don't...she has hope that all things are possible. *high fives her*

Anna also has two very swoonilicious guys in her life, and how lucky is she?! They're both tall, dark and delicious and they both rock abs accents. While it's no secret which of the two beat out the rhythm of her heart song, she does come to the realization that she has genuine feelings for both and things get a little, um, interesting. I like that Anna is mature enough to understand that she has an important purpose to fulfill and the world does not revolve around her love life.

Let me just say, that I'm a die-hard Kaidanite, but Kopano made me feel all the feels in Sweet Peril. So much so, I decided to adapt a song for him...

*clears throat*

"I threw a wish in the well

Don't ask me, I'll never tell

I looked to you, as it fell

And now I smell car-a-mel


I'd trade my Neph for a wish

Auras and plagues for a kiss

I wasn't looking for this

But now we're wre-stl-ing.


You're prayer was holding

Head bowed skin was showing

Hot night wind was blowing

Where you think you're going Kope?


Hey, I just met you

And this is crazy

But I am freezing

So warm me, maybe?


It's hard to look right, at you Kope

But I am freezing

So warm me, maybe?"

What left me wanting: Can I have Sweet Reckoning now?

Final verdict: Fantastic sequel that leaves you in just enough peril to want the next book. READ.IT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."