Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)

FeaturedHot
 
4.2 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
9563 2
Emblaze (The Violet Eden Chapters #3)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
1402268467
Buy This Book
      
Violet Eden has accepted that she's part angel, part human-but nothing prepares her to be handed the key to the gates of Hell. Or worse, to be forced to turn the key over to the dark exile who saved and betrayed her: Phoenix.

Violet and her partner, Lincoln, will have to stop Phoenix, but it's hard enough fighting their soul-crushing need to be together. Violet begins to fear that the pull will soon become unbearable. As a brutal battle looms, Violet finds herself in dire straits as she teeters on the edge of a decision that could unleash a terror of horrifying repercussions.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Good addition to the series.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I liked: action, non-stop thrills and romance - Emblaze has everything fans of The Violet Eden Chapters love. The battle to stop Phoenix takes Violet, Linc and the rest of their crew to the beautiful island of Santorini and from there, all hell breaks lose - almost. Twists and turns keep the story moving, the tension between Violet and Lincoln keeps you guessing and the cliff hanger of an ending will have you begging for the next installment in this series.

What left me wanting: Linc and Violet need to get together already. There, I said it. ;)

Final verdict: Good addition to the series.

Favorite Quote:

“Would you die for her?'
I almost stopped breathing.
I could feel his eyes on me.
'I do. Every day.”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wowza Factor
(Updated: February 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Violet is back! I'm totally a huge fan of this YA paranormal series. So when I received a galley of the third book, I did my own Snoopy dance of happiness!

Right off the bat, fallen angels literally crash in on Violet. But this time it’s around fellow classmates. Her fellow Grigori show up to help out. Just when she thinks they have things under control, her father takes a sudden interest in what’s going on with her. Not cool. Then Phoenix and his own band of fallen angels kidnap Steph. Violet needs to team up with her trainer and possible soul mate Lincoln in order to get her friend back. Once again not all is what it seems. Violet ends up having to go to the Greek island Santorini in order to exchange some ancient scriptures to get her friend back. She has to trust Phoenix, a rogue angel that he’ll not renege on his promise to get her friend back. One drawback is Phoenix wants the scriptures to unleash Lilith, the ultimate evil. Violet battles not only evil but her heart in this very satisfying third book.

I can sum this book up in one word: Wowza! There is so much to love about this series. There’s a love triangle, action, suspense, mystery, and lush descriptions.

This series is highly addictive! Just when you think you know what will happen next, the author throws in a curve or two to take you off guard. Violet’s father ‘suddenly’ is interested in what’s going on with Violet and this gets in the way. Add Josephine, a leader, who has her own secrets and interest in Violet.

The biggest plus of this series has to be the emotional punch that happens between Violet, Lincoln, and Phoenix. I have to say Phoenix is a great anti-hero. He does things for his own purposes, like kidnapping Steph in order to get the scriptures. But though he does terrible things he can’t deny his feelings for Violet. The reader isn’t quite sure what to think of this fallen angel or like Violet, whether or not to trust his true intentions.

Well-written with a huge wowza factor, I dare you to not get caught up in this tale!
Good Points
1. Great chemistry
2. Wowza factor toward the ending
3. Doesn't suffer from 'series' syndrome where story gets old after awhile
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Woah first review!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Well, since no one has read it yet, I'm not going to ruin this for anyone.
All I'm gonna say is that Jessica Shirvington did not disappoint, she certainly brought it.
Violet and Lincoln are still trying to be together, we get to know what Phoenix is thinking in one chapter which is super cool and something utterly disturbing happened but I'm not going to say what it was.
You have to read this book to know!
This book just continues to get better and better and thank God the story didn't end here because I love it and I want it to be an endless story!
Endless is the title for the next and #4 book in the Violet Eden Chapters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."